We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort
Ranked #2 of 109 Hotels in Chiang Rai
Certificate of Excellence
Lillestrøm, Norge
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice!”
Reviewed August 29, 2011

Everything about the hotel is very, very good.

The staff in general lack some basic training - otherwise it would be a five star hotel, in my opinion. The staff is friendly and do their very best to accomodate you in every way.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anja_Oslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaiporn, Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort, responded to this review, September 7, 2011
Dear Anja_Oslo

It is great news that you found your stay with us a pleasant one! I will be sure to let our team know of your positive feedback about them! Please do let me know if I may ever be of service in the future. I hope to welcome you to Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort again.

Best regards
Chaiporn Inthanil
EAM - Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,050 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,375
    501
    119
    39
    16
See reviews for
412
1,070
103
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Country, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

An amazing hotel. The rooms overlooking the river and pool were fantastic. The furnishings were first class in the room and on the balcony.The business center with its computers and free wifi was great. The pool is a 3 level infinity pool and is huge. There is a pool bar which was very handy. The service and staff were the best. The hotel restaurants were great, food was super. We thought it was odd to find such a first class hotel in this town but we were very pleased. The breakfast choices were beyond anything we have seen before. The chef must be a genius as it was all amazing. We would highly recommend this hotel.

r. W

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the river and pools not the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coldy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaiporn, Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort, responded to this review, September 7, 2011
Dear coldy

I am gladded to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your positive comments noted in the review have been shared with all associates at the resort to further support our aim to deliver exceptional service and to create treasured memories for all guests.

Please do let me know if I may ever be of service in the future. I hope to welcome you to Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort again.

Best regards
Chaiporn Inthanil
EAM - Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Stayed for a couple of nights as part of an overall Thailand trip. Loved the Meridien Chiang Rai... Got upgraded to the deluxe wing, and so found ourselves in lovely rooms that are clean, spacious and well maintained. Service was excellent.. friendly and helpful, and the breakfast buffet was to die for. If you looking for culture, service and peace, this is the place to visit.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaiporn, Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort, responded to this review, September 7, 2011
Dear John H

It is great news that you found your stay with us a pleasant one! This is truly music to our ears. We take great pride in knowing we are doing it right and will continue to provide such uncompromising service to our guests.
Nevertheless, thank you very much for providing us with positive feedback and we truly hope to see you again in the future if you ever decide to visit Chiang Rai again! Please feel free to contact me anytime if you have any questions.

Best regards
Chaiporn Inthanil
EAM - Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
50 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2011

Le Méridien Chiang Rai is a very nice Lanna style resort right next to the River Mae Kok. The property has built a "fake lagoon" around the buildings.

The rooms
The rooms are very spacious, with the typical "windowed" bathroom you often find in Starwood properties. The bed is wonderful. Our room had a terrace facing the river.

The restaurants and bars
The hotel has two bars and two restaurants - an Italian restaurants (Favola) by the river and a buffer / theme restaurant where breakfast is also served.
Having stayed at the property for ten days we would have liked to see an additional restaurant. The resort is trying out new things which is definitely positive. The bento box they served was quite a disappointment, though.
Breakfast was good, with a varied selection to cater different taste palates.

The pool
There's one pool on the resort, divided into three smaller areas. The pool is not heated, and in Chiang Rai it can be rather chilly in the morning. I would warmly recommend the management to consider heating the pool atleast during the winter season.

Spa
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hennessyparadis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaiporn, Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort, responded to this review, September 7, 2011
Dear hennessyparadis

It is fantastic news to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us during your visit to Chiang Rai. Your positive comments about our room, restaurant and bar, pool and Spa have been shared with all associates at the resort to further support our aim to deliver exceptional service and to create treasured memories for all guests.

Please do contact me personally if you have any questions and thank you very much for your delightful review.

Best regards
Chaiporn Inthanil
EAM - Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2011

We were in Le Meridien for 2 days as part of our honeymoon. Everything in the hotel was as expected from a world class hotel (huge & nice room, excellent bed, great breakfast, beautiful swimming pool, great river views, great service, etc.).
I would highlight 2 things that really stood out:
1-The SPA, which we booked as part of a package on Meridien's web site ("Indulgence") and was a very good deal compared to just booking the room (I don't recall exactly but it was around 10 € more and included 1 massage session per person per day, so, 4 x 60 min massage sessions for around 10 € !!). We really liked the SPA's atmosphere and experience.
2- The breakfast buffet was one of the bests I have had in my life (and I've been in many great hotels) with a huge variety and great quality. Highly recommended.

The only thing that was not very convenient in the hotel was the wireless internet connection. Although it was free, it depended on getting little papers with userid/pws that lasted only for an hour. Also, wifi coverage was not good in the rooms. They should improve this, but it was a minor problem for our sort of trip ;-).

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilioFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaiporn, Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort, responded to this review, September 7, 2011
Dear EmilioFM

Thank you for your kind review on our property. It is wonderful to hear that you have had a lovely time at our property. We look forward to hosting you again on your next visit Chiang Rai. If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact me directly or the hotel. Once again, I would like to thank you for your time to post this review and I will be sure to pass your positive feedback to my team!

Best regards
Chaiporn Inthanil
EAM - Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

Rooms were huge and very nice. Had the buffett at the restaurant which was good. There are some restaurants outside the hotel area that are "local" so cheap and a bit dirty but fun. We also took a river boat ride which was great. The landscaping is beatiful and just nice to walk around. Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaiporn, Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort, responded to this review, September 7, 2011
Dear Dom R

We gladly appreciate the time that you took to write the good review about Le Meridien Chiang Rai. Please do let me know if I may ever be of service in the future. I hope to welcome you to Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort again.

With best regards
Chaiporn Inthanil
EAM - Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

Stayed in the resort for 2 nights, and felt so good about picking this place as the B-day gateaway for myself. The staff here is sweet, they are helpful in general, and I had a plate of yummy chocolate cake delivered to my room on B-day night. The location of the resort seems to be in the middle of no where, but it offers free shuttle service to several places downtown, so be sure you get the schedule of it when checking-in.
SPA staff (Parvati Spa) is super friendly and helpful. The overall atmosphere of this SPA is like a lovely ballad, so cozy and relaxing at the same time. Surronded with tropical plants, the air here is illuminated with subtle sweety scent. Tried 3 packages and they are all amazing. The price for the treatments are fairly reasonable, and they range from traditional Thai massage to pedicure. I am pretty sure I'll visit the resort again for the SPA.
Traveling to/from Chiang Rai Airport by taxi is 200 baht each way, the expense shouldn't be higher than this. Let the front desk know if you need them to call one for you.
There are several food stands around the resort.(They are hidden among the small roads) If you are in the mood for some local treats in the night, be sure you go out for them no later than 2130, or they shall be closed.
Anyway, I am very happy about my overall experience.

Room Tip: Remind the staff it's your b-day stay, then there should be great chance for you to have the bes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VitoChen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaiporn, Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort, responded to this review, September 7, 2011
Dear VitoChen

I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your positive comments about services of associates especially Spa staff noted in this review have been shared with all associates at the resort to further support our aim to deliver exceptional service and to create treasured memories for all guests.

Best regards
Chaiporn Inthanil
EAM - Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Rai hotels
1.5 mi away
Nak Nakara
Nak Nakara
#4 of 109 in Chiang Rai
703 reviews
9.8 mi away
A Star Phulare Valley Resort Chiang Rai
1.7 mi away
Le Patta
Le Patta
#3 of 109 in Chiang Rai
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Legend Chiang Rai
The Legend Chiang Rai
#5 of 109 in Chiang Rai
981 reviews
1.9 mi away
Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai
2.8 mi away
Maryo Resort
Maryo Resort
#1 of 109 in Chiang Rai
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort

Property: Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort
Address: 221/2 Moo 20, Kwaewai Road | Tambon Robwieng, Amphur Muang, Chiang Rai 57000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chiang Rai
#1 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Rai
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Rai
#1 Spa Hotel in Chiang Rai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort occupies an idyllic 26-rai site directly on the banks of the Mae Kok River, moments from Chiang Rai town and a one hour drive from the Golden Triangle where the borders of Thailand, Laos, and Myanmar converge. The resort is set at the heart of beautiful landscaped gardens complete with a tranquil man-made lake and two majestic 100-year-old rain trees. Surrounded by magnificent mountain scenery, the neighbouring community is a jewel waiting to be explored. Nearby attractions include Rai Mae Fah Luang, Le Méridien's chosen UnLock Art site, and Oub Kham Museum which houses a collection of objects from the ancient Lanna kingdom, Myanmar, southwest China, and Vietnam. Nearby attractions include Wat Phra Kaew, the temple that once housed the Emerald Buddha, and the Hill Tribe Education Centre with its fascinating display of tribal artefacts and handicrafts. Boat trips along the Mae Kong River are available from the town of Chiang Khong, with stops along the way at villages of interest. Ethnic groups living in the province include Karen, Lisu, Lahu, Akha, Meo, and Yao, and it is possible to arrange treks into the hill tribe villages with experienced local guides. Mae Sai is 62 kilometres north of Chiang Rai and makes for an interesting day trip. This busy trading post borders Myanmar, and it is possible to cross the bridge to visit the bustling market in Tha Khi Lek. Phu Chi Fa is a spectacular viewpoint. The impressive views are best enjoyed early in the morning, particularly in the cool season when mist covers the valley floor. A highlight to any trip to Chiang Rai is a visit to the Doi Tung Development Project. Started as a royal initiative to help eradicate opium supply, drug use, and rural poverty, the project offers villagers with a practical and sustainable alternative. The project focuses on development, education, training, humanitarian activities, environmental conservation, agriculture, and the production of quality crafts. At the summit of Doi Tung, visitors can visit Phra That Doi Tung, a chedi constructed in 911 A.D and one of the oldest and most sacred sites in northern Thailand. The chedi is said to contain the collarbone of Buddha. Le Méridien Chiang Rai Resort, Thailand is located close to the town centre and a short drive from Chiang Rai Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Chiang Rai Hotel Chiang Rai
Meridien Chiang Rai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing