We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“high quality hotel in North of Thailand”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort
Ranked #2 of 108 Hotels in Chiang Rai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 10, 2013

This was our first visit to the North of Thailand. Our travel agent suggested to stay in Chiang Rai rather than Chiang Mai. We were disappointed by the authenticity of Northern Thailand (mountains, tribes, Golden Triangle, Mekong river), but not by the Méridien Resort in Chiang Rai. The hotel's design combines the rich and abundent Thai tradition with stylish contemporary austerity. The strongest point is the perfect seemless combination of the lake in the hotel's garden, the big swimming pools and the nearby Mekok Rover. Our excellent room (perfect beds) offered an excellent view of lake, pool and river. Services are excellent and service is, like almost always in Thailand, extremely warm and friendly. The food at both the Thai restaurant "Latest Recipe" and the Italian restaurant "Favola" was rather good, the winelist remaining rather poor though...

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jantheys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaud M, Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Dear jantheys,

Thank you very much for staying with us and taking the time to share your comments about Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort.
I'm thrilled to read all those positive comments and thank you really.
As for the wines, we actually have 2 lists, one 'by the glass' featuring 4 Champagne & Sparklings, 7 whites and 7 reds plus an extensive by the bottle proposing wines from all over the world through 50 wines at least.
I look to seeing you back the soonest and thank you again for your message.

All the very best,

Renaud Mahe
Director fo Food + Beverage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,157)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

900 - 906 of 2,157 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2013

The hotel is very close to the airport and has a free shuttle to the night market on Saturdays. The grounds and pool area are 5 star. Very relaxing and scenic. The rooms are getting a little tatty and 4 star. I only tried the room service and it was very average. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I emailed my boarding passes and they printed and delivered them. Just out of the gate and 100 metres to the right are about 4 local restaurants with good value food. This is the second time I have stayed here and I have loved the river view room with a view of the big tree. It's is quite cheap for a 5 star at only £80 a night but the £10 day for wifi is a bit much. Overall great base to explore from. The taxi from the airport offered us tours and we payed 1500 baht for 6 hours worth of driving around sites. Must see Wat Rong Khun. The white temple.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Ryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaud M, Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Dear NonBackpacker,

First of all, thank you for staying with us and for your review about Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort.
Although I'm glad you returned to us and you really enjoy our location, ground, pool area and friendliness + helpfulness of the associates, I'm sad to read your comments about the room and the room service food quality.
Please accept my apologies if it was not as good as expected, I already checked with my kitchens to make sure we are doinfg the right thing.
As for the wifi, we are providing for free throughout the resort whole public areas.
As you love the room view and the rate, I hope you'll rate us higher during your next stay which I wish the soonest.
We look forward to welcoming you again.
Best regards


Renaud Mahe
Director of Food + Beverage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Upon arriving at this property- we walked into the expansive lobby to a great view of the grounds. Check in was efficient and someone from the hotel walked us to the room. The room exceeded our expectations. It was large , comfortable and clean with a great balcony . The beds and pillows were super comfy. Pool and poolside bar were our first stop after a long day and it did not disappoint. The breakfast buffet at 25.00 was little pricey but it did offer a lot. However we chose to order off the menu and although the breakfast was delicious- allow plenty of time - it took over an hour to get our food. We were there three days and the service did not get any faster . They were very slow to even brig coffee and getting a second cup was just as challenging . The food was great once it arrived. Overall- I thought the property was spectacular but it did lack a little warmth. Maybe just a little more service and you would rise another star! I would definitely recommend to my friends and would not hesitate to return there myself.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billanddeb34683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaud M, Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2013

Dear billanddeb34683,

First of all, thank you for staying with us earlier this year and thanks a lot for your great review about Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort.
I'm thrilled to read your comments about the resort, its lobby and the comfort of our rooms
Although it is good to read your positive feedback about the pool and its bar as well as the quality of the food, I'm really concerned about the breakfast experience.
It is unacceptable you had to wait over an hour to get your breakfast served and I'm desappointed to read our service at the restaurant was so slow.
I'm sorry we did not get a chance to meet during your stay. Did you reported this issue to any of the managers on duty? It would have been easy to fix.
Please accept my sincere apologies for this but thank you very much for your recommendation anyway. I'm glad to read the food was good once it arrived!
We all look forward to welcoming you the soonest in order to shaow you the real and impeccable Le Meridien service.
Best regards and thanks again.

Renaud Mahe
Director of Food & Beverage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Le Meridien Chiang Rai is a beautiful resort, and a great way to experience a less hectic and touristic Thailand. The grounds of the hotel are stunning, on the banks of the river Mae Kok. The reception of the hotel introduces you to the calm that surrounds the whole place, with the open air desks, the concierge, and the great views on the field and the river.
The rooms have a sleek and modern furniture, and are provided with anything you would ever need - including easy connections to hook up your computer to the tv.
The views from the rooms (I stayed in a grande deluxe room, which is the standard upgrade for spg platinum) are gorgeous, you really have the feeling that you're on holiday when you enter this property.
There's a really nice bar by the pool, or better pools, since there are 3 infinity pools overlooking the river and the hotel grounds. And another bar (Latitude 19) in the main building - with great cocktails and wines and a happy hour between 5 and 7 pm. Opposite to the bar is the library, a great way to relax, read or go online without the bar environment. It's one of the most beautiful hotel spaces I've ever seen. There are sleek computers to use and some cool books to read.
There's a very good gym open 24 hours a day with state of the art equipment.
I tried only one of the two restaurants of the hotel - latest recipe. It was very good, an interesting mix of international and Thai cuisine. The price was good - keep in mind that there is a hefty tax on wine in Thailand so if you're cool with water or beer, you can have an exceptional dinner for a good price.
Breakfast was very good as well, with plenty of choices, and chefs at hand to cook eggs and other stuff to order.
Life at the resort is great, but it's also very easy to get into town and explore the surroundings. The shuttle to Chiang Rai runs 5 times a day, and it's a great and easy way to get into town and back. Very close to the hotel there are also several restaurants on the river - walk right when you leave the hotel. In less than 5 minutes you have a choice of Chinese and Thai restaurants where you can have a great dinner for 300 bahts.
At the hotel you can book several tours and excursions for half a day or the whole day - everything is very simple and easy. It's quite certainly more expensive than what you would pay if you book your tour with one of the travel agencies in town. But keep in mind that Chiang Rai is not so developed (in terms of tourism) as Chiang Mai, and it's just so easy and nice to organize everything from the hotel.
I highly recommend a boat tour up the Mae Kok river - you leave the hotel from the pier by the swimming pool, and you can stop by the hot springs about 40 minutes from the hotel, have a warm bath there before coming back to the hotel.
The hotel is a great place to relax, recharge, and explore the wonderful areas of northern Thailand. You can choose to stay at the hotel and enjoy the grounds there, or use it as a base to explore the surroundings, either way you won't be disappointed.
This resort is really magnificent and I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: The Grand deluxe rooms are very spacious, offer great views and are a perfect accommodation for a ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bingo_the_dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaud M, Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Dear Bingo_the_dog,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review for both our resort AND one of our restaurant on its own profile, this is fantastic!
This is great to know you loved your stay since the check-in at our beautiful lobby.
We actually have 2 different Happy Hours promotion: 5-7pm at Chill bar by the pool & 5-8pm at Latitude 19 on the lobby floor.
I'm thrilled to read the Library was an unique place for you, this is actually one of the best place to realx, you are right!
Thanks as well for your comment about Latest Recipe. Unfortunatelly yes, wine tax in Thailand are really high but I've tried my best (and a lot of wines!) to find and feature the best deal s on my menu.
So glad to read as well your positive comments about Breakfast, we work hard on this point to make sure our guests start the day as good as posible.
Finally, thank you for recommending us for all that we have to offer.
We look forward to welcoming you back the soonest.

All the best,

Renaud Mahe
Director of Food + Beverage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Delightfull riverside setting, out of town, but free shuttle bus and cheap taxi/tuktuk. Room was very well appointed and comfortable - we slept really well. The hotel wasn't busy, but the service was really good - friendly and charming. Good breakfasts, and very good evening food - thai and italian. We really had a lovely stay here, and would gladly return.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DWM64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaiporn, Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear DWM64

Thank you very much for this positive and encouraging review. We were delighted to read your comments and to know that we passed your high standards.
Your comments regarding service are a joy to read. Whenever we receive a Trip Advisor review, we always share it with our hotel team at the daily morning meeting. The team beamed when they heard your warm words. Thank you for highlighting the breakfast as well as the food in our both restaurant. I am delighted that we made your stay special and memorable.
I do hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you again in the Lanna kingdom again.

Best,
Chaiporn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

This meridien is a short distance out of town on the river. this means more peace but you need a car or taxi to get to town. Rooms ar large and comfortable. Very friendly reception and other staff. Food en Bev manager has everything under control, the Italian restaurant and the main restaurant were both nice (usually we don't eat in hotel restaurants but because of lon kraton festival we had to) and we dont regret going.
Very nice pool but we've hardly seen the sun in a whole week so we couldn't use it a lot.
Would definately come back

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ekholland27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaud M, Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Dear ekholland27,

Thank you for your great feedback about Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort.
This is a pleasure to share your comments with the team and I'm thrilled to read your kind words about me and my team.
We all look forward to having you back with the soonest!
Let me know and warm regards from Chiang Rai where the sun shines again!

All the best,

Renaud Mahe
Director of Food & Beverage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

My boyfriend and I LOVE this hotel. We wanted to visit the North, but stay away from the hustle and bustle of Chiang Mai. We wanted something romantic, relaxing and quiet to cap off our month-long trip around Asia - and this was perfect! From breakfast to the Italian restaurant to the spa, this hotel is best for those of you seeking peace and quiet. The Rain Trees are beautiful, and you can take a boat from the hotel's pier into Chiang Rai town. The customer service is wonderful. The gym is very good for a hotel gym - usually you get A treadmill, but this was pretty extensive with free weights and many machines. It's close to the Chiang Rai Airport where our Air Asia flights were less than US$100 each roundtrip from Bangkok. So, go for the weekend or the week!

Room Tip: The Grand Deluxe Wing is lovely - you get a river or a garden view - but it's more expensive tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saismbn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaud M, Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Dear saismbn,

Thank you very much for your great comments about Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort.
What a wonderful message.
When do you plan to visit us again?
Receive our best regards and thanks for your great comments again!

Renaud Mahe
Director of Food + Beverage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Rai hotels
9.8 mi away
A Star Phulare Valley Resort Chiang Rai
1.5 mi away
Nak Nakara
Nak Nakara
#4 of 108 in Chiang Rai
772 reviews
1.7 mi away
Le Patta
Le Patta
#3 of 108 in Chiang Rai
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai
0.9 mi away
The Legend Chiang Rai
The Legend Chiang Rai
#5 of 108 in Chiang Rai
1,014 reviews
2.8 mi away
Maryo Resort
Maryo Resort
#1 of 108 in Chiang Rai
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort

Address: 221/2 Moo 20, Kwaewai Road | Tambon Robwieng, Amphur Muang, Chiang Rai 57000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Rai
#1 Spa Hotel in Chiang Rai
#1 Business Hotel in Chiang Rai
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Rai
Price Range: $84 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort occupies an idyllic 26-rai site directly on the banks of the Mae Kok River, moments from Chiang Rai town and a one hour drive from the Golden Triangle where the borders of Thailand, Laos, and Myanmar converge. The resort is set at the heart of beautiful landscaped gardens complete with a tranquil man-made lake and two majestic 100-year-old rain trees. Surrounded by magnificent mountain scenery, the neighbouring community is a jewel waiting to be explored. Nearby attractions include Rai Mae Fah Luang, Le Méridien's chosen UnLock Art site, and Oub Kham Museum which houses a collection of objects from the ancient Lanna kingdom, Myanmar, southwest China, and Vietnam. Nearby attractions include Wat Phra Kaew, the temple that once housed the Emerald Buddha, and the Hill Tribe Education Centre with its fascinating display of tribal artefacts and handicrafts. Boat trips along the Mae Kong River are available from the town of Chiang Khong, with stops along the way at villages of interest. Ethnic groups living in the province include Karen, Lisu, Lahu, Akha, Meo, and Yao, and it is possible to arrange treks into the hill tribe villages with experienced local guides. Mae Sai is 62 kilometres north of Chiang Rai and makes for an interesting day trip. This busy trading post borders Myanmar, and it is possible to cross the bridge to visit the bustling market in Tha Khi Lek. Phu Chi Fa is a spectacular viewpoint. The impressive views are best enjoyed early in the morning, particularly in the cool season when mist covers the valley floor. A highlight to any trip to Chiang Rai is a visit to the Doi Tung Development Project. Started as a royal initiative to help eradicate opium supply, drug use, and rural poverty, the project offers villagers with a practical and sustainable alternative. The project focuses on development, education, training, humanitarian activities, environmental conservation, agriculture, and the production of quality crafts. At the summit of Doi Tung, visitors can visit Phra That Doi Tung, a chedi constructed in 911 A.D and one of the oldest and most sacred sites in northern Thailand. The chedi is said to contain the collarbone of Buddha. Le Méridien Chiang Rai Resort, Thailand is located close to the town centre and a short drive from Chiang Rai Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Chiang Rai Hotel Chiang Rai
Meridien Chiang Rai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing