We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Stacey A
Chiang Mai, Thailand

Quiet and Clean

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Oct 26, 2012
Orchids is more expensive than many guesthouses in Chiang Rai, but you can see why when you get there. Very clean rooms, nice bathroom with hot shower, AC with remote, cable TV with remote, fan, and complimentary water bottles, toilet paper and soap. The staff is very friendly and helpful. They will set up all kinds of excursions for you, they rent motorbikes, and have free coffee, tea, cocoa and fruit in reception. There is also a big fridge in reception where you can store food and purchase cold drinks. And they have a masseuse that will come to your room. 300B for a 2-hour Thai massage.

The location is close to the main strip, the night market and the 24-hour market, but away from the noise. The street that it's on has many cafes and bars that are a fraction of the price of the ones on the main road.
Date of stay: October 2012
Trip type: Traveled with friends
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
$38
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    $34
  • Priceline
    $43
0.5 miles from Orchids Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
$94
  • Expedia.com
    $109
  • Agoda.com
    $78
  • Priceline
    $83
1.4 miles from Orchids Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
B2 Night Bazaar Chiangrai
$11
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Lol.travel
0.4 miles from Orchids Guest House
Free Wifi
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
    $8
  • Agoda.com
    $8
  • Vio.com
    $9
0.3 miles from Orchids Guest House
Free Wifi
  • Expedia.com
    $98
  • Agoda.com
    $74
  • Hotels.com
    $98
1.0 miles from Orchids Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
    $14
  • Expedia.com
    $17
0.4 miles from Orchids Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • LeMeridien.com
    $88
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
    $89
1.9 miles from Orchids Guest House
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $75
  • Vio.com
    $66
  • Hotels.com
0.5 miles from Orchids Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    $33
  • Priceline
    $34
1.6 miles from Orchids Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Chiang Rai
Reviews (185)
Filter reviews
185 results
Traveler rating
80
80
22
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
80
80
22
1
2
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
81 - 86 of 185 reviews
Reviewed September 11, 2012

For the 400 Baht/night price it is hard to find a better place with AC and a private bathroom.
But there are ants in the rooms and mosquitoes are able to enter through the bathrooms.

If it would have cost more I would have given it a lower rating.

Pick a room on the second floor because the first floor is a parking lot!

Room tip: Go for the second floor. Avoid staying here if the only rooms are on the ground floor.
Date of stay: September 2012
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 502Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

we spent in Chiang Rai three days. We stayed in Orchids Guesthouse and for the value (400B per night) and the clean, spotless room is a very good place.
The receptionists were very nice and smart and you can book from the guesthouse every kind of excurtions and rent a motorbike for less than 200B.
The room come with hot shower, air con, Cable-Tv and free coffee or tea!

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeoTuli
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 25, 2012 via mobile

Apsalutley loved staying in Orchids guest house. Felt very welcome. All staff were very friendly and happy to help with anything. Very comfortable clean rooms! Wifi worked great. Free tea, coffee and fruit was an amazing bonus! Would deffenetly highly recommend for a budget stay :-)

Date of stay: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Guesthouses in CR are not particularly good but this one stands out. Convenient location, cheap, pleasant and helpful staff. The only downs are boring, motel-style rooms and not much choice on the TV, but neither of these are a big problem,

Book ahead because it's always full!

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janice F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Read all the reviews listed here, focus on the positive things in them, and you have Orchids Guest House. Out of all the guest houses I've seen in Chiang Rai, and there are many, it rates in the top five.

During my stay there my only gripe was how some of the younger guests would sometimes stand near to or outside my room and talk loudly or yell at their friends. This is not a reflection on Orchids, rather on unthinking or uncaring guests. There is another review here that mentions this also.

The wifi works great and there is free internet in the office for those without a laptop.

Room tip: The rooms that are upstairs are quieter because they aren't next to the parking area or road.
Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews