We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“dogs howling barking all night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Golden Beach Hotel Cha-am
Ranked #24 of 63 Hotels in Cha-am
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“dogs howling barking all night”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

stayed at the hotel for two nights in September heard some good reviews about hotel and area admittedly we went on a very quiet time of year so it was dead as far as we were concerned empty bars at the other end of town the road was smelly and plenty of dog muck although the beach looked great didn't fancy it as maybe dog poo around we took a cab to hua hin on the last night which was lively and was easy to find company for the evening
the hotel its self was lovely and the staff was great the pool was good if you want a short stay and just stay in hotel yes this is the place but if you want to look around area not much to see plenty of happy ending massage parlours on the road leading to hotel that's about it I wouldn't stay here again unless was with company but if you looking for a night to remember better off going to hua hin if your in this part of the world

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chriso1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    48
    27
    9
    6
See reviews for
28
41
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

The hotel is almost next to the beach and is about the centre of Cha Am's beach strip. Many restaurants and bars nearby. It has a large lobby and as usual in Thailand the staff are exceptionally smiling and helpful.
We had a large double room with TV and balcony with sea view. Wifi worked well in the room and although paying for wifi is one of my bugbears the small cost was negligible. The bathroom was a bit of a let down and needs updating, doors etc are long past their best. There is just an electric water heater turned on by water pressure. Unfortunately pressure was not always good and we frequently stood in the shower waiting quite a long time for warm water, yes once 5 minutes!
There is a new pool which was excellent, with sunbeds and the ever helpful assistant but cushions on the sunbeds would be a good improvement.
Ten out of ten for the breakfast and the ever attentive staff.
I have no hesitation in recommending the hotel. Even with the sub-standard bathroom.

Room Tip: With the style and height of the hotel and the glass lifts, if you suffer from vertigo maybe ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MicandTez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

The Golden Beach Cha-am was a 'pot luck' Choice at the end of a long day of driving from Surin in the far North East of Thailand.
I was quoted a 1620 thb room-rate for one nights accommodation which I thought was reasonable considering the beach front location.
After a pleasant exchange with reception and confirmation of the 1620 thb room rate I booked and proceeded to my room.
The hotels layout was pleasant with a large dinning room and reception area with a coffee shop.
A glass lift delivered me to my 15th floor room, each floor has a common area with a large window delivering a panoramic view of the beach and ocean.
The room was a good size with a small balcony without a sea view. Furnishing were rather cheap and dated. There were no towels in the bathroom and after a call to reception were delivered later.
The bed was comfortable and the room was clean but quite dated .Bathroom supplies were minimal.
The breakfast buffet was well presented and the food was quite good catering mainly for Thai guests, I enjoyed my breakfast.
The bellboys and parking attendants were very helpful and polite.
However when it came to checking out my pleasant experience turned sour.
I was presented with an account for 1980 thb. I politely reminded the manager I was quoted 1620 thb and requested the account be corrected. The manager politely explained that the hotel was full and I had been given a ';Superior ' room and was expected to pay the account.
I protested I had not been advised of the 'upgrade' after being quoted the lower figure three times!
I asked the managed to discount my account. No matter how much I protested she ( the manager ) would not give any concession.
I could have argued with her, politely of course, all day and she would not concede the Hotel was at fault.
Very poor for the 'hospitality industry'. I expressed my dissatisfaction at being blatantly overcharged, payed the account, as I was anxious the finish the last leg of my trip, and departed. Never to return!

However I did tip the bellboy as my bag was quite heavy.


.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel. There are many in the area that are much newer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynton E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Booked it online and received great rates with really nice breakfast included. All the rooms have ocean views and are large and clean. Staff were friendly and helpfull. I will definetly stay there if I visit this part of Thailand again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MGB101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

This trip happened in April 2009. CHA AM is a quite place.This hotel was too good. Be it staff behaviour, be it breakfast, be it the Room itself. The Room was huge. It had a small yet effective balcony looking straight to the Ocean without any obstruction. One window was facing a small picturesque hillock on the right and Pool below. The facilities were so good that even in such a boring place (far from the party crowd) you will not feel bored. Just outside this hotel, is the Beach Road. Small eateries with delicious food surrounds this entire vicinity.

Room Tip: Either take your Girl Friend along or hire an escort to stay with you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanju604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grande Prairie, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We booked this because we didn't want to spend a night in Bangkok and it was relatively close. Cha-Am is a wonderful little city with friendly people. The room was spacious and clean and the food was really good.

It was. Great start to our Thailand trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PattyB575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uithoorn, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
144 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stayed in the Golden Beach hotel for about six weeks. Although the hotel is dated, we had a very comfortable stay, and even made a reservation for next year. As mentioned, the hotel is dated but refurbishment is being carried out now. At the rear a large new swimming pool is being built and the rooms are supposed to be ready next year.
Staff is very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is good, especially the Thai variety. The rooms are large, the bathrooms could be larger but everything is there, except a bath which we don't want anyway, we prefer the shower. Most rooms have a wooden floor which we prefer instead of carpet. After refurbishment rooms will be tiled.
There are plenty of restaurants and bars close by, the beach is cross the road.
All in all, value for money!

Room Tip: As for a room facing Methavalai hotel If you don't want the sun in your room all day
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cor v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cha-am hotels
0.1 mi away
Cha-Am Methavalai Hotel
Cha-Am Methavalai Hotel
#20 of 63 in Cha-am
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tara Mantra Cha Am
Tara Mantra Cha Am
#21 of 63 in Cha-am
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.2 mi away
Long Beach Cha-am Hotel
Long Beach Cha-am Hotel
#22 of 63 in Cha-am
3.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
FuramaXclusive Sandara Hua Hin
5.8 mi away
Cera Resort Chaam
Cera Resort Chaam
#12 of 63 in Cha-am
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
5.9 mi away
Novotel Hua Hin Cha Am Beach Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Beach Hotel Cha-am? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Beach Hotel Cha-am

Property: Golden Beach Hotel Cha-am
Address: 208/14 Ruamjit Beach Rd, Cha-am 76120, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phetchaburi Province > Cha-am
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 63 Hotels in Cha-am
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Golden Beach Hotel Cha-am 3.5*
Number of rooms: 203
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Golden Beach Hotel Cha-am reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing