We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very tranquil”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort
Ranked #3 of 109 Hotels in Chiang Rai
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
116 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very tranquil”
Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here as a solo traveller and had a fantastic stay. Room was large and a nice balcony. All the restaurants were excellent and the evening buffet was excellent value. No criticisms at all. I would recommend requesting a ground floor room though.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen M, General Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Nick H

Thanks so much for these very kind comments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was a pleasure to have you as a guest in our Resort...and I hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back in Chiang Rai.

With warm regards
Stephen Morahan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,034 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,361
    499
    119
    39
    16
See reviews for
410
1,060
102
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Hi,

Stayed here for five days in late March.

The hotel was very quiet in respect of the number of guests staying here for the duration of our stay.

We had no idea why this occurred, apart from the adverse media regarding the political unrest in Thailand in the months leading up to our stay. March also wasn't the best month to come up here because farmers are burning off the land in preparation for the planting of crops for the wet season. The peak tourist season up here is November to February.

We were in Thailand for 3 1/2 weeks during this trip and saw no protest action whatsoever in Phuket, Koh Lanta, Bangkok, Chiang Mai, Chiang Rai or Mae Sai. The hotel restaurant "Favola" (for example) on the two nights we dined there had more staff than patrons. It was a shame to see this as there was/absolutely nothing wrong with the restaurant, food or staff. Everything was impeccable. We've reviewed the restaurant separately if you want to read it.

The room itself was large, well appointed and open plan where you could have a bath whilst watching the TV if you wished. The outdoor deck had a table, two chairs and a large sun lounge. An electronic mozzie zapper was also located in the room but the pests weren't around much.

There is one pool area consisting of three pools. They're clean, well serviced and you are able to order food and drinks from your sun lounge. We can't comment on the spa as we didn't use it.

We do not recommend staying in any room starting with "2" as the entrance doors to those rooms is in the proximity of the laundry that appears to run 24/7 and rather noisy. We stayed in room 3306 which had no noise whatsoever.

The property next door is undertaking some building work but it did not cause any problems during our stay.

We chose to hire a car for the trip from Chiang Mai to Chiang Rai which takes about 2 1/2 hours depending on the way you travel north. If you don't have your own transport you can catch a shuttle bus from reception into the main town. Outside the hotel gates it's just like any other Thai mainland town and isn't that interesting with the exception of some Restaurants and the tourist attractions like the white temple.

Unlike Chiang Mai, we had problems finding a laundry outside the Hotel.

The staff working at this hotel are second to none. Nothing was a problem. They even remembered our names and drink choices throughout our stay, something you don't find that often.

If you are looking for an excellent hotel to stay at in the Chiang Rai area you'd be hard pressed to find a better one.

Room Tip: Do not book rooms starting with a "2" as they are near the laundry which is noisy and runs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scamfinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen M, General Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear Scamfinder

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We very much appreciate it as it assists us with improving the quality of our products and services.

I thank you for your very positive comments about our fantastic property. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Your comments regarding service are a joy to read. Whenever we receive a Trip Advisor review, we always share it with our hotel team at the daily morning meeting. The team beamed when they heard your warm words. Thank you for highlighting the room as well as the pool. I am delighted that we made your stay special and memorable.

I do hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you again in the Lanna kingdom again.
Thank you again for your kind comments.

Sincere regards
Stephen Morahan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

While everything was very lovely, finding ones room was awful, the numbers and the floors do not match my room I think was 434 or 343, (I stayed a lot of places!!) it was located on the same floor as rooms in the 200's??? Signs and help finding your room would be helpful.

Once I got to my room about 20 minutes of wandering around with my backpack and carryon, ready to cry I finally found it. The room was super big with beautiful bathroom, everything was lovely.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen1359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen M, General Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear Eileen1359

Thank you for taking the time to post this review – and for your kind comments. I am so happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us – and I do appreciate the extra time that you took to make some constructive comments – these are always welcome.

I was sorry to hear of your disappointing experience – especially if you found our room signs hard to spot and from your comment I understand that they were not easy to see...so we will have another look at that issue.

Many thanks again for your warm words. I am delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay. Look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

With kind regards
Stephen Morahan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We stayed for three nights and were very impressed by the entire resort. Rooms are clean, comfortable and quiet, and the service is professional and attentive. The only down side if you don't have your own vehicle is that you will require a taxi to get into town.

Room Tip: Our first room was a garden view room that was located near an exhaust pipe. We asked to be moved an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen M, General Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear Rodger B

How kind of you to take the time to write this review. I was delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you so much for your warm words - very much appreciated.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you again to Le Meridien Chiang Rai.

With kind regards
Stephen Morahan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

A little out of town (shuttle bus available) but in a pleasant riverside location. very smart room with 2 huge beds, great staff, very clean, beautiful infinity pool and with a lovely restaurant overlooking the river.
A short walk away to 3 decent local restaurants and an open air bar.
All in all a first class place to stay.
Also conveniently near the airport

Room Tip: If you can, find a table, try to take breakfast outside overlooking the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank william1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen M, General Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear william1949

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We very much appreciate it as it assists us with improving the quality of our products and services.

I thank you for your positive comments about our wonderful and beautiful hotel. It is very pleasing to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us.

We hope to welcome you again in the not too distant future.

Thank you and regards
Stephen Morahan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Great hotel in Chiang Rai and a great break from guesthouses when visiting Chiang Mai. We only stayed here 1 night, but we left feeling we could have stayed several more nights. From check in, the staff was extremely friendly and inviting. Check in was fast and they served us a welcome beverage. After check in, the front desk agent escorted us all the way to the room across the resort and immediately checked if we had enough towels and toiletries for 4 people. When she noticed we were short of towels, she immediately rang housekeeping, and they were delivered within 5 minutes. The room was spacious and had a nice balcony to the courtyard.

We went to the bar and sat outside. The seating was very comfortable and the bartender was very attentive, refilling our complimentary snacks and checking our drinks were ok. In the morning, we enjoyed the breakfast. The breakfast was a little disappointing. I was expecting the expansive spread of fruits and other items they provide at the Bangkok Le Meridien. This breakfast was short of all the amazing Thai fruits we were hoping to enjoy. Nevertheless, we enjoyed sitting outside and the restaurant workers were attentive.

The concierge at the hotel was very good! They offered us several options and examples of itineraries for our day driving around the Chiang Rai region. They arranged a metered taxi with a driver that spoke some English and were cognizant of our budget. They gave the driver the list of the places we wanted to visit and clearly explained our time constraints in getting to the airport by 3:30pm. I would recommend engaging the concierge next time to help plan your trip.

Overall, for the price, amenities, friendliness of service, and quality of the hotel, I would highly recommend this hotel to travellers!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jess R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen M, General Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear Jess R

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We very much appreciate it as it assists us with improving the quality of our products and services.

I thank you for your very positive comments about our fantastic property and our housekeeping team. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay.

It disappoints me to learn that you have not enjoyed our breakfast buffet, as our Chefs put in a great deal of time and effort to provide options in order to cater to the many guests from many nations. I am surprised that you felt that the buffet was designed to cater solely for a Chinese diet. We only have one small section, the fresh noodle station that has Chinese styled noodle soups, that may have contributed to your comments. The remainder of the buffet is a blend of Thai, American, Asian and European style cuisines. I do apologise that it was not to your liking and we will certainly review the offering to ensure we have the correct mix of items for our guests.

I thank you again for your favourable feedback and areas we can review for further improvement.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to welcome you again in the not too distant future.

Thank you and regards
Stephen Morahan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Chiang Rai has relatively few hotels, and certainly very few that are 4/5 star, the Le Meridien Chiang Rai is by FAR the best hotel in the city, and features a classic charm that is missing from many newer properties.

We were there for a work function, so having a hotel which has prompt service and good rooms was paramount. We were very happy with the rooms, very large by today's standards, with soaring ceilings (guessing 3.5m ceiling height) giving a sensation of spaciousness. Lovely bathrooms, with dual sinks, good shower water pressure, and a lovely large deck for each room. I was using the room with a workmate, so one thing to bear in mind is the bathrooms have this awesome 'open to the living room' feature which we didn't use but would be lovely for a honeymoon/romantic trip.

Breakfast was excellent, and the dinner was also very good. Well worth it to try some of the northern food. Hotel staff are friendly, attentive and hardworking, especially the business team - for a business retreat highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kipsan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen M, General Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear Kipsan B

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent experience at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort. I'm delighted to read you were extremely comfortable during your visit, and enjoyed the room, bathroom, breakfast, dinner & service. I'm even more delighted you agree we deserve our 5 star rating!

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you in the “Lanna kingdom again in the future. Thank you again for this review.

Warm regards
Stephen Morahan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Rai hotels
0.9 mi away
The Legend Chiang Rai
The Legend Chiang Rai
#5 of 109 in Chiang Rai
969 reviews
1.5 mi away
Nak Nakara
Nak Nakara
#4 of 109 in Chiang Rai
678 reviews
1.7 mi away
Le Patta
Le Patta
#2 of 109 in Chiang Rai
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
A Star Phulare Valley Resort Chiang Rai
1.9 mi away
Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai
2.8 mi away
Maryo Resort
Maryo Resort
#1 of 109 in Chiang Rai
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort

Property: Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort
Address: 221/2 Moo 20, Kwaewai Road | Tambon Robwieng, Amphur Muang, Chiang Rai 57000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chiang Rai
#1 Spa Hotel in Chiang Rai
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Rai
#2 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Rai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort occupies an idyllic 26-rai site directly on the banks of the Mae Kok River, moments from Chiang Rai town and a one hour drive from the Golden Triangle where the borders of Thailand, Laos, and Myanmar converge. The resort is set at the heart of beautiful landscaped gardens complete with a tranquil man-made lake and two majestic 100-year-old rain trees. Surrounded by magnificent mountain scenery, the neighbouring community is a jewel waiting to be explored. Nearby attractions include Rai Mae Fah Luang, Le Méridien's chosen UnLock Art site, and Oub Kham Museum which houses a collection of objects from the ancient Lanna kingdom, Myanmar, southwest China, and Vietnam. Nearby attractions include Wat Phra Kaew, the temple that once housed the Emerald Buddha, and the Hill Tribe Education Centre with its fascinating display of tribal artefacts and handicrafts. Boat trips along the Mae Kong River are available from the town of Chiang Khong, with stops along the way at villages of interest. Ethnic groups living in the province include Karen, Lisu, Lahu, Akha, Meo, and Yao, and it is possible to arrange treks into the hill tribe villages with experienced local guides. Mae Sai is 62 kilometres north of Chiang Rai and makes for an interesting day trip. This busy trading post borders Myanmar, and it is possible to cross the bridge to visit the bustling market in Tha Khi Lek. Phu Chi Fa is a spectacular viewpoint. The impressive views are best enjoyed early in the morning, particularly in the cool season when mist covers the valley floor. A highlight to any trip to Chiang Rai is a visit to the Doi Tung Development Project. Started as a royal initiative to help eradicate opium supply, drug use, and rural poverty, the project offers villagers with a practical and sustainable alternative. The project focuses on development, education, training, humanitarian activities, environmental conservation, agriculture, and the production of quality crafts. At the summit of Doi Tung, visitors can visit Phra That Doi Tung, a chedi constructed in 911 A.D and one of the oldest and most sacred sites in northern Thailand. The chedi is said to contain the collarbone of Buddha. Le Méridien Chiang Rai Resort, Thailand is located close to the town centre and a short drive from Chiang Rai Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Chiang Rai Hotel Chiang Rai
Meridien Chiang Rai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing