We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not a 5 star”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort
Ranked #2 of 108 Hotels in Chiang Rai
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“not a 5 star”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

it is a shame this hotel is not better maintained and the staff a little slow. We stayed here over the Xmas period that may give an excuse for the high prices we were charged but the hotel is much too big to give the service and expected care. the rooms were large and clean but you could hear any little noise coming from the long corridors not to mention the sharp noises coming from the elevator every other minute. the hotel is beautiful but situated a little out of town and the shuttle was always full so a taxi had to be called for us every time. when we asked for the air condition to be be fixed (i was frizzing all the time) everyone said yes yes yes but the problem was not resolved for the 2 nights we spent there. the spa was lovely and the bar around the pool very appealing.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaiporn, Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear

Thank you for taking the time to post this review and for your valued feedback. I am sorry that noise distrurbed your stay with us and sorry to hear of your disappointing experience. Your comments regarding the shuttle was always full during this high season are noted. I am not proud to know when we failed to delight a guest. I am however always grateful for the feedback so that we can learn, improve , and do better next time. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused.

Please do let me know if I may ever be of service in the future. In the event, that your travel schedule brings you back to Chiang Rai, I would like to ensure that all arrangements for your stay are in order. To that end I would invite you to contact me directly and I would be delighted to handle your reservation requirements personally.

Best regards
Chaiporn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,076 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,393
    507
    119
    39
    18
See reviews for
415
1,080
106
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, MN
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

In general nice, peaceful location and good service. Reasons that kept this from being a 5 - buffet was good but not great. Coffee was very hard to come by - I served myself most days. (Suggestion - if you do not have the staff to pour coffee, please put it out by the juice where people can help themselves.) There were a few activities going on that we didn't find out about until the end of our 5 day stay - it would have been helpful to post the events in the room and supply a list of them at check in. When the hotel is fully booked, I would recommend shuttles to town more often - they book up quickly during the peak season. Very nice show, fireworks and lantern release on New Years Eve.

Room Tip: Choose a higher level, river view room
See more room tips
Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Fritch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaiporn, Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Fritch

Thank you for taking the time to post this review – and for your kind comments. I am so happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us – and I do appreciate the extra time that you took to make some constructive comments – these are always welcome. I do note your comments regarding more activities if there are any specific activities that you think would be suitable, I would love to hear any suggestions. In the meantime, I will give this subject some creative through with my team. Thanks also for your comments regarding the coffee serving during breakfast. I am not proud to know that we disappointed a guest. I am however always grateful for feedback so that we can know our weaknesses and improve. Many thanks for your candour.

Thank you again for your kind remarks. I do hope that we may welcome you again at Le Meridien Chiang Rai.
Warm regards
Chaiporn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harare, Zimbabwe
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Arrived hot and stuffy after travelling for a day with our terrible teens. The hotel did us proud on NYE and we were very impressed with the friendly staff there. Welcomed by Ooey, pretty young Thai girl that was incredibly warm, not as warm as my teenage son had in mind ;-) Sorry Ooey if he was pestering you. Lovly lanterns and a great dinner after inspecting our super rooms.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan L, Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Alan S

A very Happy New Year to you ! Can we say that we were very proud of our NYE’s party too ?! We enjoyed seeing how much fun our guests were having that evening welcoming the New Year.

We also heard Khun Ooey enjoyed the conversation with your son too, isn’t that how we make new friends along the way ? Especially exciting when we are traveling.

We hope there will be future opportunities to welcome you and family back to our resort.

Until then, we wish you a very wonderful 2013 !

Bryan Leong
Director of Sales + Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
270 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed for New Year Celebration at Le Meridien Chiang Rai and really enjoyed special atmosphere by watching hundreds of laterns, nice alternative to loud fireworks. Only disturbing issue was that for New Year you had to book the hotel buffet and no individual a la carte was accepted. The hotel is located next to the river bank and makes it convenient to explore Golden Triangle area by car. Food is priced quite reasonable compared with hotels in Thailand but there're as well local restaurants nearby, for example Lu Lum Restaurant, only 5 minutes walking distance. We booked special expat package, room was spacious and we enjoyed quiet vista into the courtyard. The management pays attention to talking to guest and try to make you stay pleasurable. There're some areas like Library which really would need some clean up. In general there're no real nearby attractions so without any kind of transportation it's not that easy to explore surrounding, the Golden Triangle is still 70 kilometer far away.

Room Tip: Rooms facing directly the river enjoy best view but as well noise form bypassing boats. We preferred...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tyrolians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan L, Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Tyrolians

It was great to have you joining us celebrating the New Year ! You bet our NYE’s Gala Dinner is now known to be one of the best in Chiang Rai. We did not serve ala carte menu on NYE’s evening because our kitchen team was indeed very focused in preparing many dishes to impress our most discerning guests that day. We wish not to disappoint any guests in case of any possible delay having to attend to other orders during that busiest time in the kitchen. We apologise that we could not meet your request. With regards to the Library, our housekeeping associate has already looked into it.

You are right that you need a car to get around to see the attractions. Not sure if you managed to visit some of the must-see attractions in Chiang Rai such as the White Temple, Black House or Doi Tung which are only 20-30 mins away from our resort. There are also many other attractions that we are happy to recommend if you will come back to Chiang Rai soon.

Till we see you again, we would like to wish you the very best in 2013 !

Bryan Leong
Director of Sales + Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We were greeted at our taxi as we arrived by a gentleman with an Aussie accent (or was it NZ?), who offered to help us with our bags. Later we learned this was the GM! How often do you see that happen at a luxury hotel? Everything about our visit was outstanding, from free drinks at the lounge because our room wasn't ready when promised, to fast internet, to outstanding food at the breakfast buffet. The hotel operates a free shuttle to/from the night market, Central Dept store, and airport many times a day (since the resort is located on the river, too far to walk to any of those places). Many of our fellow guests took advantage of this service, and all were complimentary about the hotel and staff.

Two areas for improvement: fitness room was small and lacking many of the most popular weight machines, and the price of the room with service charge and taxes, was pretty steep for Thailand. It was a holiday weekend, but it was four times higher than our previous hotel (see my review of that disaster for details...).

I would definitely go back!

Room Tip: All rooms had a view of the lake and river, as far as I could determine--beautiful and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goldenbear70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan L, Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Goldenbear 70

Happy New Year to you ! We are delighted to learn that you had a wonderful stay with us. In fact, our Australian General Manager interacts very frequently with our guests. For him to assist with our guests’ luggage is not something unusual at all !

Regarding the fitness centre, I’m not 100% sure what machines you were referring to so we will reach out to you directly to understand your comment better. We use modern Technogym equipment that covers all muscle groups.

We hope to see you in our resort again if you will be visiting Northern Thailand anytime soon.

Till then, have a great 2013 ahead !

Bryan Leong
Director of Sales + Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

I've been staying at Chiang Rai Le Meridien since it first opened, I think in 2008. We always are there from around 27 Dec - 4 Jan because we meet family/friends in the area. We have stayed here because we are SPG members and there are few other choices right in town. Except for the beautiful grounds, the nice bar staff from the Latitude bar, and the fitness center (probably main reason I stay there besides SPG membership), I only have negative things to say, and am hoping Le Meridien will shape up this place, or a real 5-star hotel will soon arrive in Chiang Rai. I have already voiced my concerns to the front office manager Nanthaporn Thongsilpa, and informed her I would also be writing on tripadvisor. She was kind and apologetic, but I didn't get much other than excuses regarding understaffing, etc. She told me that their expat general manager Justin had just moved on to another hotel in Bangkok. I suspect they have a hard time getting good staff because training is poor and they are underpaid. My complaints:

1. Upon check-in, I commented that I was now Gold status due to the previous night's stay at Le Meridien Bangkok, and showed the check-in staff my proof. The staffer first said my status is not in the system yet, but would grant me free internet anyway. Anyway??? Why is system updating needed when I had the proof with me? And not even any sign of gratitude for my SPG loyalty. In addition, I was told there were no gold status upgraded rooms available for my entire stay. I really doubt this, especially in the last few days. And how did I get such a crappy room when I pre-booked in early Oct? I did not feel welcomed. I also remarked that I've been an annual guest with several friends/family every year since they opened. Still no warm welcome or effort to find us better rooms.

2. Rooms were not cleaned until 17:00 or later every day, and not cleaned very well. I asked the reception to have rooms cleaned earlier, but they did not do anything about this. The ceiling of my room had a sad mark of what looked like the outline of a gecko that someone had killed. Maybe this is why my ground level room was infested with mosquitoes. Or maybe it was the still water moat surrounding the balcony.

3. Drink service at pool was painfully slow, although eventually delivered with a friendly smile. This has been a chronic problem since soft-opening in 2008. Often the reply for food order was "we're out of it." One night the expat F&B manager Renaud was the only person who appeared to be doing any work. He was very kind to my friends and me, ran all over finding things for everyone. Breakfast buffet was not as good as it was previously. Is there a banana shortage now? I had to ask every day and then got one. Serving utensils were sticky and unsanitary.

4. The noise level was terrible all over the resort. Room above me sounded like it was a bowling alley. All night long there were creaky rattling luggage carts pushed down the hallways (I complain about this every year). I had to wear earplugs. I heard other guests complain, too.

5. Yes, the grounds are beautiful, but really the place lacks soul. I have already seen quite a lot of the surroundings in previous Chiang Rai daytrips, and would like to enjoy the resort more during the daytime. However, the service for just about everything, especially the pool area, is so slow that it does not promote relaxation. The one thing I really enjoy besides the views is the well-kept fitness center.

6. Gym clothes I sent to laundry were returned smelling not very clean, and it was a steep price.

I feel ripped off for what I paid for one room and used SPG points for another room. SPG should not allow this hotel to use the Le Meridien brand. It is not up to the standards other than the lovely grounds. I'm really turned off about staying here ever again unless there are improvements made.

Room Tip: Don't accept room on ground floor by mosquito moat and the hallway leading to the children's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annsanfran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaiporn, Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Annsanfran

Thank you for taking the time to post this review – and I do appreciate the extra time that you took to make some constructive comments – these are always welcome.

I was sorry to hear of your disappointing experience regarding checking in and make up room and disturbed by mosquitoes during your stay with us. I would like to apologize if any of our colleagues did not make you feel welcome. I am not proud to know when we failed to delight a guest. However, I am delighted to inform you that our hotel has the pest control schedule inplace for indoor and outdoor, also the mosquitoes spray is available when guest ask for in every area, the mosuitoes coins have set up in all guest rooms includling outlets and public area. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused.

I am also truly sorry to hear that your experience at our poolside was slow and I will follow up with this matter with my team immediately. The wellbeing and development of our associates is our top priority This is will remind our associates of our guest sensitivities and to improve our anticipation to guest needs. Please rest assured that we are making every effort to address your comments moving forward and shall continue to be receptive and sensitive to the needs of our esteemed guests so that your future visits will be more pleasant.
Please do let me know if I may ever be of service in the future. In the event, that your travel schedule brings you back to Chiang Rai, I would like to ensure that all arrangements for your stay are in order – and to upgrade your accommodation. To that end I would invite you to contact me directly and I would be delighted to handle your reservation requirements personally.

Best regards
Chaiporn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

The entire property is gorgeous, for once the professional photos are accurate. We loved our little patio and the pool area. The staff was friendly and helpful, arranging daily tours and a driver for us. Even though the property was fully booked, it never felt crowded and was always peaceful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ubergirl17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaiporn, Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear ubergirl17

How kind you are. It was a pleasure to welcome you to our hotel. Thank you for taking the time to share these comments. It is wonderful to hear that you have had a lovely time at our property. We look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit Chiang Rai. If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact me directly or the hotel. Once again, I would like to thank you for your time to post this review and I will be sure to pass your positive feedback to my team!

Best regards
Chaiporn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Rai hotels
9.8 mi away
A Star Phulare Valley Resort Chiang Rai
1.7 mi away
Le Patta
Le Patta
#3 of 108 in Chiang Rai
499 reviews
1.5 mi away
Nak Nakara
Nak Nakara
#4 of 108 in Chiang Rai
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Legend Chiang Rai
The Legend Chiang Rai
#5 of 108 in Chiang Rai
993 reviews
1.9 mi away
Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai
2.8 mi away
Maryo Resort
Maryo Resort
#1 of 108 in Chiang Rai
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort

Property: Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort
Address: 221/2 Moo 20, Kwaewai Road | Tambon Robwieng, Amphur Muang, Chiang Rai 57000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Chiang Rai
#1 Business Hotel in Chiang Rai
#1 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Rai
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Rai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort occupies an idyllic 26-rai site directly on the banks of the Mae Kok River, moments from Chiang Rai town and a one hour drive from the Golden Triangle where the borders of Thailand, Laos, and Myanmar converge. The resort is set at the heart of beautiful landscaped gardens complete with a tranquil man-made lake and two majestic 100-year-old rain trees. Surrounded by magnificent mountain scenery, the neighbouring community is a jewel waiting to be explored. Nearby attractions include Rai Mae Fah Luang, Le Méridien's chosen UnLock Art site, and Oub Kham Museum which houses a collection of objects from the ancient Lanna kingdom, Myanmar, southwest China, and Vietnam. Nearby attractions include Wat Phra Kaew, the temple that once housed the Emerald Buddha, and the Hill Tribe Education Centre with its fascinating display of tribal artefacts and handicrafts. Boat trips along the Mae Kong River are available from the town of Chiang Khong, with stops along the way at villages of interest. Ethnic groups living in the province include Karen, Lisu, Lahu, Akha, Meo, and Yao, and it is possible to arrange treks into the hill tribe villages with experienced local guides. Mae Sai is 62 kilometres north of Chiang Rai and makes for an interesting day trip. This busy trading post borders Myanmar, and it is possible to cross the bridge to visit the bustling market in Tha Khi Lek. Phu Chi Fa is a spectacular viewpoint. The impressive views are best enjoyed early in the morning, particularly in the cool season when mist covers the valley floor. A highlight to any trip to Chiang Rai is a visit to the Doi Tung Development Project. Started as a royal initiative to help eradicate opium supply, drug use, and rural poverty, the project offers villagers with a practical and sustainable alternative. The project focuses on development, education, training, humanitarian activities, environmental conservation, agriculture, and the production of quality crafts. At the summit of Doi Tung, visitors can visit Phra That Doi Tung, a chedi constructed in 911 A.D and one of the oldest and most sacred sites in northern Thailand. The chedi is said to contain the collarbone of Buddha. Le Méridien Chiang Rai Resort, Thailand is located close to the town centre and a short drive from Chiang Rai Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Chiang Rai Hotel Chiang Rai
Meridien Chiang Rai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing