We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be so much better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Pacific Sovereign Resort & Spa
Ranked #19 of 62 Hotels in Cha-am
Reviewed December 24, 2012

The check in staff is not very friendly with a few exceptions. To move around in the hotel corridors you need to open each hall way door with a key card. That means, if you stay with a family make sure you ask for extra key cards. They charge THB 300 for 24 hours of Internet, which is in this day and age a rip off.
The restaurants are average.
Positive is that it is very close to the beach with its own beach chairs and the swimming pool is fantastic.

For me a "been there, done it" experience, but once is enough.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
Thank jaapk2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (318)
There are newer reviews for Grand Pacific Sovereign Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 318 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2012

This is a grand hotel with large deluxe residence rooms, near the beach. But the frontdesk is arrogant and room service is poor, they even charge you for the laundry bag, you are miles away from Hua Hin and you walk through a labyrint of corridors to get to your residence room. So, i would have rated the hotel Good, but the poor service makes it average. I recommend the hotel if you have a car and need 1 or 2 nights stay near Hua Hin.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank FredHaentjens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We spent 5 nights in April at the resort as a family of 2 adults and 2 young children in interconnecting rooms in the Tower section of the hotel. This hotel is regularly the ' secret Hotel' deal on Wotif.com where I worked out by process of elimination the amenities that were available when I filtered for hotels in Cha-am with kids clubs. This gave me 2 rooms at 1999 baht each er night, when the rack rate was 8495 baht each per night. Bargain..but no breakfast included.

Anyway....we chose the hotel for a few reasons.
1) it was away from crowds of Westerner tourists...and we wanted our kids to meet Thai kids....which they did and got some pen pals.
2) it had a kids club and 3 pools.
3) the rooms were huge and clean.

Upon arrival...we were given a cold welcoming drink, and check in was fast and efficient, but there is really only one desk staff who speaks good English..a Swiss Thai man. Our rooms were interconnecting ( as requested) and were lovely. Having got an online deal though, our rooms didn't have sea views, but a rather ordinary view of the rear scrubland behind the hotel. Rooms came with bathrobes, slippers and usual toiletries and free bottled water. The balcony also ad a little clothes line which was great for drying our laundry.

Breakfast is a set buffet, you cannot do a la carte, and it is quite pricy compared to local restaurants. We mostly had breakfast in the hotel, but if price is an issue,it is cheaper to order room service ( this also applies to dinner at night). The staff is the restaurant we lovely to our children - particularly as our kids tried to use Thai greetings which were appreciated.

The 3 pools are lovely and so were the pool attendants, who got my kids some play equipment, but the lower pool close to the each, is only accessible via exiting the main hotel and walking outside. A bit bizarre but really not a problem if you come and go via the car park lift directly upto your room so you don't drip water through the main foyer!. The pools are also Eco friendly and aren't chlorinated or salted..but rather ozonated which means you don't get that awful smell on your clothes.

Kids club......was not so good. A small room for toddlers with basic equipment and it s Not supervised by staff. In the foyer of the hotel there was a Tv screen advertising fabric and plaster painting ( at a cost) yet the Reception staff ha no idea about it and suggested we go to the Recreation room at the set time. We did, but no staff showed up. Very disorganized if you had the use of a kids club in mind to give you and your partner a break from the kids...this is not he place fr that...try somewhere else in Hua hin.

Havng read on tripadvisor that it was cheaper to get a local minibus from Cha-am to Hua hin we used the Tuk tuk service into Cha-Am (100 baht pp), to the bus stop, then 80 for all of us to Hua-hin with a load of locals who spoke no English. We had first tried to use the shuttle service, but you need to book 2 hours in advance and the times were not suitable for people with young kids. Anyway, getting to Hua- hin wa no problem, but getting back to the hotel on a Saturday night when Hua hin was rocking was not. None of the local shuttle services would return to Cha-am as there was too much in town business going. We finally had to pay the exhorbitant sum of 600 baht to get back.

The village of Cha-am is charming with rows of brightly colored terrace like dwellings and the beach front is saturated with deck chairs. The beach itself is very ordinary and not white and pristine by any means and on weekends hoards of Thais fom Bangkok descend for all day bech play so it is quite hectic. It didn't bother us...we still hired bikes along the walk from the hotel to the village ( 60 baht for 2 bikes for an hour). There are plenty of street stalls and small family run eateries.

He best fun if the whole trip was spending a day tour ( expensive 7000 baht for4) with the hotel tour guide Steve and his driver Mr Wat. We went to a pineapple plantation where a rare variety is grown that can be peeled by hand and has no woody core. Stunning fruit. We bought 5 kgs! We te went onto Pu-u-Lau waterfall and swam with the carp in the falls pools. Lunch was at a hilltop restaurant where the food was stunning and a tropical thunderstorm rolled in. Magic.

Overall our stay was lovely and our family enjoyed it. Phuket its not....but that's why we chose it!! And we would go again.:)

Room Tip: If its cheap you want...get a tower mountain view room. If you want an ocean view go for the Residen...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TravelMum38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

With good location, the hotel has very nice scene -- both ocean and mountain.

The room is large enough for 2 people to be relaxed. The corner upper rooms are fantastic.

Beautiful decoration!

The staffs won't talk or greet you if you don't ask. If you want warm service, please be friendly with them. They're gonna server you their best.

Stayed: March 2012
3  Thank FreeLifeThailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

The hotel is well located and is nice one.
The service is terrible!
The staff seems to not have experience or training.
The manages do not respects the commitments by changing the application after the client arrives.
Is not possible close 2 days in a period of 6, two swimming pools to make a private party with the hotel of lounges for this purpose. These parties lasted until the 10:00 pm without respect for clentes.
Few TV channels and very poors

Room Tip: Have luck with the choice.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank daniel l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2012

First of all the hotel was lovely with ocean or mountain view depending on your room of choice. Placed by the beach only separated by a small dirt road leading to Cha Am just about 2 miles away. The hotel was too secluded for our liking and although taxi service could be obtained easily the idea of having to pay 200baht each time was too much for me. The staff was friendly and always smiling, but werent always easy to communicate with although they tried. Asking specific questions about pools or restaurants would mostly result in standard static answers......but always with a smile :)
Another big bother with the hotel was however, that the third pool + the beach could only be accessed by exiting through the entrance at the lobby and walking around the hotel, since security doors blocked the inside route because you werent allowed to access other living sections. :
We didnt use the hotel restarants much, except breakfast and the occational lunch. Good though, but maybe not authentic enough.
Would we visit again? Never say never although the seclutions might be the dealbreaker.

Stayed: February 2012
1  Thank tinghuus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

Good standard 4 star hotel with good sized rooms and extensive breakfasts. The three pools were amazing. I usually had the top pool top myself for most of the day.

there are some good cheapa places to eat 5 minutes wlak from the hotel. The family run Tiew son was excellent and a further 5 minute walk brings you to another family run fish restraunt.

Room Tip: Get an ocean facing room for a little extra
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank leethomaswales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cha-am hotels
3.5 mi away
Novotel Hua Hin Cha Am Beach Resort and Spa
2.5 mi away
Tara Mantra Cha Am
Tara Mantra Cha Am
#17 of 62 in Cha-am
96 reviews
3.4 mi away
Cera Resort Chaam
Cera Resort Chaam
#13 of 62 in Cha-am
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Sheraton Hua Hin Resort & Spa
3.2 mi away
The Regent Cha Am Beach Resort
2.6 mi away
Regent Chalet Regent Beach Cha-Am
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Pacific Sovereign Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Pacific Sovereign Resort & Spa

Address: 334/1 Ruamjitt Road, Cha-am 76120, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phetchaburi Province > Cha-am
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Cha-am
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cha-am
Price Range: $59 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Pacific Sovereign Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 224
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Pacific Sovereign Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Pacific Sovereign Resort And Spa
Grand Pacific Sovereign Hotel Cha-Am

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing