We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfection for a modest price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort
Ranked #1 of 108 Hotels in Chiang Rai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Travelling a lot we never got a hotel with so many qualities at a reasonable price as this hotel. Although the hotel is big, you never have the impression. Service is perfect, rooms are modern, nice and big, enjoyable garden, beautiful swimming pools, children . The breakfast is superb. The Italian restaurant Favola is very good. The spa is a beautiful place. This hotel is what a traveller wishes. Practically perfect at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ELJMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen M, General Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Dear ELJMG

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We very much appreciate it as it assists us with improving the quality of our products and services.

I thank you for your very positive comments about our fantastic property. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Thanks for highlighting the need such as room rate, rooms and swimming pool. I am delighted to know that you enjoyed breakfast – we have spent a lot of time making sure our breakfast was really special – we know that at a resort, guests have a little more time to enjoy a full breakfast offering.

I do hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you to Chiang Rai again in the future.

Thank you and best regards
Stephen Morahan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,201)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

740 - 746 of 2,201 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2014

I often travel to Chiang Rai for business trip. I stayed here one time since Jul 2013. The staff was very kind, warm and willing to help. Everything (lobby, room, fitness, pool, dining and bar) are very nice and still in a good condition. What a great experienced here!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sitthikorn Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen M, General Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Dear Sitthikorn Y

We gladly appreciate the time that you spent to write positive feedback following your recent visit to our hotel. I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your positive comments about our services have been shared with all associates at the resort to further support our aim to deliver exceptional service and to create treasured memories for all guests.

Please do let me know if I may ever be of service in the future. I hope to welcome you to Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort again.

Thank you and best regards
Stephen Morahan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

I'll start with the advantages of this hotel. The building is beautiful; the rooms are big nicely decorated and very comfortable. The grounds are big, lovely, and well kept. We did not use the pool because of the weather but it is huge and looks very nice. Favola is a very good Italian restaurant on the hotel grounds.

The shortcomings: There is no heat in the rooms and December is cold there. When we stayed at the hotel the temperature in the morning and evenings was 9 degree Celsius (48 F) so we had the pleasure of going to sleep and waking up in a freezing room (brought to mind Jane Eyer at Lowood).

I'm not sure how to grade the service. The servers at the restaurant where breakfast is served were always polite and sometimes efficient. As for the rest of the staff sometimes they were helpful and sometimes I got the impression that they wondered what all those tourists were doing around their workplace. But it could just be a case of cross cultural differences.

We didn't use the Spa and other facilities at the hotel because we left the hotel on our tours after breakfast and returned quite late. Breakfast was OK; I think everyone is able to find something at the extensive buffet.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank globetrotterista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen M, General Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Dear globetrotterista,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback after your recent stay with us at the Le Meridien Chiang Rai. Your review will provide us with valuable information that will assist us in improving our products, service and brand.

Thank you for your wonderful feedback about our beautiful property.

I do apologise about the lack of heating in the rooms. The cold snap that was experienced in the north of Thailand during your stay caught everybody by surprise. It has not been that cold since the late 90’s and unsurprisingly heaters were very hard, almost impossible, to come by. Nonetheless I am sorry and we have since purchased heaters to place in our valuable guest rooms should this unusual pattern presents itself again in the future.

I am sorry you did not have the opportunity to experience our award winning Parvati Spa nestled on the banks of the meandering Maekok River. It is a wonderful and relaxing way to spend an afternoon or evening after a busy day touring and experiencing the fascinating Lanna culture and heritage of Chiang Rai. Perhaps you will have the opportunity during your next visit.

Thank you again for taking the time to provide us with a review. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future, when you have a little more time to experience all the Le Meridien Chiang Rai has to offer.

Thank you and regards,

Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We stayed at this hotel with a tour group. It is extremely clean, rooms are very nice. Beautiful grounds, with an huge infinity pool out near the river. The staff are extremely friendly and courteous (and helpful with internet connections). The food is very good. The spa/massage are as nice as can be found anywhere. The only downside is that it is rather isolated from the city, but there are several restaurants and convenience stores nearby.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rich L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen M, General Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Dear Mooneyson1,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We very much appreciate it as it assists us with improving the quality of our products and services.

Your comments regarding service are a joy to read. Whenever we receive a Trip Advisor review, we always share it with our hotel team at the daily morning meeting. The team beamed when they heard your warm words. Thank you for highlighting food as well as the the spa. I am delighted that we made your stay special and memorable.

Thank you again for your kind remarks. I do hope that we may welcome you again at Le Meridien Chiang Rai.

Thank you and regards,
Stephen Morahan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights. Check in was fast and professional. Our room was modern and very spacious. We have a balcony with a beautiful view facing the river. Unfortunately the chair is not comfortable. We found the breakfast buffet was very good with a wide variety of both western and asian choices . The dinner buffet was good too except for the desserts .Both buffets were good value. The river side bar was a lovely place for a drink and a nibble , but they are not good at mixing mojito. They have a round trip shuttle that takes you to town several times a day. It was very convenient. I would recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Choose a river view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen M, General Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Dear Robert W

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We very much appreciate it as it assists us with improving the quality of our products and services.

I thank you for your positive comments regarding our rooms and dinner buffet.

I do note your comment chair is not comfortable and not good at mixing mojito. I was sorry to know that you were disappointed. I am not proud to know when we failed to delight a guest. I am however always grateful for the feedback so that we can learn and improve.

I thank you again for your feedback and we will certainly review our beverage offerings. I would hope that you would provide us with another opportunity in the future to restore your faith in our product and service.

Thank you and regards
Stephen Morahan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

This hotel is home from home and it's easy to forget you're in a third world country.

Attentive staff (thanks especially to Non, the Concierge for recommending the ATV adventure).

Restaurants are great, rooms are spacious, clean and excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gates r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen M, General Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Dear gates r,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We very much appreciate it as it assists us with improving the quality of our products and services.

I thank you for your positive comments. They are very much appreciated especially Khun Non (Concierge) and I will be sure to share those with the team.

Thank you for highlighting restaurants and room cleanliness. I am delighted that we made your stay special and memorable.

I do hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you again in the Lanna kingdom again.

Thank you and regards,
Stephen Morahan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Well out of town, but with a (paid) shuttle into town.
The room, being up graded, was superb,with everything you could wish.
The Italian restaurant was very good indeed...we avoided the buffet in the other restaurant because of other bad reviews, the bar was very expensive.
Breakfast was lacking in imagination...standard international.
One of the weaknesses was the standard of the 'front desk' staff...poor grasp of English...they should look to this!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank kattyukres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen M, General Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear kattyukres,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We very much appreciate it as it assists us with improving the quality of our products and services.

I thank you for your positive comments about our Italian restaurant, Favola, situated on the magnificent banks of the Kok River, and our beautiful property. It is very pleasing to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us.

It disappoints me to learn that you have not enjoyed our breakfast buffet, and feel that our beverage pricing is expensive. Understandably from a wine perspective, as there is a very high, unavoidable government tax on wine and imported beverage products. Our Chefs do put in a great deal of time and effort to provide buffet options, in order to cater to the many guests from many nations. I am sorry it was not to your liking.

We are continually addressing the English literacy levels in the property, holding English classes, business writing skills and other programs that will continue to aid in the development of the properties associates English speaking and writing levels.

I thank you again for your favourable feedback and areas we can review for further improvement.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to welcome you again in the not too distant future.

Thank you and regards

Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Rai hotels
1.5 mi away
Nak Nakara
Nak Nakara
#4 of 108 in Chiang Rai
826 reviews
1.9 mi away
Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai
9.8 mi away
A Star Phulare Valley Resort Chiang Rai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Le Patta
Le Patta
#3 of 108 in Chiang Rai
535 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Legend Chiang Rai
The Legend Chiang Rai
#5 of 108 in Chiang Rai
1,036 reviews
2.8 mi away
Maryo Resort
Maryo Resort
#2 of 108 in Chiang Rai
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort

Address: 221/2 Moo 20, Kwaewai Road | Tambon Robwieng, Amphur Muang, Chiang Rai 57000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Rai
#1 Spa Hotel in Chiang Rai
#1 Business Hotel in Chiang Rai
#1 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Rai
Price Range: $112 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort occupies an idyllic 26-rai site directly on the banks of the Mae Kok River, moments from Chiang Rai town and a one hour drive from the Golden Triangle where the borders of Thailand, Laos, and Myanmar converge. The resort is set at the heart of beautiful landscaped gardens complete with a tranquil man-made lake and two majestic 100-year-old rain trees. Surrounded by magnificent mountain scenery, the neighbouring community is a jewel waiting to be explored. Nearby attractions include Rai Mae Fah Luang, Le Méridien's chosen UnLock Art site, and Oub Kham Museum which houses a collection of objects from the ancient Lanna kingdom, Myanmar, southwest China, and Vietnam. Nearby attractions include Wat Phra Kaew, the temple that once housed the Emerald Buddha, and the Hill Tribe Education Centre with its fascinating display of tribal artefacts and handicrafts. Boat trips along the Mae Kong River are available from the town of Chiang Khong, with stops along the way at villages of interest. Ethnic groups living in the province include Karen, Lisu, Lahu, Akha, Meo, and Yao, and it is possible to arrange treks into the hill tribe villages with experienced local guides. Mae Sai is 62 kilometres north of Chiang Rai and makes for an interesting day trip. This busy trading post borders Myanmar, and it is possible to cross the bridge to visit the bustling market in Tha Khi Lek. Phu Chi Fa is a spectacular viewpoint. The impressive views are best enjoyed early in the morning, particularly in the cool season when mist covers the valley floor. A highlight to any trip to Chiang Rai is a visit to the Doi Tung Development Project. Started as a royal initiative to help eradicate opium supply, drug use, and rural poverty, the project offers villagers with a practical and sustainable alternative. The project focuses on development, education, training, humanitarian activities, environmental conservation, agriculture, and the production of quality crafts. At the summit of Doi Tung, visitors can visit Phra That Doi Tung, a chedi constructed in 911 A.D and one of the oldest and most sacred sites in northern Thailand. The chedi is said to contain the collarbone of Buddha. Le Méridien Chiang Rai Resort, Thailand is located close to the town centre and a short drive from Chiang Rai Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Chiang Rai Hotel Chiang Rai
Meridien Chiang Rai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing