We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dorms are hot/ boiling”
Review of The North Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The North Hotel
Ranked #42 of 108 Hotels in Chiang Rai
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Splash out get a Room, the dorms are painfully hot and you won't sleep and there on the top floor so that's annoying. Get air con, so close to bus station and everything else. I liked it ! The staff are super unhelpful and the wifi doesn't work really except in the lobby. I did think it was clean and the building is nice and it was a nice walk to the night markets

Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank hannah s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 135 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2013

Booked the dorm in The North Hotel because it was in the lonely planet. The first minute I came in, there was this guy just sitting and hanging watching in pc screen. I was too much at that moment. He didn't even look at me. Just showed the way to the stairs. The dorm was on the roof of the building which was way to hot to sleep in. Floor was very dirty, bathroom with lots of hair en indefinable substances, the door had no lock. Although the location of the hotel is allright, I really wouldn't recommend this place. It is very expensive as well. 200 bht for such a [--] room and service. Never go there again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveler0812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Nothing to complain about here. Our stay at The North Hotel was wonderful. Rooms were clean and modern. Free wifi, free internet on their computers, nice library/patio, great decor throughout the hotel, perfect downtown location (less than 100 meters to the bus station and night bazaar, but not affected by the noise), and good room rates. Definitely stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don_K_Hotei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

For 450 Baht per night, it's a pretty amazing deal. Centrally located and has some nice Thai Charm. Very clean and rustically decorated.

My only complaints are:

1. Bathroom: The water from shower sticks around too long and creates some moister that attracts mosquitoes. Just ask front desk and they will spray.
2. Front desk: The younger workers could care less that you are there. No eye contact or smiles. Generational? The older staff smiles more and is more helpful.

This is NOT uncommon in Thailand's service industry. You can get this service and pay more.

So...all in all, great budget travel with with charm!

Room Tip: Ask front desk for Mosquito repellent and spray for room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank akastavros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

This was my first stay at this hotel and I was not disappointed. I was given Room 204 with a nice large double bed. The room itself wasn't huge but it was fit for purpose and had good lighting, aircom, fan, tv, fridge and wifi. The only thing it didn't have was a cupboard, but ti did have hangers and hanging rails and a table below to lay out clothes etc. The bathroom had everything expected and was good. Breakfast was also good. The hotel is very centrally located being a two minute walk from the bus station and adjoining Night Bazaar and less than five mins from the shops. If you are staying in Chiang Rai for more than a day then DO rent a motorbike/scooter and explore the town there are some great cafes and really nice restaurants and trips to the Chiang Rai Beach or various waterfalls (such as Khun Kon Waterfall or Phu Sang Waterfall - google them!) and well worthwhile and great fun.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank talismanic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Great location; close proximity to the bus station, shops, cafés, bars, scooter rentals. Very impressed with the interior; clean, well decorated, and well maintained. All of the usual amenities were provided at a really good price of 350 baht.

Hired a scooter and was able to get to all of the local attractions without a hitch. Loved the fact that the night market is a stones throw away for some amazing food and great entertainment in the main square, including Thai dancing and live music. There is a nice little hang out area on the 1st floor with a few books to read or swap and decent speed wifi available on all floors.

We were nearly put off this place because of prior reviews, but so glad we decided to give it a try. We arrived as a group of two couples and enjoyed our stay immensely. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

Best location close to old Bus station, night market, clock tower. Located in an undescript townhouse block near old bus station, the interiors were surprisingly beautiful and tastefully done. Room was small but classy and adequate for one or two persons. Linens were Thai silk. I slept wonderfully. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Burmese_Python
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Rai hotels
0.7 mi away
Golden land hotel
Golden land hotel
#49 of 108 in Chiang Rai
15 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ben Guesthouse
Ben Guesthouse
#20 of 108 in Chiang Rai
216 reviews
16.3 mi away
Rimchan Resort Hotel
Rimchan Resort Hotel
#40 of 108 in Chiang Rai
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
La Belle Hotel
La Belle Hotel
#30 of 108 in Chiang Rai
39 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tourist Inn
Tourist Inn
#21 of 108 in Chiang Rai
52 reviews
0 mi away
Palm Garden Hotel
Palm Garden Hotel
#70 of 108 in Chiang Rai
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The North Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The North Hotel

Address: 612/100-101 Sirikorn Market, Chiang Rai, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 108 Hotels in Chiang Rai
Price Range: $11 - $20 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The North Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The North Hotel is a small, family-and-friends-run hotel in the city centre of Chiang Rai. We aim at giving our guests good quality and personal service for a reasonable price. We are centrally located in a quiet street with the bus station and The Night Bazaar in one end, and Sirikorn [silikon] Market, the fruit and flower market on the other. We are also within walking distance from everywhere in downtown Chiang Rai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your The North Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Hotel Chiang Rai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing