We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“this is a great resort property in a beautiful setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort
Ranked #3 of 109 Hotels in Chiang Rai
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
103 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“this is a great resort property in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Chiang Rai is such a small place I was surprised to see Le Meriden has a property here. The hotel is spread out over several different wings and avoids any feeling of being cramped. Beautiful infinity pool next to the lake and river. Great service and a free shuttle service into town if you want. Very nice breakfast.

The location is on the edge of the city but there are some good restaurant choices within a five minute walk. Just turn right when you leave the hotel and reach the main road.

Only one drawback if I can call it that is the Starwood upgrade treatment. I was told I was upgraded to a standard suite but it was actually just a large room. It was very comfortable and I was totally satisfied, but I would suggest the check-in staff not call it a suite as it is not.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a pool and river view, you'll appreciate it if they are available
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rs88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen M, General Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear rs88

Thank you for taking the time to post this review – and for your kind comments. I am so happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us – and I do appreciate the extra time that you took to make some constructive comments – these are always welcome.

I am so delighted to know that you enjoyed our breakfast. We do take great efforts to make sure that we can offer breakfast dishes to suit every palate. We like to complement our buffet with some a la carte options as well as small “pass around” items that our Chefs enjoy bringing round the table for our guests to sample. Fresh juice shots (known as “eye openers”) and croissants fresh from the oven tend to be the most popular.

Thank you again for your kind remarks. I do hope that we may welcome you again at Le Meridien Chiang Rai.

Warm regards
Stephen Morahan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,034 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,361
    499
    119
    39
    16
See reviews for
410
1,060
102
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed October 4, 2013

I stay at Le Meridien Chiangrai in 29sep out 30 sep13. This is the first time to stay, but I feel unhappy about poor toilet. When I go to toilet and try to clean the lavatory, the stool and the water gush out the lavatory. After the bad situation, I request to change the room by calling to the reception, but the receptionist tell me that she would ask the permission from her manager. I wait to change the room more than 10 minutes. Stay and smell the stool. Oh, very bad experience !!! After I change the room. My Pom number is 3301. Poor toilet and service is the definition. After I change the room, no one apologize me. So sad for customers. Call me from your customer's history, of you want to know what happened. 090-971xxxx

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pong Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen M, General Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Khun Pong Y,

Your comments are important to us and allow us to continually improve on our service, products and brand.

I am disappointed to learn that on this occasion we have not provided you with our normally very high level of service and professionalism. I sincerely apologise for this isolated incident and have discussed the matter with my operational managers, and their teams to ensure that our training methods and processes are reviewed, and more care is taken when a delicate matter like this happens in the future.

Khun Pong Y, I would again like to apologise for your poor experience and the way in which it was handled.

We very much value your patronage and trust that this unfortunate and isolated experience will not prevent you from visiting our wonderful resort in the future. Please feel free to contact me directly so as I can personally assist you with your reservation requirements.

Regards
Stephen Morahan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We had a fantastic time staying in this hotel, we stay many times at Le meredien properties around the world, this hotel definitely the best Le Meredien hotel we ever experienced. Upon arrival, we got upgraded to executive floor room, facing the river & pool, the view was amazing and the room was very nice. The breakfast especially was excellent, great choices of food, we love the different kind of fresh and tasty jam they serve, and love the liver pate too :)
The hotel is beautiful, big open spaces, lovely scenery next to the river, and the pool was amazing.
The staffs were very attentive and helpful, the only less great experience we had was, when we had dinner at the italian restaurant, we didnt have any reservation and were told that all seats inside were fully booked so we got the table outside, it was very very hot and lots of mosquitos, we were there with our 1 year old boy, and table next to us also had a kid with them, and I think we were all got problem with the mosquitos ( I know this is something that u can not control, the mosquitos I mean ) but until we finished our 3 course dinner and left the restaurant, we saw that half of the seat in the restaurant were empty. I didn't understand why we couldn't get table inside if it was not fully booked ( that was 10 PM when we left ), I hope it was not because we were the with small child that we were not allowed to sit inside because that would not be very nice since it was restaurant belong to hotel where we stayed, and we chose to dine within the property to make it easier for us. except for that, everything else was excellent, we definetely will stay there again if we back in Chiang Rai

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MirsAmst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen M, General Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear MissP_ams

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent experience at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort. I'm delighted to read you were extremely comfortable during your visit, and enjoyed the view, room, pool and breakfast.

I do note and value your comments regarding dinner at the italian restaurant, I am never proud to know that we have disappointed a guest, but I am always grateful for the feedback so that we can learn and improve. Your comment in this instance is well noted – and we discussed your remarks together as a team at our morning meeting. Thank you for providing this learning opportunity for us.

I'm glad you'd visit again when back in Chiang Rai, so if you happen to return please ask for me as I'd like to thank you in person for writing about your experience.

Best wishes
Stephen Morahan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Le Meridien is a great place to stay in chiang rai, and in my case, for a weekend escape from Bangkok.

It is incredibly nice - you might even say luxurious - and very relaxing. When the sun is out, it is beautiful.

If you are looking for top of the line luxury (i.e. four seasons), this is not it. BUT If you're looking for an amazing, relaxing, incredibly comfortable retreat, the Meridien Chiang Rai is fabulous.

If you are looking for little excursions, ask for the manager. HIghly recommend going to the white temple (it is RIGHT there despite what some books/reviews say ... and TOTALLY worth it!), and also go to the queen's villa and gardens. Absolutely stunning. Worth the trip and the money.

Room Tip: pool view makes a big difference. my room was pretty far from the lobby, but close to the spa and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAC0130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen M, General Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear JAC0130

Many thanks for your warm words. I am delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay. It was a pleasure to have you as a guest in our Resort...and I hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back in Chiang Rai.

With warm regards
Stephen Morahan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
116 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

By far one of the nicest hotels I have ever stayed in. It was part of our package tour so we really didn't know what to expect. But were blown away. Large, clean rooms with wonderful pillows and beds. Grounds are beautiful and the infinity pool on the river is spectacular. Breakfast buffet was wonderful with something for every taste - western style breakfast items to a full Asian breakfast. The bakery goods were awesome!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jess B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen M, General Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Jess B

How kind of you to take the time to write this review. I was delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you so much for your warm words - very much appreciated.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you again to Le Meridien Chiang Rai.

With kind regards
Stephen Morahan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumaguete City, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Wanted to order from the ala carte menu at the restaurant at the hotel. Was informed by the front office staff that they were too busy to serve ala carte menu and only option was the terrible and over-priced buffet. What was I supposed to do at 7A since hotel location was far from a decent restaurant? I came back from my tour in the afternoon to take the shuttle from hotel to Night market but was told by Concierge that van was full and no additional shuttle was available. Staff recommended to take a cab. I asked for an umbrella since it was raining and was told they ran out of umbrellas. Most 5 star resort hotels have umbrellas in the rooms. I am Royal Ambassador at the Intercontinental and believe me, what a difference!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ANTONIO Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen M, General Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Antonio,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us a review of your recent stay at the Le Meridien Chiang Rai. We very much appreciate your feedback.

I apologise that we appear to have fallen well short of our normally very high standards of product and service delivery, and for that I sincerely apologise.

I understand that during the time you were wishing to dine with us for breakfast that we were in the process of serving several hundred guests for breakfast and that due to this it may be a better option to have our fabulous buffet as a la carte orders may take a little more time than normal. I respect that this is our concern and not yours and I am sorry if this was not communicated thoughtfully or considerately. We were only attempting to provide you with the most efficient option given that we expected you would be heading out for the day.

I am also surprised with regards to your comments of the buffet breakfast being terrible and over priced as we generally only ever receive very positive feedback with regards to our breakfast, and for the price of THB300 (USD$10.00) it is perceived to be of fantastic value.

I take on board your comments with regards to the unbrella's and shuttle service. I will certainly discuss with our third party operator who organise and run the shuttles that they may need to add additional services during high traffic periods.

Antonio, I again would like to apologise that we have not provided you with the service that you expected and we will look at opportunities to improve from the information you have provided. I do hope that you would provide us a future opportunity to restore your faith in our product, service and brand.

Thank you and regards

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed here for two days as part of a tour package. This is a really nice resort hotel. Spread out along the banks of the river, nice pools, great scenery everywhere... very peaceful. The rooms were spacious and well designed. We enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Happy hour in the bar. 2 for 1 til 8pm. Very nice. If you walk out of the hotel driveway and take a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theswanguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen M, General Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear theswanguy

Thanks so much for these very kind comments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was a pleasure to have you as a guest in our Resort...and I hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back in Chiang Rai.

With warm regards
Stephen Morahan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Rai hotels
0.9 mi away
The Legend Chiang Rai
The Legend Chiang Rai
#5 of 109 in Chiang Rai
968 reviews
1.5 mi away
Nak Nakara
Nak Nakara
#4 of 109 in Chiang Rai
677 reviews
1.7 mi away
Le Patta
Le Patta
#2 of 109 in Chiang Rai
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
A Star Phulare Valley Resort Chiang Rai
1.9 mi away
Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai
2.8 mi away
Maryo Resort
Maryo Resort
#1 of 109 in Chiang Rai
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort

Property: Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort
Address: 221/2 Moo 20, Kwaewai Road | Tambon Robwieng, Amphur Muang, Chiang Rai 57000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Chiang Rai
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Rai
#1 Business Hotel in Chiang Rai
#2 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Rai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort occupies an idyllic 26-rai site directly on the banks of the Mae Kok River, moments from Chiang Rai town and a one hour drive from the Golden Triangle where the borders of Thailand, Laos, and Myanmar converge. The resort is set at the heart of beautiful landscaped gardens complete with a tranquil man-made lake and two majestic 100-year-old rain trees. Surrounded by magnificent mountain scenery, the neighbouring community is a jewel waiting to be explored. Nearby attractions include Rai Mae Fah Luang, Le Méridien's chosen UnLock Art site, and Oub Kham Museum which houses a collection of objects from the ancient Lanna kingdom, Myanmar, southwest China, and Vietnam. Nearby attractions include Wat Phra Kaew, the temple that once housed the Emerald Buddha, and the Hill Tribe Education Centre with its fascinating display of tribal artefacts and handicrafts. Boat trips along the Mae Kong River are available from the town of Chiang Khong, with stops along the way at villages of interest. Ethnic groups living in the province include Karen, Lisu, Lahu, Akha, Meo, and Yao, and it is possible to arrange treks into the hill tribe villages with experienced local guides. Mae Sai is 62 kilometres north of Chiang Rai and makes for an interesting day trip. This busy trading post borders Myanmar, and it is possible to cross the bridge to visit the bustling market in Tha Khi Lek. Phu Chi Fa is a spectacular viewpoint. The impressive views are best enjoyed early in the morning, particularly in the cool season when mist covers the valley floor. A highlight to any trip to Chiang Rai is a visit to the Doi Tung Development Project. Started as a royal initiative to help eradicate opium supply, drug use, and rural poverty, the project offers villagers with a practical and sustainable alternative. The project focuses on development, education, training, humanitarian activities, environmental conservation, agriculture, and the production of quality crafts. At the summit of Doi Tung, visitors can visit Phra That Doi Tung, a chedi constructed in 911 A.D and one of the oldest and most sacred sites in northern Thailand. The chedi is said to contain the collarbone of Buddha. Le Méridien Chiang Rai Resort, Thailand is located close to the town centre and a short drive from Chiang Rai Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Chiang Rai Hotel Chiang Rai
Meridien Chiang Rai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing