We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,475)
Filter reviews
2,475 results
Traveler rating
1,718
565
129
42
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,718
565
129
42
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsitalian restaurantlatest recipethe rivergrand deluxe roomspg platinumold treesinfinity poolbeautiful hotelgolden trianglekids clubbreakfast buffetmain restaurantthe general managerclose to the airportluxury hotelshuttle busbeautiful grounds
Filter
Updating list...
975 - 980 of 2,475 reviews
Reviewed November 13, 2013

The best things about this hotel are the location by the river and the grounds which are beautifully kept. The rooms are standard Le Meridien and can use more of a Thai touch. They are spread out and may require some walking to get to. Because of the location, it's not easy to get into town but there are several restaurants near by within walking distance. I'd highly recommend Lee Leewadi for dinner. Good inexpensive Thai food with tables by the river and "interesting" interpretations of western music.

Room Tip: Stay away from the group tours! Ask for a quiet room near the river.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllanChg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen M, General Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Dear AllanChg

Thank you so much for your super comments. You really made my day!
Whenever we received guest comments, we take time to review the feedback as a team. If there is something we need to do better, we make actions plans, raise awareness and monitor improvements. Our team was delighted with your feedback – thank you!
I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you in the “Lanna kingdom again in the future. Thank you again for this review.

Warm regards
Stephen Morahan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Don't expect to treat as an individual as the staff don't know how as used to coach parties. Reception said they could not provide a 4th floor room as requested ( as very allergic to mosquitos) but would spray the room but didn't happen in 4 days. The hotel has water all around and really is full of mosquitos. Rooms are not very clean, and kept asking for tea bags as not replenished. The pool area has no service and was being refurbished by workmen using steel cutters and welding gear and circular saws cutting red wood so dust was dangerous to sit anywhere near.
The hotel is 3km from CR the hotel Bus only ran every 2 hours and regularly full so charge 200 BHT for hailing a taxi for you. Hardly transport for the convenience of the guests.
We had a dinner buffet but food quality was poor and restaurant full of screening kids for a cheap Halloween night. Breakfast wasn't much better with little choice of fruits and staff more interested in clearing tables than ensuring the guests were looked after. Generally felt that we had to fit in with the hotel rather than a 5* service on offer to guests. Local restaurants 200 m round the corner offered excellent tasty local food and Manager cared that we enjoyed it.
Loud music from a Karyoke on the river bank of the hotel over-ran and only stopped on ringing the service desk to complain.
The settling of the bill was complicated and overcharged and staff were curt and unhelpful. Also Internet charged at 800 TBHT in an upgraded room which was ridiculous in this day and age of IT.

Room Tip: high river views are best to avoid mosquitos
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cthecliffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen M, General Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Dear the Cliffs,

Thank you for providing us with your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at the Le Meridien Chiang Rai. Although it is disappointing to read your comments we will certainly take your points on board to assist us in improving our training programs and wonderful products and service.

I sincerely apologise that we have been unable to meet your expectations on this occasion.
Your comments regarding room cleanliness and our food quality I find very surprising as we only normally receive very positive feedback about both aspects of the resort.

The transport issues you raise, or shuttle bus, that is provided is operated by a third party making it difficult to add an additional service during peak times. We have this week been successful, through their cooperation, been able to change the schedule so that we can run the service every hour, rather than every 2 hours which will hopefully assist in providing an improved service to our guests. Equally surprising are your comments about our associates who are always genuine in their attempts to satisfy our loyal guests and rarely receive such negative feedback. I will personally discuss this matter with those department you have mentioned.

I am very sorry about the noisy works by the pool. This work was urgently required as the wooden surface was falling apart and becoming a serious safety concern. We take our guests safety and security very seriously and on this occasion we needed to repair the area so that our guests could utilise our beautiful pool safely and without fear of accident and injury.

While I cannot turn back the hands of time on your disappointing experience I would like to again sincerely apologise that we have fallen well short of providing you with the product and service levels you deserve and would expect from the Le Meridien Chiang Rai. I would hope that you would provide us with another opportunity to restore your faith in our service and property.

Warm regards

Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

A huge hotel that is accustomed (and better situated) for large bus groups coming in and out of the hotel. They cater best to crowds rather than individual's or couples. I found that although very modern some of the rooms seemed pretty beat up and poorly maintained. Our original room smelled of cigarette smoke and mildew, after complaining we were moved to an upgraded suite, which at first they wanted to charge us for, I stated I would be more than happy to take the same size room elsewhere in the hotel and that the upgrade was unnecessary if they were to charge us for it... they didn't have any other basic rooms so they decided to give us the upgrade complimentary. The larger suite isn't much different from the original room... certainly not worth paying for (even though it is only fractionally pricier).

The pools are beautiful but there is no service.... the lounge chair pads are folded up, don't expect the hotel to put them down or place a towel over them for you. Same goes for sun umbrellas if you want one while lounging roll it over yourself.

Breakfast was good. Lots of options, but again little service. More of a massive cafeteria type setting... great for bus tours.

This is really a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrjsuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen M, General Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

Dear mrjsuss

I'm extremely disappointed reading your review of our resort regarding your recent visit. First of all I'd like to extend my personal apology for not being able to offer the service you chose the resort for, I will be addressing each of your points with our team to make sure all guest experiences are equally pleasing, regardless if you're traveling in a group or not.

Thank you for posting these comments – always reviewed, valued and appreciated. Guest feedback is a wonderful gift – and I thank you again for yours.

Best regards
Stephen Morahan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

The Le Meridien Chiang Rai makes for a pleasant resort stay with a very nice three tiered pool, decent quality rooms, and a tasty breakfast buffet. It does have some areas that could use improving considering its Le Meridien's overall quality level (especially compared to the fantastic Le Meridien in Chiang Mai). For SPG Gold/Platinum members the lack of a club lounge or complimentary happy hour is a sizeable detractor (and the free drink per guest per day off a limited menu only somewhat fills the gap).

For all guests, the location of the hotel is inconvenient for getting to Chiang Rai or any of its sites. The hotel remedies this with 4 free shuttles into town a day but with only 10 seats we usually were refused entry as it was full (which was a ridiculous customer service faux pas).

All in all, if money is no object then this is a great place to stay in Chiang Rai, but if you expect great value, then perhaps save the cash for somewhere else.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Demosthenes88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen M, General Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Dear Demosthenes88,

Thank you for providing us with your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at the Le Meridien Chiang Rai. Although it is disappointing to read your comments we have taken your comments on board.

I sincerely apologise that we have been unable to meet your expectations on this occasion as we never wish to hear that our loyal guests are unhappy with the products and services that we provide.

Based on your feedback, and that of others, we have been successful in negotiating with our third party shuttle operator to run the service every hour which will hopefully assist in rectifying delays and seat unavailability. We are also in discussions to operate another service during the peak periods that may further assist in improving this area, particularly during very high occupancy.

Additionally, as you have mentioned, due to a lack of having an Executive Club, which is offered at most City hotels we are looking at options to improve this concept for our valued and loyal SPG guests.

I thank you again for your feedback and am sorry that we have fallen short of your expectations on this occasion. Rest assured we are in the process of improving the areas you have mentioned and should have a more enjoyable and value added experience available to all our guests in the very near future.

Thank you and regards

Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is in beautiful location on riverside. It feels very well spread out and open, however it seemed quite a trek from our room to reception/breakfast. Staff were friendly and helpful, we are in 2 of the restaurants and the food and service was excellent. The bedrooms are lovely, very spacious and the beds and pillows are oh so comfy. We slept so well.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patten-Mills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen M, General Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear Patten-Mills

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience. I'm absolutely thrilled to read you loved the resort and the service provided whilst you were with us, and I know our team will be so pleased to hear of your kind comments.

Thanks for recognising them. I do hope you have time the visit us again.

Best regards
Stephen Morahan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews