We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location. Good value a very helpful staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Orchids Guest House
Ranked #5 of 184 Chiang Rai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I had a big problem when I got to Chiang Rai - I had lost my wallet on the bus!! The staff at Orchids, especially the receptionist was great. They even offered to lend me money!!! I don't care how bad the beds might be - which they weren't - I don't care how noisy the rooms might be - which they weren't - I don't care how many negative comments might be posted about this place - I don't have ANY - you cannot get better than this!! In value, in staff cooperation and friendliness, in location. For 400 baht a night you will not do better. Trust me.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
3  Thank GraemeJ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (157)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 157 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2013

Good place to stay but it hasn't been up with our best hence the average rating. On the plus -- great location (walking distance from bus station and clock tower) and very helpful staff. On the negative side -- instead of mattresses we slept on box springs (not so comfy) and three of the four of us woke up with bed bugs. The staff said that we got them on our trek and perhaps we did -- we had just returned. However, we've had bed bugs once years ago and I know we got them immediately, not days later. I'm not whining -- just sharing the pros and cons.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TBSuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

I booked with Orchids after seeing it mentioned in Lonely Planet, but my friend and I were really surprised with how poor our experience was. The woman at the desk was horribly unfriendly and very unhelpful; simple questions about the Internet and air-con were met with disdain. Her English wasn't very good so I guess that could have been it, but I somehow doubt it.

The place isn't very clean - our bathroom had dirty footprints on the floor and the bedroom hasn't been swept in quite some time. There's a balcony to sit on, which is nice. I didn't feel like the place was particularly safe, either - the doors didn't lock securely.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

I returned to Orchids Guesthouse in late June this year for a short stay in Chiang Rai - the location is great, easy walk from the bus terminal - easy access to the night market and Saturday Walking Street. My room this time was downstairs and towards the end of the block - ask to see the room first if you wish. It had the best bathroom in it I had encountered during my 4 weeks holiday- sensible layout, big and clean. The bed was comfortable and I heard no outside noise during the night. Its not the Ritz but its clean, comfortable and inexpensive - oh and its near Jed Yod Street where you get the best ever Khao Soy in Thailand ( near the computer games centre)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rusthomco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Loved this hotel stayed 4 nights , clean rooms lovely staff , free tea coffee, and water and bananas , rooms cleaned every if you want ,otherwise put the sign out when you do , washing was returned in good shape nothing missing a great place to stay

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Spent 4 nights there in May 2013. A/C with hot water, TV, drinking water in room, free coffee/tea. Asked for and got one of the end rooms. Very quiet. Spotlessly clean. Fresh starched linen on the bed. Cold a/c. The staff was friendly and efficient and booked a motorbike for me. It arrived and was picked up within 5 minutes of the call. The location is perfect--right in the middle of Chiang Rai, near the bus station, but in a small deadend alley. Quiet and convenient.

Room Tip: An end room will be quieter than others since the guests will have to walk past when they are going...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JStaley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

This guest house is near many tourist friendly facilities, easy to get tours, motorbikes massage and foreign or thai food. Guesthouse is clean and the manager is very helpful and friendly. It is close to the old bus station so you can walk to get a bus anywhere in Thailand.

Room Tip: All rooms are basically the same. Second floor maybe less noise from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Rai hotels
0.5 mi away
Ben Guesthouse
Ben Guesthouse
#17 of 108 in Chiang Rai
214 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hi Chiangrai Hotel
Hi Chiangrai Hotel
#9 of 108 in Chiang Rai
109 reviews
0.0 mi away
Baan Bua Guesthouse
Baan Bua Guesthouse
#13 of 184 in Chiang Rai
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grandma Kaew House
Grandma Kaew House
#3 of 184 in Chiang Rai
188 reviews
6.9 mi away
Bambuh Boutique Homestay
Bambuh Boutique Homestay
#2 of 184 in Chiang Rai
104 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chayadol Boutique Resort
Chayadol Boutique Resort
#9 of 184 in Chiang Rai
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchids Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchids Guest House

Address: 1012/3 Jedyod Road, Chiang Rai 57000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 184 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Rai
Price Range: $15 - $19 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Orchids Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immaculately clean, quiet, family-run guesthouse, central location near clock tower, day & night markets, walking street and No. 1 bus station. 15 rooms, all aircon, fan, own bathroom with hot shower, cable TV. Free internet and wi-fi,personal security locker, free tea/coffee, bottled water. Sightseeing, trekking and touring service and info, bike, motorbike and car rental. Friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Orchids Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchids Guest House Hotel Chiang Rai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing