We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,469)
Filter reviews
2,469 results
Traveler rating
1,712
565
129
42
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,712
565
129
42
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsitalian restaurantlatest recipethe rivergrand deluxe roomspg platinumold treesinfinity poolbeautiful hotelgolden trianglekids clubbreakfast buffetmain restaurantthe general managerclose to the airportluxury hotelshuttle busbeautiful grounds
Filter
Updating list...
1,150 - 1,155 of 2,469 reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Beside the fact that to reach the hotel you must navigate small potholed roads, once you arrive there one wonder how such a beautiful place can be there.
The reception area is large and of course it is open, which in humid days is not pleasant, but then one must feel for the staff that must enduring it all day long. The front desk staff and concierge were fantastic as was the food and beverage ones. The pool and grounds are pleasant with the pool having a very interesting concept of interconnecting pools.
The two main problems are the fact that there is no freefloor Wifi in the room, it is available in the public area but not by the pool, but mostly the cleaning staff is certainly not to the standard of Le Meridien or for that matter any 4-5 stars hotel. Bread crumbs remaining on the floor even after "cleaning" spiderwebs. On the walls in the rooms, toilet not cleaned properly during the stay....
Except for these points, very nice hotel. ( also, i know this is not a "family " destination) but some efforts were made to cater for younger guests, penguin club and library books.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank mayhemQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin_Malcolm, General Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2012

Dear mayhem Q

Many thanks for posting a review of your recent experience at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort. I'm pleased we were able to surprise you on arrival with the resort's beauty as well as our wonderful associates.

I understand your comments about the public road from the airport and in the interest of the Province providing a good first impression, I've gone ahead and shared your comments with the Provincial Government of Chiang Rai.

I'm sorry about the level of Housekeeping services you experienced, it's quite odd for me to receive such comment. I've taken immediate follow up with our teams to make sure we address your concerns and I thank you for pointing this out to me.

We received an award recently for the top 10 family & recreational resorts in Asia and appreciate you recognising our efforts to look after our younger guests.

Best wishes

Justin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Le Meridien Chiang Rai is a medium sized resort. The premises are beautiful. We had a De Luxe Room which was really spacious and modernly and tastefully furnished. A spacious bathroom with a large walk-in shower. The bed was very comfortable which garanteed a nice nightrest. The room had a big terrace overlooking the pool. By evening and nighttime it was great to stay there.
Due to perfect management everything runs well in this hotel. The general manager and the food and beverage manager are very present and involved with the well being of the guests. They take good notice of you. The staffmembers as well are concerned about you. They were always polite and helpful.
The breakfastbuffet is great. We took part of the sunday brunch which was absolutely fabulous. The flight of wines was a real flight. The food was delicious. At lunchtime you can eat marvellously for extreme reasonable prices. The food in the Italian restaurant was great. The poolservice is pleasant and efficient.
The hotel is a perfect starting point for excursions. For ex to the golden triangle.
We highly recommand this hotel. Everything is well overthere and everything runs well. No wonder that we extended our stay of 3 nights with three nights more.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaiporn, Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2012

Dear robnl

You are very kind. Thank you for this great review. I am delighted to know that you enjoyed your visit to our resort – and thank you for your time in posting these comments.

The management team was especially pleased to read your glowing review and thank you for giving me the opportunity to recognize their great work.

Your comments regarding service are a joy to read. Whenever we receive a Trip Advisor review, we always share it with our hotel team at the daily morning meeting. The team beamed when they heard your warm words. Thank you for highlighting the breakfast buffet as well as the Sunday Brunch at Latest Recipe. I am delighted that we made your stay special and memorable.

I do hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you again in the Lanna kingdom again.
Thank you again for your kind comments.
Sincere regards
Chaiporn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Only 5 minutes from the airport, Le Meridien Chiang Rai is a charming greenscape of relaxation with the nature theme carefully integrated into every aspect of the resort. Green expanses of the grounds and the river running by, give the resort a refreshing and beautiful setting. The deluxe room was big and comfortable, with a lovely view of the lawns and easy access to the lobby. Their spa was the highlight of a luxurious treatment with scrubs, massages and complimentary sweet beverages. Particularly impressed with the attention to details and thoughtful service rendered by the staff. Their friendliness and attentive service make the stay an absolute delight.

Room Tip: Deluxe room is a highly accessible distance from the lobby.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GLim12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaiporn, Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2012

Dear GLim12

Thank you for taking the time to write and post this review – much appreciated. It is kind of you to highlight relaxation with the nature theme at our resort.
Thank you for highlighting the service you received during your stay. We always read out and share any guest comments – and the team was delighted to receive your positive endorsement of service, our guest rooms and especially regarding Parvati spa. Thank you for making their day.
I do hope that we may the pleasure of welcoming you back to Chiang Rai again in the future.

With kind regards
Chaiporn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We were upgraded to an oversized deluxe room, and it was really huge... I'd say even too big! with 2 queen-size beds and a huge bathroom with both a full-size bathtub and a big big shower! Real luxury! However, the shuttle bus service is a joke: we were left at the shopping centre once (even though we had booked the pick-up / at least they offered us a free airport transfer to apologize for it), you always had too book it in advance, even for return trips (otherwise it wouldn't even show up), and it only run every 2 hours... Would it cost them too much to have one every half hour and that comes into town for pick-ups even if there are no bookings?
Anyway, the hotel itself is gorgeous: lovely gardens and scenic swimming pool, luxury room and bathroom... Go if you want to splurge without spending a fortune!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BbVaSb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaiporn, Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2012

Dear VaSb

Thank you for taking the time to post this review – and for your kind comments. I am so happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us – and I do appreciate the extra time that you took to make some constructive comments – these are always welcome.

I apologise that the Shuttle Van was missed to pick you up from the shopping center during your stay. I am not proud to know when we failed to delight a guest. I am however always grateful for the feedback so that we can learn, improve , and do better next time. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused.

Guest feedback is a wonderful gift – and I thank you again for yours. I do hope that we may have the opportunity to welcome you in Chiang Rai again in the future.

Kind regards
Chaiporn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We were greeted by the GM when we arrived. He made a point to shake everyone's hand upon arrival.. and we were led to our room with a hotel host. We spent 2 nights here for a wedding and had a first class experience! The rooms were a nice size, vaulted ceilings, really nice large bathrooms with all the amenities that come with FIVE STARS. 24 hour room service...The hotel food was excellent, buffet style for the wedding rehearsal dinner. All three meals we had were exceptional. The infinity pools and views onto the mountains + river made a great setting. Loved the service. I worked out at their fitness center on one of the days and it was great. It had all the necessary machines and cardio. I hear the spa was exceptional, but we ran out of time to have a thai massage. Would definitely book another trip here if we come back to Chiang Rai.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on a high floor overlooking the pool and mountains!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jplfilm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin_Malcolm, General Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

Dear jplfilm

It was wonderful meeting you recently during your visit at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort, and thank you for taking the time to write about your experience. I'm absolutely thrilled to read you loved the resort and the service provided whilst you were with us, and I know our team will be so pleased to hear of your comments. In particular your feedback on the exceptional food provided by our Culinary team will be warmly received as I know the team went to great efforts to provide an unforgetable evening. Thanks for recognising them.

I do hope you have time the visit us again, and if so please let me know as I'd love to catch up with you again.

Very best wishes

Justin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews