We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful & Relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Regent Cha Am Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 62 Hotels in Cha-am
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 6, 2009

Stayed here with husband two year old and Mother in law and between us the hotel suited our requirements as a family.
The rooms were lovely staff attentive and patient while we spent ages choosing our room. Our room in the end was perfectly situated on ground floor with easy access to the quieter pool in Regency wing. Our two year old was happy in this shallow pool with out armbands and swam in all the pools. Horse riding on beach and elephant trekking, visits to Bangkok Floating Market and Bridge over River Kwai were highlights. Closer to Hotel every wednesday was a flea market selling all sorts, not really a gift buying place but a chance to sample lots of unusually tasty food extremely cheaply, There was also a mini funfair and bouncy castle area which two year old loved. A place to sit and drink a beer while sampling the culinary delights including a few insect delicacies.
Hua Hin Night market 15 minute taxi ride was great did that three times as restaurants are varied and busy there.
Our room was spotless fridge and air con worked and was cleaned every day even though access was a little restricted for the staff they still managed it. Bars and resturants in hotel very quiet but a short walk into the village there was plenthy of bars and restaurants, being low season a few were closed. Saw was dee, was one we went to a few times. platoo on the beach also was good.
Lunch at the hotel beachfront bar was always quick and they have a childrens menu which is free. There is also a Kids Club which is very clean and staff keep children busy with a range of time tabled activities mainily craft based. Children under four cannot be left ,parents or carers must remain with them. Our daughter liked it very much the odd hours she spent with Dad there. walking along the beach you can eat and drink at various places and get a massage cheaper that at the hotel for equivalent of £3 - £4 and hotel was cheap I thought at £10. swam in sea very warm but did not stay on beach as no sun loungers nearby sea goes out a long way at low tide and you will see a few jelly fish. Took taxi's that were outside hotel every where as shuttle limiting for us and taxi with four of us was very cheap.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wedderburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (676)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

446 - 452 of 676 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2009

Hotel is looking old and tired.
We complained about the air conditioning in the room not working properly and they just said 'it is working'. We ran the AC 24/7 and still the temp would not drop below 24 deg. This was too warm to sleep comfortably at night.
The deluxe room we had was of a good size with an adequate sized bathroom although a bit tired. The only danger is of being burnt by the shower which went from warm to boiling hot and to cold in a second throughout our showers.
One of the advertised restaurants was closed and they could not tell us why (Thai menu one, which we would have used a lot).
Staff are fantastic, very polite and helpfull.
Main swimming pool area is clean and the pool is a good size set in well kept gardens.
Food in the two restaurants that were open was very good.
The hotel is to far from Cha am and Hua Hin unless you like spending all your time in the hotel which did not have any entertainment in the evenings.
Beach not as appears in pictures you may see and there are a lot of jelly fish, so swimming in the sea is not an option.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RVCowper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2009

Stayed here as part of a two centre holiday with the first part in Bangkok. I knew it was going to be an eventful stay when at check in we were told that our room was not ready for another 30 mins despite us arriving after the 2pm check in time.
The room wasnt even that clean when we got there, under the furniture and in corners etc it was a little grubby. The mark up on food and drink as well as web access was ridiculousy huge, in some cases 1000 % - the internet was £6 for 30 mins but just outside the hotel it was about 25p for 30 mins.
The hotel complex is very large although most of it was closed off whilst we were there such as the games room,snooker room and tennis courts- the basketball court was being used as a car park !
We found all bar one member of staff unhelpful. I would even go as far as to say hostile.
There are two pool areas, we spent all our time at the Regent Wing pool which was very quiet.
We didnt go to Cha Am as we drove through there on our way to the hotel and there didnt seem much to see. We did go to Hua Hin most nights using the shuttle bus whcih took about 15mins or so. We didnt like the look of the local taxis who werent licenced and just in old pick up trucks.
Hua Hin wsa great with a little night market and loads of good very reasonable places to eat and drink.
Overall I would definately not stay here again but would definately stay in Hua Hin even in a lower grade hotel as at least then you can go out as you please without relying on taxis and buses.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Welshtraveller05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2009

I have just returned from 6 nights at the Regent Beach. We got a great deal (buy 4 nights and get 4 free) which was probably just as well! The hotel is a very nice 4 star resort about 2 hours drive from Bangkok airport. The lobby (you can see pictures on their website) is beautiful and contempory. Our room was lovely too with a sea view. The pools are nice and you can have a massage looking out to sea for less than £10.

The beach isn't as white as you might expect and the sea isn't as blue but as long as you are prepared for that it is a good stretch of beach. June is beginning of the rainy season ans the hotel was pretty desserted. It has a couple of restaurants, both of which are pretty expensive for Thailand. There is a snack bar on the beach which is good for a basic breakfast - it isn't worth £8 for the hotel breakfast unless you can get this thrown in.

There is a small village which you can walk to from the hotel (5mins) with bars and restaurants but out of season, although they are open, there were no other people around and so the atmosphere was a little lacking. You can get massages much cheaper in the village (also good to stock up mini-bar) but of course the view isn't as good!

The Marriot Courtyard Hotel is GORGEOUS if you like something a little more modern and luxorious. Lots of chill out music and interesting pools.

The hotel run a minibus to Hua Hin (about £4 per person round trip) which is worth a trip. The night market is nice and the restaurants there are really cheap with great traditional food.

All in all, I would say that if you are looking to get away from it all and aren't too worried about atmosphere in the evenings then this is a good hotel. I'd plump for the Marriot over the Holiday Inn and I wouldn't go during rainny season again. The rain isn't such a problem (still sunny intervals) but the place is like a ghost town. If you're going in the rainny season, make sure you take your playing cards and the mosquito spray!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Littlemissblondie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2009

I found this resort style hotel to be very well appointed and well presented and a great base for visiting the Cha Am and Hua Hin areas. I had the benefit of a rental car however so had easy access to the night markets and other activities without having to work around the shuttle bus schedule. The grounds were lovely and the pools and beachfront great. The room itself and the room service was excellent when I got in late a few times and wanted a late meal. There was a lot of renovation work going on in the shopping area at the front of the hotel and parts of the resort were fenced off and overgrown. This looked a bit messy when you drove in but made no difference to your enjoyment of the place once you were in. There was a very strong security presence on the grounds too which was reassuring if you worry about those things.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markymark69Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2009

After 3 nights in Bangkok it was nice to get to a beach location. But this hotel is located in a very very quiet location and there is nothing going on. Outside the hotel there is a short street with a few shops and restaurants but the nearest proper towns are about a 15 minute drive. The pool area and grounds are clean and tidy and the rooms are well kept. The lobby area of the hotel is immaculate and very nicely presented. But there is nothing really to do in the area. There is a shopping complex about a 10 minute drive from the hotel which we visited one day. The beach was sort of a no-go area as the sea was very choppy and rather dangerous and the sand was covered with washed up jelly fish, which were quite hard to spot. It was OK to walk along, but not for sunbathing. If you like lazing by the pool all day then this hotel would suite but in terms of experiencing the culture, which is what we like to do, then it is disappointing.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathrynnaomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2009

When I stayed the Hotel was very quite, of the two Pools the smaller one is the better for a quiet read, very good staff in all restuarants, though the pound is quite low at the moment this was still very good value.
THOUGH THIS IS A LONG WAY FROM THE TOWN, AND NOT MANY RESTUARANTS NEAR BY.
IF I HAD MY TIME AGAIN I WOULD GO TO hAI HIN, ONLY DUE TO THE CLOSENESS OF MORE PLACES TO EAT

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HappyHornet4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cha-am hotels
0.4 mi away
Novotel Hua Hin Cha Am Beach Resort and Spa
0.3 mi away
Cera Resort Chaam
Cera Resort Chaam
#12 of 62 in Cha-am
202 reviews
4.3 mi away
Sheraton Hua Hin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Tara Mantra Cha Am
Tara Mantra Cha Am
#19 of 62 in Cha-am
97 reviews
0.9 mi away
Veranda Resort and Spa Hua Hin Cha Am - MGallery Collection
3.2 mi away
Grand Pacific Sovereign Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Regent Cha Am Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Regent Cha Am Beach Resort

Address: 849 / 21 Petchkasem Road, Cha-am 76120, Thailand (Formerly Holiday Inn Resort Regent Beach Cha-Am)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phetchaburi Province > Cha-am
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Cha-am
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Cha-am
#9 Spa Hotel in Cha-am
Price Range: $66 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Regent Cha Am Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 559
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Regent Cha Am Beach Resort embraces an enchanting stretch of unspoiled beach along the sunrise side of the Gulf of Thailand. The resort naturally blends with its lush tropical garden surroundings. The rooms are accessed by airy, open corridors with soothing views of the vast park's greenery or the twinkling blue sea. We are delighted to announce on our newly expanded and nourished beach, new coat of paint for the entire 559 room resort, a newly renovated main wing swimming pool together with a new contemporary landscaping, an enchanting Peppina on The Beach Italian restaurant and all newly renovated sea facing deluxe rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your The Regent Cha Am Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Regent Beach Cha-Am Hotel Cha-Am
Cha Am Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Cha-Am
Regent Cha-Am
Cha-Am Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing