We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, location, friendly and clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orchids Guest House
Ranked #5 of 167 Chiang Rai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Helensvale, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great value, location, friendly and clean”
Reviewed June 5, 2010

My husband and I stayed 2 nights in Chiang Rai and had a pleasant stay at Orchids Guest House. Our room was the furtherest from the office, quiet, spacious room and ensuite, TV, the new bed was hard like all beds in Thailand! Air con was great. No fridge in room, it is in the office, 2 free bottles of water daily, free tea/coffee/hot chocolate/cold water at the office along with free internet. Great location, walking distance to markets, restaurants. Very friendly and helpful in recommending massage place and tour guide and driver. Laundry was the cheapest in Thailand! No breakfast but plenty places around. Didn't have to book just email and confirm the day before. Very reasonable rates. Extremely hot when we were in Chiang Rai and without a pool we moved onto Chiang Mai after 2 nights.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suelovesholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    71
    19
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
69
25
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2010

What can I say? For 350B, we received A/C, free wifi, free coffee/tea, and great service. The rooms were clean, quiet, and relatively comfortable. The location is excellent - centrally located near all the bars and a short walk to the bus station and night market. I'd definitely recommend it and stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kranson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2010

I strolled through Chiang Rai and had a look at several guesthouses. Eventually I took a room at Orchids. The rooms looked really ok, ok clean and free Wi-Fi is provided. It's centrally located but quiet at night.

I paid 400 bath for a room with AC. Breakfast is not included. But you could go to Baan Bua Guesthouse which offers tasty breakfast in the morning in the garden. Two bottles of drinking water are included but they didn't put it in my room by themselves. As I asked for the bottles it was no problem to get them. But I had to ask for them every day.

They don't make up the room daily. I stayed there for 4 nights. They hadn't made it up once. I asked for a fresh towel and it was no problem to get a new one. But you have to ask.

The staff is friendly and not pushy with tours.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zerouno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2010

For the 450 Baht price tag, the guest house was certainly ok. It was a standard no-frills guest house room. I like the central location, but I could have done without the bars on Jet Yod road, especially the ones near the guest house with the women calling out for me as I walked by. I could have also done without the paper thin walls and windows that seemed to amplify the late night noise. My room was one or two down from the office and it is certainly not the desired location At night, I could hear the staff talking. I could hear TVs from other rooms and people coming back to their rooms. I could actually hear the conversations and identify the various languages being spoken. It was that loud. Of course, it would probably be fine if other guests were respectful of others and tried to be quiet.

Although I'd probably recommend this place to a friend due to the price, I personally would be willing to pay a little bit more to get better sleep.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MisterTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2009

We stayed at Orchids on our recent rtip to Chiang Rai. Very pleasant staff, free tea/coffee, free internet and great rooms.

Orchids is down a small Soi off Jed Yot Road so is quiet yet handy to all the nightlife. We hired a scotter through Orchids and it was delived no fuss within a few minutes.

Definately will be staying here again.

We have some pics at http://www.bobandjanette.com of our stay in Chiang Rai

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobnJanette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2009

Home feel, free internet & helpful staff;

10mins to Night Bazzar market & tour agencies to hire driver to
Northern thailand like:

- Mae Sai (Border to Myanmar Tachileik),
- Doi Tung (Hill View toward Myanmar),
- Arka Hill (Tribal area),
- Chiang Saen (Ancient City & boat to china),
- Golden Triangle (Boat to Laos);


Will stay there again;

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fluzilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Where in the world...?!
Level Contributor
82 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights and it was a brilliant find. We were working our way through recommended LP guide hotels when we stumbled across Orchids and it was far nicer than any ones we'd seen previously - should be in the book!
There are 2 buildings set opposite one another with a courtyard and seating in the middle to chillout, and you get free tea, coffee, hot chocolate, cold & boiling water & internet with your room rate.
The rooms are large, airy, newly decorated, with large bathrooms,a big TV and aircon comes as standard which is always nice - i thought 350 Baht a night for a double was very reasonable.
It's also located right in the middle of the backpacker/tourist area in Chiang Rai, but because its set back from the main road down a little lane it wasnt at all noisy. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jocypri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Rai hotels
0.2 mi away
Le Patta
Le Patta
#2 of 109 in Chiang Rai
486 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wiang Inn Hotel
Wiang Inn Hotel
#13 of 109 in Chiang Rai
599 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nak Nakara
Nak Nakara
#4 of 109 in Chiang Rai
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Maryo Resort
Maryo Resort
#1 of 109 in Chiang Rai
170 reviews
0.0 mi away
Baan Bua Guesthouse
Baan Bua Guesthouse
#13 of 167 in Chiang Rai
216 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grandma Kaew House
Grandma Kaew House
#3 of 167 in Chiang Rai
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchids Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchids Guest House

Property: Orchids Guest House
Address: 1012/3 Jedyod Road, Chiang Rai 57000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 167 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Rai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immaculately clean, quiet, family-run guesthouse, central location near clock tower, day & night markets, walking street and No. 1 bus station. 15 rooms, all aircon, fan, own bathroom with hot shower, cable TV. Free internet and wi-fi,personal security locker, free tea/coffee, bottled water. Sightseeing, trekking and touring service and info, bike, motorbike and car rental. Friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Orchids Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchids Guest House Hotel Chiang Rai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing