We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So big I got lost... stranded in paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort
Ranked #3 of 108 Hotels in Chiang Rai
Certificate of Excellence
Vietnam
Level Contributor
113 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“So big I got lost... stranded in paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2011

I found staff and gM to be very friendly, attentive and great attitude. Impressed by giant modern gym. The facilities are huge and spread out...sometimes a long walk to find room. I couldn't find elevator and got lost a few times. Room-modern, interesting ceiling design, great views of river. Really enjoyed the homemade chocolate gift when I arrived in the room. Bed and pillows comfy and slept like a baby. Big pool, bar on river was a bonus. My favorite thing was the breakfast...they had 5 different types of unusual juices (like lemon grass!)... something special and different! They also had shots of wheatgrass/concentrated fruit during breakfast. It is a little bit out of town and we had to pay quite a bit to tuk tuk to get back to the hotel. If you say La Meridien the price increases exponentially cause they think you are super rich!! Bargain hard!! The hotel makes you feel important and a somebody. It isn't quite a thai feeling...although if you like a modern hotel once in awhile with a breakfast to power the rest of your day...then this hotel is highly recommended!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Starhawk029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin_Malcolm, General Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2011
Dear Starhawk029

It was lovely meeting you recently during your recent visit, thank you for taking the time to write about your experience. I have to admit, I love the title of your review.

We get great comments about our breakfast and I'm pleased this was also a highlight of your day. Our culinary team have worked hard recently to add more variety to our offering, they were thrilled to hear your feedback.

All the best and I look forward to welcoming you back someday soon.

Best wishes

Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,944 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,294
    482
    115
    37
    16
See reviews for
392
1,014
95
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
PA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

It is absolutely gorgeous. The resort is settled in a rural, luscious, area by the river. It is new, clean, modern, beautifully decorated and the service is wonderful. Resort employees are so polite and nice. It is incredibly relaxing. The breakfast buffet AMAZING - they have all types of exotic jams and juices. My mouth is watering just thinking about it:) I would return here in a heartbeat. Great job to the hotel, keep up the excellent work.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kauai1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaiporn, Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort, responded to this review, June 23, 2011
Dear Kauai1234

It is great news that you found your stay with us a pleasant one! This is truly music to our ears. We take great pride in knowing we are doing it right and will continue to provide such uncompromising service to our guests.
Thank you very much for providing us with this very good feedback and we truly hope to see you again in the future if you ever decide to visit Chiang Rai again! Please feel free to contact me anytime if you have any questions.

Best regards
Chaiporn Inthanil
Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2011

I stayed with a friend at the Le Meridian Chiang Rai. It is an amazing hotel with a beautiful layout. The staff were lovely and the food we experienced in the restaurant was fantastic. When I travel back to Chiang Rai it will definitely be my accommodation of choice.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Enigmaraff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaiporn, Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort, responded to this review, June 23, 2011
Dear Enigmaraff

Thank you for your positive comments. It was a great pleasure to have you as our guest and to hear that our services made your stay a memorable one and if we have passed your expectations, I feel much relieved.

Please do let me know if I may ever be of service in the future.

Warm regards
Chaiporn Inthanil
Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
162 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 536 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2011

Big comfy, luxurious room with big bath looking out to room if you like.
Beautiful patio with excellent furnishings.

Pool area and entire property so scenic and relaxing.

Only drawback is distance from town, but shuttle available.

Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank kitchenchemist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaiporn, Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort, responded to this review, June 23, 2011
Dear kitchenchemist

Thank you for your kind review on our property. It is wonderful to hear that you have had a lovely time with us.

Please do let me know if I may ever be of service in the future.
I hope to welcome you to Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort again.

With warm regards
Chaiporn Inthanil
Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
187 reviews
162 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2011

We loved the hotel and its setting on the river, as a base for exploring Chiang Rai. Our bedroom was large, comfortable and stylishly decorated. The shuttle bus was good, and its driver was the stand-out staff member during our stay.

Our only reservation was a very uncomfortable attempt at up-selling during check-in. We brought our discomfort to the attention of one of the senior managers, called Renaud. He said he would deal with it and get back to us. Two days later we reminded him again, but again no response was forthcoming. A black mark for management, as this unfortunately affected our attitude throughout our stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RoRoBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaiporn, Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort, responded to this review, June 23, 2011
Dear “RoRoBrisbane”,

It is fantastic news to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us during your visit to Chiang Rai.

I was also sorry to hear of your disappointing experience – and to learnt that you were uncomfortable during your reservation and check in. I am not proud to know when we failed to delight a guest. I am however always grateful for the feedback so that we can learn, improve , change and do better next time. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused.

Hopefully on your next visit to Chiang Rai you would allow us the honour of hosting you again. Please do contact me personally if you have any questions and thank you very much for your delightful review.

With best regards
Chaiporn Inthanil
Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
66 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2011

I stayed here one night on an overnight trip to Chiang Rai from Chiang Mai and it was great. Wish I could have stayed longer, it was the perfect relaxing retreat from the busy city. The pool area was gorgeous and so relaxing. The room was great and had modern furnishings and decor. Wish there was breakfast included. Although everything was very clean, the edges inside the shower stall were a bit grimy.

There does not seem to be too much to do in Chiang Rai however, and I was not too impressed with the Golden Triangle. I do not recommend going to Myanmar to shop at the market unless you are interested in fake bags and otherwise generic junk. No handicrafts or anything specific to the area to buy there at all.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caesar52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaiporn, Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort, responded to this review, June 23, 2011
Dear “caesar52”

Thank you for your kind review on our property. It is wonderful to hear that you have had a lovely time at our property.

We look forward to hosting you again on your next visit Chiang Rai. If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact me directly or the hotel. Once again, I would like to thank you for your time to post this review and I will be sure to pass your positive feedback to my team!

With best regards
Chaiporn Inthanil
Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangkok
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2011

We stayed here for 3 days in december 2010 . The room are great comfortable , no free wi-fi in the room. Food was also great - breakfast had a great buffet selection.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chokdeebangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin_Malcolm, General Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort, responded to this review, June 1, 2011
Dear chokdeebangkok

Thank you for taking to write briefly about your experience last Decemeber, certainly a nice time of year to visit. We get many great comments on our breakfast buffet and I'm pleased you also liked our selection, our team certianly do a great job. I've passed your feedback on to you team so they're aware of how pleased you were.

Many thanks

Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Rai hotels
0.9 mi away
The Legend Chiang Rai
The Legend Chiang Rai
#5 of 108 in Chiang Rai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
1.9 mi away
Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai
1.5 mi away
Nak Nakara
Nak Nakara
#4 of 108 in Chiang Rai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Maryo Resort
Maryo Resort
#1 of 108 in Chiang Rai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
9.8 mi away
A Star Phulare Valley Resort Chiang Rai
1.7 mi away
Le Patta
Le Patta
#2 of 108 in Chiang Rai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort

Property: Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort
Address: 221/2 Moo 20, Kwaewai Road | Tambon Robwieng, Amphur Muang, Chiang Rai 57000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Chiang Rai
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Rai
#1 Business Hotel in Chiang Rai
#2 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Rai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort occupies an idyllic 26-rai site directly on the banks of the Mae Kok River, moments from Chiang Rai town and a one hour drive from the Golden Triangle where the borders of Thailand, Laos, and Myanmar converge. The resort is set at the heart of beautiful landscaped gardens complete with a tranquil man-made lake and two majestic 100-year-old rain trees. Surrounded by magnificent mountain scenery, the neighbouring community is a jewel waiting to be explored. Nearby attractions include Rai Mae Fah Luang, Le Méridien's chosen UnLock Art site, and Oub Kham Museum which houses a collection of objects from the ancient Lanna kingdom, Myanmar, southwest China, and Vietnam. Nearby attractions include Wat Phra Kaew, the temple that once housed the Emerald Buddha, and the Hill Tribe Education Centre with its fascinating display of tribal artefacts and handicrafts. Boat trips along the Mae Kong River are available from the town of Chiang Khong, with stops along the way at villages of interest. Ethnic groups living in the province include Karen, Lisu, Lahu, Akha, Meo, and Yao, and it is possible to arrange treks into the hill tribe villages with experienced local guides. Mae Sai is 62 kilometres north of Chiang Rai and makes for an interesting day trip. This busy trading post borders Myanmar, and it is possible to cross the bridge to visit the bustling market in Tha Khi Lek. Phu Chi Fa is a spectacular viewpoint. The impressive views are best enjoyed early in the morning, particularly in the cool season when mist covers the valley floor. A highlight to any trip to Chiang Rai is a visit to the Doi Tung Development Project. Started as a royal initiative to help eradicate opium supply, drug use, and rural poverty, the project offers villagers with a practical and sustainable alternative. The project focuses on development, education, training, humanitarian activities, environmental conservation, agriculture, and the production of quality crafts. At the summit of Doi Tung, visitors can visit Phra That Doi Tung, a chedi constructed in 911 A.D and one of the oldest and most sacred sites in northern Thailand. The chedi is said to contain the collarbone of Buddha. Le Méridien Chiang Rai Resort, Thailand is located close to the town centre and a short drive from Chiang Rai Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood APAC, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Chiang Rai Hotel Chiang Rai
Meridien Chiang Rai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing