We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, but lacks of authenticity”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort
Ranked #2 of 109 Hotels in Chiang Rai
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice place, but lacks of authenticity”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We have spent 2 days in Le Meridien Chiang Rai and found it a good base for the excursions we made in this area. Our initial room was nice but had only three beds while our booking was for a family of four people. We asked for a solution to the staff, which was helpful but not very quick in solving this issue. We finally got a nice and confortable room for our family. The freshly cooked breakfast was one of the best we had during our entire holiday (and we had lot’s of very good ones!). The pool is very nice. Overall, this hotel was a good deal but not much more.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Spagos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin_Malcolm, General Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Spagos

I'm disappointed to read your comments about your recent stay at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort. I am looking in to why your room was not assigned correctly initially as well as why we were slow to respond to meet your needs, please accept my apology. I am certainly pleased that we were able to get you and your family in to a comfortable room and you were able to relax and enjoy your holiday.

I definitely agree our breakfast is super, as I receive many comments of similar nature, thanks for recognising our efforts to ensuring our guests start the day well!

Thank you for taking the time to write and make me personally aware of your experience, and even though it's not pleasing to read sometimes, it is certainly invaluable.

Best wishes

Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,046 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,372
    500
    119
    39
    16
See reviews for
411
1,067
103
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Stayed here for 5 nights in August. Reception areas were stunning with views of the river behind. Rooms were large and contemporary in style. Liked the day bed where we could sit and relax with a drink and look out at the river, Breakfast was good with a large choice. Also had a meal at the Italian restaurant which we also enjoyed. Not much happening nearby, there were a few restaurants around but didn't seem to be open but there is a small shop where you can buy drinks etc.Used free shuttle bus to get into the town - book early as places are limited. Free wifi only available in lobby as in most Thai hotels Hope this gets extended into the rooms as it would be a real bonus. A great stay and would quite happily go back again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a great view of the river when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin_Malcolm, General Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Dear AnnNewcastle

It was great having you with us for 5 nights recently, and thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort. The feeling you receive on arrival from our lobby is definitely a calming one, and it really is the hub of our resort. The river framed in the background was a deliberate design element for the resort and it's fantastic you noticed and appreciated it.

I truly appreciate you recommending our resort and I do hope to welcome you back again in the not so distant future.

Best wishes

Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

After landing in a monsoonal storm it was very pleasant arriving at this lovely resort. As has been mentioned, Reception is open-air so is very humid but adds to the atmosphere. Rooms are a LONG way from reception area and corridors and walkways are not very nice but it was a lovely surprise to have such big rooms. The Restaurant staff and F&B Manager were very helpful and he made the effort to meet and greet everyone. Even arranged a table for us during a special event that we weren't aware of. Italian restaurant also excellent. If you want air conditioning, go the Bar! Freezing but worth it for the cocktail of the month. Lucky for us we got stuck at the pool bar every evening during the thunderstorm and what a delight to be served by an efficient and super friendly lady called Gift - what a gift she is to the establishment. Only picky thing was the distance and the room doors banging with a force. Hotel organised tours a bit expensive but saved the hassle.

Room Tip: Ask to be nearer reception if mobility is an issue (also stairs and lifts involved)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewcastleCatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin_Malcolm, General Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Dear NewcastleCatty

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort. I noticed you commented about the room being far from our hub space, and as you know we are a large resort sitting on approximately 11 acres riverside. I do think this space provides for an extremely tranquil experience though, regardless of whether we're busy or not, with each guest having enough space to escape and truly unwind without feeling crowded. The team and I walk the resort frequently and I can say it definitely keeps us fit!

Thank you for recognising our restaurant associates, Renaud (our Director of Food + Beverage) and his team do a superb job in taking care of our guests and Gift is a gem. We feel very proud to have her as a valued member of our team, I'll make sure she gets a copy of your review personally as I know she'll be thrilled.

I'm now looking closely at your comment about the doors banging, and think I've found a solution to assist alleviate it as I found anumber of doors that are doing so, I appreciate you letting me know.

We hope to see you again soon.

Best wishes

Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We just celebrated a family reunion at this hotel. We stayed for 2 nights, which at the end seemed very short. We booked 3 rooms of which the hotel was nice to upgrade 2 of our rooms, all the rooms have plenty of space and the decor is very nice. Kids had good fun at the pool, which is big sized.There is not much activity for children though.

The hotel is built is built in a peaceful/quiet location of the city about 10-15 minutes away from the market and city center. They have a free shuttle service to the night market which is very convenient.

Even though we were provided with excellent service, wanted to recognize the efforts of a select few. June the hotel SPG Champion was a big help in getting us really nice rooms with good views, we had to shorten our stay for personal reasons and I appreciated the fact that she gladly did it without any fuss.We received exceptional help from Mr. Arnon P, the Chief Concierge, who helped us make plans for visiting nearby tourist attractions and also for arranging hotel transfers and bus tickets to Bangkok.Eddy, the Guest Service agent provided us with all the information, and answers to all our queries.Eddy spent a lot of time with us and we were very thankful to him.


It was a very good trip and we were glad that we stayed at this hotel. My thanks to all the staff for making this memorable.

Room Tip: Rooms with view of River and Pool are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandeep C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin_Malcolm, General Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Dear Sandeep C

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort. I'm absolutely delighted to read of the service you received from June, Eddy and Arnon, and agree they are wonderful members of our team, I truly appreciate you recognising their efforts in your review, I'll be sure to pass your praise on to them.

I'm so pleased you chose Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort as the place to reunite your family and hope you have the chance to return again in the future.

All the best

Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

Beside the fact that to reach the hotel you must navigate small potholed roads, once you arrive there one wonder how such a beautiful place can be there.
The reception area is large and of course it is open, which in humid days is not pleasant, but then one must feel for the staff that must enduring it all day long. The front desk staff and concierge were fantastic as was the food and beverage ones. The pool and grounds are pleasant with the pool having a very interesting concept of interconnecting pools.
The two main problems are the fact that there is no freefloor Wifi in the room, it is available in the public area but not by the pool, but mostly the cleaning staff is certainly not to the standard of Le Meridien or for that matter any 4-5 stars hotel. Bread crumbs remaining on the floor even after "cleaning" spiderwebs. On the walls in the rooms, toilet not cleaned properly during the stay....
Except for these points, very nice hotel. ( also, i know this is not a "family " destination) but some efforts were made to cater for younger guests, penguin club and library books.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank mayhemQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin_Malcolm, General Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Dear mayhem Q

Many thanks for posting a review of your recent experience at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort. I'm pleased we were able to surprise you on arrival with the resort's beauty as well as our wonderful associates.

I understand your comments about the public road from the airport and in the interest of the Province providing a good first impression, I've gone ahead and shared your comments with the Provincial Government of Chiang Rai.

I'm sorry about the level of Housekeeping services you experienced, it's quite odd for me to receive such comment. I've taken immediate follow up with our teams to make sure we address your concerns and I thank you for pointing this out to me.

We received an award recently for the top 10 family & recreational resorts in Asia and appreciate you recognising our efforts to look after our younger guests.

Best wishes

Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Le Meridien Chiang Rai is a medium sized resort. The premises are beautiful. We had a De Luxe Room which was really spacious and modernly and tastefully furnished. A spacious bathroom with a large walk-in shower. The bed was very comfortable which garanteed a nice nightrest. The room had a big terrace overlooking the pool. By evening and nighttime it was great to stay there.
Due to perfect management everything runs well in this hotel. The general manager and the food and beverage manager are very present and involved with the well being of the guests. They take good notice of you. The staffmembers as well are concerned about you. They were always polite and helpful.
The breakfastbuffet is great. We took part of the sunday brunch which was absolutely fabulous. The flight of wines was a real flight. The food was delicious. At lunchtime you can eat marvellously for extreme reasonable prices. The food in the Italian restaurant was great. The poolservice is pleasant and efficient.
The hotel is a perfect starting point for excursions. For ex to the golden triangle.
We highly recommand this hotel. Everything is well overthere and everything runs well. No wonder that we extended our stay of 3 nights with three nights more.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaiporn, Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Dear robnl

You are very kind. Thank you for this great review. I am delighted to know that you enjoyed your visit to our resort – and thank you for your time in posting these comments.

The management team was especially pleased to read your glowing review and thank you for giving me the opportunity to recognize their great work.

Your comments regarding service are a joy to read. Whenever we receive a Trip Advisor review, we always share it with our hotel team at the daily morning meeting. The team beamed when they heard your warm words. Thank you for highlighting the breakfast buffet as well as the Sunday Brunch at Latest Recipe. I am delighted that we made your stay special and memorable.

I do hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you again in the Lanna kingdom again.
Thank you again for your kind comments.
Sincere regards
Chaiporn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Only 5 minutes from the airport, Le Meridien Chiang Rai is a charming greenscape of relaxation with the nature theme carefully integrated into every aspect of the resort. Green expanses of the grounds and the river running by, give the resort a refreshing and beautiful setting. The deluxe room was big and comfortable, with a lovely view of the lawns and easy access to the lobby. Their spa was the highlight of a luxurious treatment with scrubs, massages and complimentary sweet beverages. Particularly impressed with the attention to details and thoughtful service rendered by the staff. Their friendliness and attentive service make the stay an absolute delight.

Room Tip: Deluxe room is a highly accessible distance from the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GLim12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaiporn, Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Dear GLim12

Thank you for taking the time to write and post this review – much appreciated. It is kind of you to highlight relaxation with the nature theme at our resort.
Thank you for highlighting the service you received during your stay. We always read out and share any guest comments – and the team was delighted to receive your positive endorsement of service, our guest rooms and especially regarding Parvati spa. Thank you for making their day.
I do hope that we may the pleasure of welcoming you back to Chiang Rai again in the future.

With kind regards
Chaiporn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Rai hotels
1.7 mi away
Le Patta
Le Patta
#3 of 109 in Chiang Rai
491 reviews
9.8 mi away
A Star Phulare Valley Resort Chiang Rai
1.5 mi away
Nak Nakara
Nak Nakara
#4 of 109 in Chiang Rai
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Legend Chiang Rai
The Legend Chiang Rai
#5 of 109 in Chiang Rai
978 reviews
1.9 mi away
Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai
2.8 mi away
Maryo Resort
Maryo Resort
#1 of 109 in Chiang Rai
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort

Property: Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort
Address: 221/2 Moo 20, Kwaewai Road | Tambon Robwieng, Amphur Muang, Chiang Rai 57000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Rai
#1 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Rai
#1 Spa Hotel in Chiang Rai
#1 Business Hotel in Chiang Rai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort occupies an idyllic 26-rai site directly on the banks of the Mae Kok River, moments from Chiang Rai town and a one hour drive from the Golden Triangle where the borders of Thailand, Laos, and Myanmar converge. The resort is set at the heart of beautiful landscaped gardens complete with a tranquil man-made lake and two majestic 100-year-old rain trees. Surrounded by magnificent mountain scenery, the neighbouring community is a jewel waiting to be explored. Nearby attractions include Rai Mae Fah Luang, Le Méridien's chosen UnLock Art site, and Oub Kham Museum which houses a collection of objects from the ancient Lanna kingdom, Myanmar, southwest China, and Vietnam. Nearby attractions include Wat Phra Kaew, the temple that once housed the Emerald Buddha, and the Hill Tribe Education Centre with its fascinating display of tribal artefacts and handicrafts. Boat trips along the Mae Kong River are available from the town of Chiang Khong, with stops along the way at villages of interest. Ethnic groups living in the province include Karen, Lisu, Lahu, Akha, Meo, and Yao, and it is possible to arrange treks into the hill tribe villages with experienced local guides. Mae Sai is 62 kilometres north of Chiang Rai and makes for an interesting day trip. This busy trading post borders Myanmar, and it is possible to cross the bridge to visit the bustling market in Tha Khi Lek. Phu Chi Fa is a spectacular viewpoint. The impressive views are best enjoyed early in the morning, particularly in the cool season when mist covers the valley floor. A highlight to any trip to Chiang Rai is a visit to the Doi Tung Development Project. Started as a royal initiative to help eradicate opium supply, drug use, and rural poverty, the project offers villagers with a practical and sustainable alternative. The project focuses on development, education, training, humanitarian activities, environmental conservation, agriculture, and the production of quality crafts. At the summit of Doi Tung, visitors can visit Phra That Doi Tung, a chedi constructed in 911 A.D and one of the oldest and most sacred sites in northern Thailand. The chedi is said to contain the collarbone of Buddha. Le Méridien Chiang Rai Resort, Thailand is located close to the town centre and a short drive from Chiang Rai Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Chiang Rai Hotel Chiang Rai
Meridien Chiang Rai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing