We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It not just a Meridien... It's a MERRYdien”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort
Ranked #2 of 109 Hotels in Chiang Rai
Certificate of Excellence
Frankfurt
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“It not just a Meridien... It's a MERRYdien”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

First Impression. Check in and Lobby. Just wonderful friendly staff. Very efficient. The lobby very
tastefull decorated with most beautyful flower arrangments. A very calm and welcoming atmosphere. The room ist huge and sytlish interieur. All rooms have a wonderful view. even if you dont have river view you wount be dissapointet.

The pool area is on of a kind. on one side a giant tree with lampingnons and the other side a
green wirh is trimmed like on a golf court. In fron of you the river scenery where you can watch the monks at the river banks and enjoy the relaxing flow of the river.

The restaurant is outstandig good. As i like thai food a lot i prefer to eat out because the
hotel food is a bit boring compared to the adventures in local restaurant.
The "vongerichten" signatur dishes are just a wonderfull combination of haute cuisine
and local colors. The caramelized salmon on spicy green mango salat was heaven.
So was the oxcheeks thai style. Brilliant job done.

Also thanks to the manger Mr. renauld for giving good advise on the menus.

If you want to have some quit days, relaxing. GO . you will not regret. I come again.

Room Tip: Riverview of course....
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TomYamFrankfurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaiporn, Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear TomYamFrankfurt

Thank you for writing this wonderfully detailed and positive review. How kind of you to take the time to write this comments. Thank you for especially highlighting our Lobby, Pool and restaurants.

I am very grateful for your time to share these positive comments - and I do hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back to Chiang Rai again in the future.
Kind regards
Chaiporn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,047 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,373
    500
    119
    39
    16
See reviews for
411
1,068
103
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

A truly peaceful and relaxing Resort on the banks of the Mae Kok River, perfect for that sunset drink or romantic River side dinner. High quality rooms, good service and clean country air. Very close to the airport and city center.

The hotel arranged a day trip right from the banks of the river by Long Tail boat out to the Elephant Camp and Mountain Hill tribes. A humbling experience; an excellent and entertaining day out. We intended staying 3 nights but extended by another 3. High recommend this property.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaiporn, Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Gary M

Thank you for taking the time to post this review – and for your kind comments. I am so happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for highlighting the service you received during your stay. We always read out and share any guest comments – and the team was delighted to receive your positive endorsement of Tour service. Thank you for making their day.
I do hope that we may the pleasure of welcoming you back to Chiang Rai again in the future.

With kind regards
Chaiporn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Loved Chiang Rai most out of places visited in Thailand. Le Meridien is a great 4.5 star hotel, probably lost half a star for the showers in the bathroom needing an update (but they were still very good)
Food was YUMMY ... sweet tooths try the pistatio apple crumble, so custardy and good. Food presentation fantastic and with prompt service (Thanks Boss.) We just loved the place - beautiful room with river and pool view, airconditioning that works, room service, lovely staff, yummy breakfast (but Dear Management, put out a bit more pineapple and little bananas next time)
They have a free shuttle but we just caught taxis everywhere (about $7/200 THB) and a tuk tuk ride home for fun ($5/150THB).
Great value. Also many thanks to Noy - he helped organise tours for us and was very kind. Ask for Noy to help you, he is very honest and kind.
First hotel to have robes to fit fat Westerners! Loved it.

Room Tip: Deluxe river view room for comfort and the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catriona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaiporn, Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Catriona M

Thank you so much for taking the time to write and post this review…and for your kind and generous comments. I am so delighted to know that you enjoyed our breakfast. We do take great efforts to make sure that we can offer breakfast dishes to suit every palate. We like your idea to put out a bit more pineapple and little bananas and I have already implemented.

Your comments regarding service are a joy to read. Whenever we receive a Trip Advisor review, we always share it with our hotel team at the daily morning meeting. The team, especially Noy at Concierge, beamed when they heard your warm words.

Thank you again for your time to posting this review.
With warm regards
Chaiporn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
italy/belgium
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

I stayed at the Meridien Chaing Rai for one night as part of a tour to north Thailand. The hotel is in a magnificent location on the river. Rooms are very nice and with all the amenities. Air conditioning is quite noisy, however. It has to be underlined that the corridors are rather basic and not very properly lit so they do not appear as very nice. The walls of these corridors are surpriingly bare so one is not very pleasantly welcomed when getting off the lifts. Breakfast is nice and served in a beautiful room on the river.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claudiac67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaiporn, Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear claudiac67

Thank you so much for taking the time to write and post this review…and for your kind and generous comments.

I am so delighted to know that you enjoyed our breakfast liked your room. However I was sorry to hear of your disappointing experience – and to learnt that you were disturbed by Air conditioning noise during your stay with us. I am not proud to know when we failed to delight a guest. I am however always grateful for the feedback so that we can learn, improve , change and do better next time. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused.

Please do let me know if I may ever be of service in the future. In the event, that your travel schedule brings you back to Chiang Rai, I would like to ensure that all arrangements for your stay are in order . To that end I would invite you to contact me directly and I would be delighted to handle your reservation requirements personally.

Kind regards
Chaiporn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 4, 2012

The overall trip was great with great service, beautiful rooms and tasty food. This is our first time in the city of chiang rai, and we enjoyed it very much. The trip has left a great memory of the uniqueness of Northern part of thailand.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michael o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaiporn, Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear michael o

It is fantastic news to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us during your visit to Chiang Rai. I will be sure to let our team know of your positive feedback about them!

I am glad to know that you enjoyed our room facilities and also the food. It truly brings smiles to our faces when we see guests enjoy themselves whilst with us and we will do everything in our power to ensure that that smile remains long after having left us.

Should your future travels bring you back to Chiang Rai, feel free to contact me directly - I will personally ensure that your next stay with us will be a most enjoyable and comfortable one.

Best regards
Chaiporn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We were upgraded to Grande deluxe rooms. Extremely high ceilings, beautiful and clean bathrooms. Comfortable beds and simple but beautiful decor. The senior staff were very hands on and in particular the check in manager and food and beverages director were very helpful. Wonderful landscape and the team seem to have genuine pride in working there. We were there for their 4th yr anniversary and there was a Buddhist ceremony in the garden which was very educational. If i had any negative points to note, it would be the restaurant service.... it would be better if they waited till the entire table had finished eating before clearing the plates. ..I think Renaud picked up on this. 2ndly during breakfast (which is excellent) - the staff just didn't pay attention to NEW table setting after the initial big groups had left - i.e we had to ask for side plates and cups for tea/ coffee. That said, the solo bartender made excellent cocktails and the staff at the entrance were very polite and welcoming. Would recommend this place!

Room Tip: ask for river facing block if possible. 3rd/ 4th floor best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Auckland1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaud M, Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Auckland1234,

Greetings from Lanna and Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort.

Thank you very much for your great comment and rating as well as your comment about the team.
Although I'm delighted to read your feedback, I'm sorry to learn about your dinning service experience... but very glad you loved the Breakfast.
As mentionned, yes, I already briefed the team accordingly in order for them to pay more attention and be faster in resetting.
There is always rrom for improvement and I do thank you for your constructive comment.
We all look forward to welcoming soon again for an unforgettable experience.

All the evry best and thank you again for staying at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort.

Renaud Mahe
Director of Food + Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Located next to and overlooking the Kok river which is a tributary of the Mekong River this hotel have a scenic view. This is also supported by the huge lake and garden on the property. Walking on the small bridge over the lake at night when the lights are turned on gives a magical feeling especially when its Christmas times and additional lights are brought out. In a walking distance down the road you will find plenty of restaurants that offer the same scenic view and wonderful atmosphere and food, again specially at night. The road also have a convenience store. Stay here when you want to check out the hill tribes or take a day trip to Tachileik border town in Myanmar.

Room Tip: In my opinion the rooms on ground floor takes away most of the privacy. Go for the rooms on the top...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PMEkeiehen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaiporn, Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear PMEkeiehen

You are very kind. Thank you for this great review. I am delighted to know that you enjoyed your visit to our resort – and thank you for your time in posting these comments.
I am so happy that you liked our view, landscaping and I am delighted to learn that you found time to relax and enjoy.
Thank you so much for sharing your experience on line. We look forward to welcoming you again in Chiang Rai if your vacation ever bring you to Northern Thailand again.

Kind regards
Chaiporn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Rai hotels
1.7 mi away
Le Patta
Le Patta
#3 of 109 in Chiang Rai
491 reviews
9.8 mi away
A Star Phulare Valley Resort Chiang Rai
1.5 mi away
Nak Nakara
Nak Nakara
#4 of 109 in Chiang Rai
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Legend Chiang Rai
The Legend Chiang Rai
#5 of 109 in Chiang Rai
979 reviews
1.9 mi away
Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai
2.8 mi away
Maryo Resort
Maryo Resort
#1 of 109 in Chiang Rai
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort

Property: Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort
Address: 221/2 Moo 20, Kwaewai Road | Tambon Robwieng, Amphur Muang, Chiang Rai 57000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Chiang Rai
#1 Business Hotel in Chiang Rai
#1 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Rai
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Rai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort occupies an idyllic 26-rai site directly on the banks of the Mae Kok River, moments from Chiang Rai town and a one hour drive from the Golden Triangle where the borders of Thailand, Laos, and Myanmar converge. The resort is set at the heart of beautiful landscaped gardens complete with a tranquil man-made lake and two majestic 100-year-old rain trees. Surrounded by magnificent mountain scenery, the neighbouring community is a jewel waiting to be explored. Nearby attractions include Rai Mae Fah Luang, Le Méridien's chosen UnLock Art site, and Oub Kham Museum which houses a collection of objects from the ancient Lanna kingdom, Myanmar, southwest China, and Vietnam. Nearby attractions include Wat Phra Kaew, the temple that once housed the Emerald Buddha, and the Hill Tribe Education Centre with its fascinating display of tribal artefacts and handicrafts. Boat trips along the Mae Kong River are available from the town of Chiang Khong, with stops along the way at villages of interest. Ethnic groups living in the province include Karen, Lisu, Lahu, Akha, Meo, and Yao, and it is possible to arrange treks into the hill tribe villages with experienced local guides. Mae Sai is 62 kilometres north of Chiang Rai and makes for an interesting day trip. This busy trading post borders Myanmar, and it is possible to cross the bridge to visit the bustling market in Tha Khi Lek. Phu Chi Fa is a spectacular viewpoint. The impressive views are best enjoyed early in the morning, particularly in the cool season when mist covers the valley floor. A highlight to any trip to Chiang Rai is a visit to the Doi Tung Development Project. Started as a royal initiative to help eradicate opium supply, drug use, and rural poverty, the project offers villagers with a practical and sustainable alternative. The project focuses on development, education, training, humanitarian activities, environmental conservation, agriculture, and the production of quality crafts. At the summit of Doi Tung, visitors can visit Phra That Doi Tung, a chedi constructed in 911 A.D and one of the oldest and most sacred sites in northern Thailand. The chedi is said to contain the collarbone of Buddha. Le Méridien Chiang Rai Resort, Thailand is located close to the town centre and a short drive from Chiang Rai Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood APAC, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Chiang Rai Hotel Chiang Rai
Meridien Chiang Rai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing