We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MET OUR NEEDS”
Review of The North Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The North Hotel
Ranked #40 of 108 Hotels in Chiang Rai
Pinjarra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“MET OUR NEEDS”
Reviewed November 29, 2010

The hotel met our needs to be inside our budget, clean, quiet and comfortable with A/C. Even though we only stayed 1 night, we found the staff helpful and friendly. We booked by email (add Email Address: ---) www.thenorth.co.th. It’s located behind the old bus station from where local buses depart, including the bus to Chiang Khong on the Laos border. We were a bit apprehensive at first because the area was behind the markets and looked a bit run down and “seedy” but it was fine. The bare concrete floor on the whole of the 1st floor was unusual – one wondered if it was part of a plan to install new floor coverings throughout!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob-Carol-Pinjarra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    45
    31
    18
    11
See reviews for
8
50
27
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2010

very very nice hotel. clear and modern, with european mood (like the piano bar) and oriental style. so beautiful the hall with dark wood everywhere, nice rooms not very big but comfortable. bath amenities were so aprecieted. a lovely terrace with pillows, candle and fresh fruit where enjoy the night breeze. the owner is a kind man from boston that loves music and marmelade. the owner's cat is so sweet.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silviaclodia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2010

Modern hotel with small rooms, close to every thing you need (markets, night bazaar, bus stop)

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fila_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2010

This hotel is wonderful, very nicely decorated, and the owner and the staff are very kind and helpful. The hotel is well situated, near the bus station and the night bazaar. On week-ends, there is great live music at night. The rooms are confortable and cosy even though a bit small. But it is a great value for the price. On the higher level, there is a huge room with terrace, great view and outdoor shower. Overall, I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Montreal_CanadaMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 16, 2010

Clean, elegant, friendly and cheap. Certainly one of the best place where to stay in Chang Rai and in Thailand. They gave me a top floor suite with a magnificent view to the town, terrace with outdoor shower, living room. they organize for me the trip on the Mekong river without any commission via a friend (cheaper the local travel agencies) and I spent a good night with live misic and good company. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SalvoRusso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2010

We stayed at the North for 2 nights in May.

I don’t expect much for a budget hotel but the room was not the cleanest which is a shame as the Thai Owner was very friendly, helped us with anything and everything that we needed. We also found the room to be quite noisy at night due to the Night Bazaar, the noise stopped about 1am but after a long day of touring a good night’s sleep is top priority!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimmy80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2010

I've stayed at The North Hotel a few times. It is a small hotel in the city centre of Chiang Rai, just next to the old bus station and night market, giving it an extremely convenient location. The hotel is managed by Thai and Norwegian owners. Although I did not meet the Norwegian owner, the Thai owner is very friendly and helpful. He makes you feel very welcome. You can see both Northern Thai / Karen/Hmong and Norwegian influences throughout the place. Comparing The North to other places I've stayed and looked at in Chiang Rai, The North represents a very good value. I believe that The North may have undergone some renovations since some other reviews. The rooms are small and basic, but they are not typical backpacker styles. They are nicely designed, with decent furniture. Our room even shared a nice patio with the room next door. As a result, I would not call this a typical backpacker establishment. Usually, backpackers tend to go for cheaper places. I would say this place is somewhere in the middle - a cheaper yet better option. During the high season it appears that a room will cost you around 900/1000 baht. This rate includes breakfast. However, if you opt out of the breakfast the price can range around 650 baht. They also probably have cheaper rates during the low season. This is a very good price when you compare it to other places charging 450 baht for a much less pleasant room. In addition, the breakfast is probably best avoided anyway. It was very basic and not really worth it. In the end, I will definitely stay again at The North and certainly will recommend it to someone looking for a better but not expensive option in Chiang Rai. For 650 baht, it certainly deserves 5 stars.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MisterTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Rai hotels
0.7 mi away
Lek House
Lek House
#48 of 108 in Chiang Rai
90 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ben Guesthouse
Ben Guesthouse
#16 of 108 in Chiang Rai
212 reviews
0.7 mi away
Golden land hotel
Golden land hotel
#64 of 108 in Chiang Rai
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Meesuk Residence
Meesuk Residence
#24 of 108 in Chiang Rai
22 reviews
17.3 mi away
Rimchan Resort Hotel
Rimchan Resort Hotel
#57 of 108 in Chiang Rai
5 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Belle Hotel
La Belle Hotel
#34 of 108 in Chiang Rai
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The North Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The North Hotel

Property: The North Hotel
Address: 612/100-101 Sirikorn Market, Chiang Rai, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 108 Hotels in Chiang Rai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The North Hotel is a small, family-and-friends-run hotel in the city centre of Chiang Rai. We aim at giving our guests good quality and personal service for a reasonable price. We are centrally located in a quiet street with the bus station and The Night Bazaar in one end, and Sirikorn [silikon] Market, the fruit and flower market on the other. We are also within walking distance from everywhere in downtown Chiang Rai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your The North Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Hotel Chiang Rai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing