We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful peaceful luxury hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort
Ranked #3 of 108 Hotels in Chiang Rai
Certificate of Excellence
Lancashire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Wonderful peaceful luxury hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

Had four days here from 1st June. Gorgeous river view deluxe room with lovely balcony. Lots of space in room comfy bed,great bathroom & good aircon.Nice lobby area. Lovely spaces around the hotel,felt very open & airy. The whole design in fact is wonderful. I loved it!!!
Only small complaint is that you had to pay for wifi in the room,but I could go just outside the room for free wifi? Seemed a bit pointless & all of the other hotels we stayed in had free wifi,but not such a big deal.Plus towels could do with an upgrade, again not a big deal.
They let us have a late check out without any problems,Eddie was great on reception & a very helpful young man.All the staff were lovely & very helpful. They also arranged for us to use the free shuttle to drop us off at the bus station rather than charging us for the hotel car,it was pouring with rain & they took great care of us.
We had a nice meal in the Italian restaurant on our first night & had a few cocktails at the happy hour in the bar,very nice.
Wonderful breakfast area,we ate outside every morning. Service was very good,came to check on us if we needed more coffee etc. Plenty of choice at breakfast.
Pool area very nice,right on the river so peaceful & serene.
All I can say is I wish I was there right now. We shall be back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lilly6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Dear lilly6

Thank you for taking your time to write a review on our property. I am very happy to hear that you had a very good time at our hotel – I will pass this good news on to my associates! Eddie will be very happy when he hear your positive comment about his service.

In regards to the wifi chareges, I would like to inform you that the services have been made to ensure we remain competitive with our competitors in Chiang Rai. However we will go back to review this again.

Furthermore, our resort recognizes the fact that breakfast is the most important meal of the day and thus, takes great care in preparing it – our food is prepared with the use of fresh produce, juices are freshly made and our coffee bean is illy only.

We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel whenever your travels take you to Chiang Rai again.

Chaiporn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,942 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,292
    482
    115
    37
    16
See reviews for
391
1,013
95
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

I have very high expectations of the Le Meridien chain and of the broader Starwood brand, and we were impressed by this expansive resort.

Staff and service were all superb and the grounds were beautiful. Our room did show a few signs of wear and tear but overall the hotel was well-maintained.

Try one of their fresh mojitos at the bar by the river!

The one inconvenience was the location. While the tranquil resort away from the town provides peace and quiet, it is an inconvenient location from which to explore Chiang Rai and the Golden Triangle. It is about an 8 minute drive from Chiang Rai but taxis to and from were a complete rip off at around 200 baht. The hotel shuttle only ran every 2 hours, but I think it should be running every hour for the convenience of the guests. Ideally, I would choose to either stay in town or go for the very remote and stay up by the Golden Triangle.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dcbkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Dear dcbkk

Thank you for your review. I have shared with my associates, they were very happy when heard your warm words.

Your comments regarding our location, we would like the guests to relax and explore some of our local elements of art in a timeless surrounding and enjoy the gift of time in a place where true relief. You would be glad to know that we actually provide 4 daily shuttle bus services into and back from downtown Chiang Rai.

In regards to the price of the Taxi, the prices have been made to ensure we remain competitive with our competitors in Chiang Rai. However, I would be more than happy to review it again.

Hopefully during you next visit to Chiang Rai, you would consider our hotel again! Please allow me to personally see to your booking and welcoming.

Best regards
Chaiporn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
72 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

I can't see how anyone can think this property is anything but wonderful and I'm not that easy to please. We are staying here at the moment and right from the beginning it's been fabulous.
we upgraded to a grand deluxe room for an extra 2000 baht per night. This gives us a much larger room with superb views, a walk in wardrobe about the size of a tiny bedroom, a huge balcony and huge bathroom. also includes full buffet breakfast and free wifi ( which our entry level rooms did not include) . You also are given a voucher for a free illy coffee at any of the bars or restaurants each day. It's definitely worth the upgrade if you were planning on having breakfast here anyway.
The restaurant prices are reasonable for a 5 star resort as is the mini bar prices, which is very unusual.
The pool is stunning and the service so far has been excellent.
The fitness centre is great with modern touch screen cardio equipment, plenty of swissballs, free weights, resistance machines etc and also has complimentary bottled water.
This is our second stay here and I would never stay anywhere else in Chiang Rai.
I would never stay anywhere else when in Chiang Rai

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank willtravel44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Dear willtravel44

Your review has posted today on 26 June, so I'm hoping you're still in the resort so I can thank you in person for your wonderurful review. I am thrilled, along with the team, to hear you loved upgrading to the Grand Deluxe rooms and agree the extra space allows you relax that little bit more. As previously mentioned in other replies, our Grand Deluxe rooms are more like studio suites and offer great value for money, thank you for recognising this.

I'll be looking for you tonight as a walk around the restaurants, however if you've already departed please do let me know when you're returning to Chiang Rai so I can meet you in person. I appreciate you taking the time to write about your experience at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort.

Best wishes

Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greer, South Carolina
Level Contributor
153 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

We got a very good deal on this property through the Le Meridien website; we had planned to stay elsewhere but after reading reviews, we decided it might be nice to stay here. Unfortunately, we feel that we should have stuck with our first choice.
We'd had correspondence with the management prior to arrival and it was all very positive. Our pick-up from the airport was flawless and check-in was relatively quick. However, starting the next morning, the problems began.
The hotel had been booked by several big package groups that seemed to take precedence over anyone else staying there. At breakfast, we decided not to take the buffet option, but order a few things a la carte. A cup of coffee was approximately $5usd, which is a bit shocking for anywhere in the world...and you would expect quick refills. However, the staff was completely preoccupied with the package/group guests and we were ignored, even after we flagged down two waiters for refills. Moreover, we ordered a basket of bread and one order of sausage-- the bread came out 15 minutes later and then another 15 minutes until the meat appeared. We tried again the following morning with ordering, but it was all similar results again. Our last morning, we'd gone down to 7-11 and gotten cereal bars/packaged bread to spare our disappointment after paying $30 for a half-hearted and mediocre breakfast.
The room itself was nothing special. The bed was comfortable and the room was quiet. But, the bathroom was less than spotlessly clean. The crevices in the shower were filled with mold and there was a wad of hair stuck in a crack of the ceiling. The hairdryer that was provided did not work in any of the outlets in the bathroom, so we had to use it in the "office" part of the bedroom. The towels looked as if they'd seen their better day years ago; and another day, we arrived after a day of touring and needed to shower and found we had NO towels. A phone call to the housekeeping staff presented a few towels (not complete sets) over a 1/2 hour later.
The shuttle van that the hotel operates had its problems as well. The first night, we sat and waited for one guest for over 15 minutes with no explanation. Then, the following night, we had wanted to go to the Saturday walking street and asked for directions. The driver said, oh, follow these people-- it's close. Turned out that everyone in the van had made it clear that we ALL wanted to go to the walking street, but no extra special effort was made to drop us off nearby (the shuttle point was over a 10 minute walk and it was raining). Luckily, a couple from Bangkok took pity on the rest of the Westerners in the van and we all followed them. Then, that evening, when we returned to pick up the van, lucky for us we were about 10 minutes early-- or otherwise, the driver would have left without us. No regards for a real schedule were made at all with the shuttle service. You cannot walk to and from the property even if you don't mind a couple mile walk-- and tuk tuk drivers know they've "got" you for a fare no less of 150 baht.
The last straw was that one morning we wanted to exchange a few traveler's checks before leaving on tour and came to the lobby 20 minutes prior to our leaving time. There were so many package tour guests "hogging" up the two staff members that we were turned away, being told they were "very busy". We understood that...but that's why we allowed a 20 minute window to exchange a lousy $100 USD. Eventually, someone had a "spare" moment to help us after waiting all that time.
When we checked out of the hotel, my husband mentioned some of the problems we'd had and a token 20% off our food bill was offered. While it was appreciated, it seemed obvious that they did not care about the dirty bathroom and the poor breakfast service. It was a minimal gesture.
We will say that the staff was generally pleasant, but there seems to be a problem with keeping standards and managing crowds/busy times. The poolside staff and bar staff were all very friendly and we had quick service. Additionally, the Favola restaurant was delicious and we had wonderful service there.
Seems all in all, for the amount we paid to stay it was an okay stay. Had we paid rack rate, we would have been extremely angry at the level of service for what is allegedly a 5-star resort.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bonjonsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Dear bonjonsc

I'm extremely disappointed reading your review of our resort regarding your recent visit. First of all I'd like to extend my personal apology for not being able to offer the service you chose the resort for, I will be addressing each of your points with our team to make sure all guest experiences are equally pleasing, regardless if you're traveling in a group or not.

There are clearly a number of areas we can do a better job in, and I thank you for pointing these out to me. I've made a few immediate changes as I think you raise valid points, the most immediate being the implementation of a shuttle bus drop off at the walking street each Saturday night. We're now trialling this additional stop off point and will continue to monitor feedback in order to provide enhancements to our services in this area.

I must take the time to also thank you for recognising our associates poolside and in Favola.

I'm writing to you in a separate email as I wish to see what I can do for you in recognition of your experience, and I look forward to speaking with you directly very shortly.

Best wishes

Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

This is a lovely property. The hotel is a few years old and kept in very good condition. The rooms and modern and luxurious.

The breakfast buffet was outstanding. The pool is very large and set within a lush setting. Hard not to have a great time!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DanBoho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaiporn, Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort, responded to this review, June 10, 2012
Dear DanBoho

Thank you for taking the time to write and post this review – much appreciated. It is kind of you to highlight the rooms, pool and our hotel condition.
Furthermore, our resort recognizes the fact that breakfast is the most important meal of the day and thus, takes great care in preparing it – our food is prepared with the use of fresh produce, juices are freshly made and our coffee bean is illy only.
I do hope that we may the pleasure of welcoming you back to Chiang Rai again in the future.

With kind regards
Chaiporn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

Nice decoration minimal but still cozy. I went there for seminar with a group of 80 people. Meeting room is huge and functional. High quality and tasty coffee break. Staffs are high performance with great service.

Room is so fantastic nice, clean and very warm atmosphere. My favourite is my single bed it's very big, soft touch, comfy with a wonderful pillows. In room balcony also very relaxing, so nice to sit and read there. Fall in love with a very big and elegant tree in the garden.

The pool is very nice I will included this pool to my top 5 most beautiful swimming pool in Thailand. Feel so relaxing while staying in the pool with river view in the morning. Had a big buffet breakfast very variety, fresh and healthy. Love juice mix with veggie shot at the front door. Recommended!!

Room Tip: Rooms at 4 floor have a higher ceiling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thanya H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaiporn, Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort, responded to this review, June 10, 2012
Dear Thanya H

Thank you so much for taking the time to write and post this review…and for your kind and generous comments.
It is kind of you to mention the Le Meridien Bed, pillow and the relaxing of our balcony. These areas continue to get positive feedback from our guests.
I am also delighted to know that you enjoyed our breakfast and coffee. We do take great efforts to make sure that we can offer breakfast dishes to suit every palate.
Thank you again for your kind remarks. I do hope that we may welcome you again at Le Meridien Chiang Rai.
Warm regards
Chaiporn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

Le Meridien Chiang Rai is a beautiful resort. The service level and rooms are what you would expect from a Le Meridien hotel. Rooms are amazingly spacious and beds are comfortable. The breakfast is really good and is changed up a little daily. During my stay was while many of the farmers were burning their fields and the smoke around the hotel along with the tropical heat was a bit much to breath at times. Not due to the hotel, but the surrounding area. The night market is nice to see, though if going to Chiang Mai would wait until then to spend any bahts. This trip was through Gate 1 and they did a great job of choosing hotels!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobalGirl07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin_Malcolm, General Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Dear GlobalGirl07

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort. Your stay must have been in March this year, where it's true, the Province experienced a lot of haze. You'll be pleased to know I personally met with the Governor of the Province to discuss solutions so as to avoid this issue next year, and I'm pleased to say it's being worked on.

I'm very pleased your loved the resort though and what we had to offer. I receive many positive comments about breakfast and Renaud and his team do a great job and making sure each day is a little different. Thank you for also rating all areas of your experience 5 out of 5, I do hope you're able to visit us again in future.

Best wishes

Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Rai hotels
1.9 mi away
Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai
0.9 mi away
The Legend Chiang Rai
The Legend Chiang Rai
#5 of 108 in Chiang Rai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
1.5 mi away
Nak Nakara
Nak Nakara
#4 of 108 in Chiang Rai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Maryo Resort
Maryo Resort
#1 of 108 in Chiang Rai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
9.9 mi away
A Star Phulare Valley Resort Chiang Rai
1.7 mi away
Le Patta
Le Patta
#2 of 108 in Chiang Rai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort

Property: Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort
Address: 221/2 Moo 20, Kwaewai Road | Tambon Robwieng, Amphur Muang, Chiang Rai 57000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Chiang Rai
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Rai
#1 Business Hotel in Chiang Rai
#2 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Rai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort occupies an idyllic 26-rai site directly on the banks of the Mae Kok River, moments from Chiang Rai town and a one hour drive from the Golden Triangle where the borders of Thailand, Laos, and Myanmar converge. The resort is set at the heart of beautiful landscaped gardens complete with a tranquil man-made lake and two majestic 100-year-old rain trees. Surrounded by magnificent mountain scenery, the neighbouring community is a jewel waiting to be explored. Nearby attractions include Rai Mae Fah Luang, Le Méridien's chosen UnLock Art site, and Oub Kham Museum which houses a collection of objects from the ancient Lanna kingdom, Myanmar, southwest China, and Vietnam. Nearby attractions include Wat Phra Kaew, the temple that once housed the Emerald Buddha, and the Hill Tribe Education Centre with its fascinating display of tribal artefacts and handicrafts. Boat trips along the Mae Kong River are available from the town of Chiang Khong, with stops along the way at villages of interest. Ethnic groups living in the province include Karen, Lisu, Lahu, Akha, Meo, and Yao, and it is possible to arrange treks into the hill tribe villages with experienced local guides. Mae Sai is 62 kilometres north of Chiang Rai and makes for an interesting day trip. This busy trading post borders Myanmar, and it is possible to cross the bridge to visit the bustling market in Tha Khi Lek. Phu Chi Fa is a spectacular viewpoint. The impressive views are best enjoyed early in the morning, particularly in the cool season when mist covers the valley floor. A highlight to any trip to Chiang Rai is a visit to the Doi Tung Development Project. Started as a royal initiative to help eradicate opium supply, drug use, and rural poverty, the project offers villagers with a practical and sustainable alternative. The project focuses on development, education, training, humanitarian activities, environmental conservation, agriculture, and the production of quality crafts. At the summit of Doi Tung, visitors can visit Phra That Doi Tung, a chedi constructed in 911 A.D and one of the oldest and most sacred sites in northern Thailand. The chedi is said to contain the collarbone of Buddha. Le Méridien Chiang Rai Resort, Thailand is located close to the town centre and a short drive from Chiang Rai Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood APAC, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Chiang Rai Hotel Chiang Rai
Meridien Chiang Rai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing