We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel for a relaxing holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Regent Cha Am Beach Resort
Ranked #8 of 63 Hotels in Cha-am
Certificate of Excellence
north east
Level Contributor
113 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel for a relaxing holiday”
Reviewed May 5, 2009

Stayed at the holiday in regent beach as a base for a holiday in thailand & would highly recommend it. We stayed in an anavara bungalow set in the lovely gardens & were very impressed , the quality of the decor , facilities & level of cleanliness were all good. Huge bed , bathtub & shower.
The regent wing pool area was lovely & mostly quiet but got more busy & noisey at weekends with thai guests staying for short breaks.
The gardens were beautiful & fragrant.
The hotel restaurants were very good in terms of decor ,& food & service quality , fair enough a meal cost twice as much as in the local village restaurants but was still cheap by european standards & we felt that the standard of the restaurants made the extra cost worthwhile. There are many places to eat in the village , we liked platoo on the beach best.
The hotel was fairly quiet in general & the village wasn't exactly rocking but its easy to get to Hua Hin or Cha Am on the shuttle bus or by taxi for a more lively night out.
The hotel staff were all very helpful & cheerful.
The beach is quiet & the sea rather sandy but great for a late afternoon walk & has a selection of small bars & places to have a massage.
Overall a great place for anyone who wants a fairly chilled holiday in a lovely environment with a good standard of service & food.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank IRISHDRAFT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    289
    123
    34
    19
See reviews for
154
281
22
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
cheshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2009

We visited this hotel in April, it was pretty quiet and there weren't that many guests during the week, but at weekends it was very busy with conference people and organisations, in spite of that there were always plenty of efficient friendly staff to see to your needs.Our room was in the regent wing, it was a bit jaded but not overly so. The housekeeping was first class, and it's worth paying the £10 per day for the buffet breakfast, there was plenty of variety and after filling up on it each morning we found we weren't hungry till evening. There is a little resteraunt right next to the hotel on the beach called the Rim Hard that does excellent food at very reasonable prices, also one called Platoo further up the beach towards the harbour.Drinks in the hotel were quite expensive so it's worth stocking up at the local 7 to 11 in the village. The beach outside the hotel is lovely but beware of jelly fish in the sea. With three pools to choose from on the complex there is plenty of choice for swimming.The hotel is located just a few minutes walk from the village with plenty of places to eat and a few shops.If you want to hire a bicycle get one in the village it will cost you a fifth of what the hotel charges. They did give us two complimentary shuttle bus rides into Hua Hin, and they also run a bus at a charge to the flea market in Cha Am but it works out cheaper if four of you hire a taxi from the village.The grounds of the hotel are immaculate and well worth exploring, there is a lily pond with a walk around it opposite the hotel on the village road.All in all we had a lovely holiday and were very happy with the service we received. It's well worth hiring a car and visiting the national parks in the area

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beautifulblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2009

Set in a beautiful plantation style surrounding, this hotel, known locally as the regent (it’s former name) offers accommodation varying from a 5th floor double room, through a lo-rise mini suite to a bungalow, a few yards from the beach all with TV, a Fridge, air con a free safe and a balcony.
We were very fortunate indeed, we booked a mini-suite and arrived the night before Songkran (Thai new Year), Make sure your documentation is with you on arrival as the hotel try to charge you for extra adults and children in the rooms which come with 2 double beds as standard, we booked direct from the ICH website and stated 2 adults 1 child on the booking, we then ended up paying extra for the 3rd breakfast but my tip to anyone booking here would be not to bother with the breakfast at all. Don’t get me wrong, there was nothing wrong with the breakfast at all, a very fine buffet every day with something different and something to suit all tastes, but, less than 200 yards away there are a number of great little café’s offering breakfast cooked to order for about £3 each.
Songkran in the hotel is not to be missed, they have games for the kids, a special buffet and other entertainments, mainly involving throwing water all over each other and brightly coloured guck pasted onto your face, in the local streets a few bars take part and will spray you or splash you as you walk past but a cheerful “Mai Chai” (bad Thai for no) and they smile and leave you alone, my tip here is, wear clothes that need a wash anyway and crocks, and join in, the locals here will love that you have taken part in the fun.
During Songkran the hotel was packed, but normally there are perhaps 20 people around each pool with 10 sunbeds each, six or seven people on the awesome white beach and as mentioned before on other reviews, no-one in the Fun Pub.

Room service in the hotel was fast and good, expensive by local standards, but worth it on the first night and the hotel drinks are almost western prices but, they really don’t care if you go to the 7-11 and stock up the hotel fridge with your own, the staff here only want you to be happy, which is why, with no discussion at all we were upgraded to a beachfront villa as soon as the songkran crowds had gone, go on, ask them, the honeymooners we met also had a free upgrade.
Of course a beachfront villa set in a woodland area has a mozzie problem so you might want to consider if this is your thing in the first place, certainly the room on the 1st floor had no such problems and the whole hotel is utterly spotless with a 5 star maid service.
We tried several café’s in the village and failed to find a bad one, the Lucky Restaurant, sandwiched between the lucky bar and lucky tailors and offering a lucky car hire was the most run down but the food was excellent and the two ladies most appreciative of the custom.
J and K Restaurant even make you a mean Steak and Kidney Pie if you want one, and the family bar is so good it’s tempting to eat nowhere else.

There are 24 Tailors in the village which is 100 metres from the south gate of the grounds, and all of them use the same little sweatshop so haggle, haggle some more and then walk away to the next one, lots of local massage parlours, one of which seemed a bit more (nudge wink) but we loved the one near the beach in the hotel grounds, Local taxi’s also hang around the south gate but aren’t a vast amount cheaper than the hotel shuttles to Cha-Am, Hua Hin and even Bangkok.

Internet access is a total rip off at about 20 THB per MINUTE– so don’t, there are internet café’s in the village or you could just get a break from it. Unfortunately, this adds somewhat to the only real gripe we had with the hotel, the staff on reception seem to be unable to source even the most basic bit of tourist information, train times were apparently unavailable, as indeed was any idea at all about the cost of the trains, then I booked the hotel shuttle to Bangkok for our next hotel and bizarrely the hotel were unable to produce even a basic map of the capital or tell me if the shuttle drop off was near any of the six major landmarks that I was familiar with.

This hotel is about total peace and quiet, there are trips to see elephants available and other such things but the best thing for us here was the whole Buddhist attitude of peace, calm and friendship and so little to do apart from pure hedonism that you left with money unspent and batteries recharged.
It really is not a question for us of if we would come back, only really a question of when.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mervous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
189 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2009

Having just returned from Holiday Inn, I thought I must write a review (especially as I have seen some less than complementary reviews)

I stayed with my husband and sister in law in two of the 'basic' rooms - which in my opinion were far better than the 'basic' description - large bedroom with twin beds, balcony overlooking the gardens (and the sea), large well-equiped bathroom with quality shower gel etc. The rooms were spotlessly clean, and the housekeeping changed the beds and towels daily if required.

We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis, and were not disappointed by the breakfasts. There was a huge range of breakfast items to suit a variety of tastes. The waiters replenished tea/coffee regularly and cleared tables quickly without being 'on top of you' all the time.

For our first few days the pool area was very quiet as the hotel wasn't full. This changed the weekend before Songkran, and the place was filled to capacity. There were still enough sunbeds and room in the pool. You could change pool towels frequently, and icecreams, drinks and food were available. (a word of warning small bottles of water were 70 Bahts from poolside, 10 in the mini-market just across from the Hotel Lobby)

There was little evening entertainment, save for the Songkran festival on 13th - this suited us as we went into the little village, or into Hua Hin to eat of an evening.

We ate frequently at Pana's Bar (150 Baht taxi ride at night or 30 minute stroll along the beach at lunch time) This is situated just alongside the Springfield Beach Hotel, and is run by an English Guy and his Thai wife. The food is excellent, with lots of choice. His Chicken Satay is to die for (this needs to be ordered the day before - but is well worth waiting for)

We thoroughly enjoyed a boat trip to Dolphin Bay and Monkey Island. We went on The Siam Pearl - watch out for some of the trips as the boats are not that comfortable (we were recommended by others to this boat trip) The skipper is English, and he makes sure the trip is memorable, even down to supplying sea sickness tablets to those who cannot find their 'sea legs'. Lunch was included, and the buffet was very tasty, with plenty of variety. Sea fishing is included in the price, as is swimming just off Monkey Island. An air conditioned taxi collects and returns you to your hotel.

Will we be going back?? We have already booked to return in August - we can't wait!!!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RhondaEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2009

My wife and 3 children just stayed at the Holiday Inn Regent Beach Resort in Cha Am. It was our first adventure outside of Bangkok since moving here 4 months ago and we weren't disappointed! The Cha Am/Hui Hin area was recommended by friends for a quick getaway from the city. We had been told about some of top resorts in the area, but they all seemed a bit pricey. I did my own research and stumbled upon the Holiday Inn Resort online. It had some excellent reviews here on Trip Advisor, and the price was very reasonable so we thought we'd check it out.
We arrived, the back part of the resort when you arrive is just so-so, seems a bit old. However we loved the lobby and everything else. We were checked in to our room(s) in minutes, but were early so our 2nd room was available in a few hours. The lobby was great, the rooms were very nice. We stayed in a standard king and standard dbl and we loved them. They upgraded us to sea views (without asking), right near the lobby. We loved them, very nice dark wood, good amentities including fringe and hot water maker for tea.

The staff were extremely friendly, helpful, and professional. Many struck up friendships with our kids. The pool area is very nice, the grounds are beautiful and quite large, we also went to the Regeny wing pool which was equally impressive. When I walked down to the beach and saw other resorts, none, even the more expensive ones, had such a nice piece of land and looked as nice and relaxing. We bought breakfast vouchers after we arrived, which are bit more than if you buy them with your reservatiions. The breakfast was very good and our two younger kids ate for free. Most of our other meals were down the beach or at a nearby street with some nice restaurants. The off property restaurants are quite good and prices are very reasonable. However, they are typical Thai restaurants meaning most are outside and are not fancy, but food is excellent.

I had heard the beach was ok, but not great. It looked sort of average, but we loved the beach too. The tides are quite extreme, but the sand bars are great and the water warm. We saw no jelly fish, and the surf was listed as green everyday during our stay. There were lots of great shells, we had a blast searching for them and found lots of good ones. There is horseback riding and jet ski rentals on the beach NOT sponsered by the hotel, they make that very clear. Overall this is a wonderful place to relax and take in the ocean breeze and enjoy the pools. If you are a big time partier or want lots of activities this may not be the place for you. However, there are cheap taxi's nearby that can take you to lots of great nearby destinations incuding national parks, recreation, cities and more. They also have sutiies, and villa houses which look great.

Overall a great relaxing mini vacation!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ansley11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2009

I've just returned from two weeks at The Regent Cha-am, (Holiday Inn), following my fourth visit. My wife has stayed with The Regent Cha-am some nine times. I think this is testimony to the courtesy shown by all staff, the setting and beach.

I agree with the comments of other visitors, in that the prices of food and drinks in the hotel is high, as compared to the village just a 5 minute walk away. There are many Thai bars and restaurants in the village, all offering good food and drinks at reasonable prices, and it appears that most of the hotel residents take advantage of this, rather than pay the hotel prices which are close to double. The atmosphere in the village is great as well, as you tend to meet up with other guests who you've spoken to around the pool.

In the main, we used the lucky bar in the village both for drinks and meals, although our travelling partners insisted on visiting John's bar on occasions for the English meals, including roasts, much to my dismay. The food however is good, and Thai meals are available, albeit a limited choice.

It is mainly an hotel and resort for the 40 plus age group, with little excessive drinking witnessed. The resort of Hua Hin is some 18 Kilometers away, about the equivalent of £12.00 for a taxi there and back (people carriers included), at any time of day or night, and is much more lively with many more bars and restaurants. There is also the night market to visit and barter for your goods, and a Tesco within a shopping center for those who so require.

We have found on our fourth visit, that we are reunited with guests from previous years, some of whom visit the hotel annually for some 6 - 8 weeks, escaping the European winter.

All in all, The Regent Cha-am is a wonderful hotel to enjoy a relaxing holiday, a resort that we intent to revisit on many future occasions.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GillinghamJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2009

Just returned from the Holiday Inn after a really enjoyable holiday. The hotel is fine and spacious and the staff are friendly. The hotel was only around half full so it was easy enough to get a sunbed, although all the prime locations are taken each day by the regulars who bung the poolside staff to save them. The hotel is very popular with retired people, many of whom are there for extended stays of around 2 months or more. A lot of them come back time after time.

The downside to the hotel is their pricing policy for food and drink, which turns the hotel into a ghost town in the evening. On our first night we didn't know the ropes, and after a pricey meal went into the 'Fun Pub'. The place was absolutely dead and we were the only people in there for the hour and a half that we stayed. It was quite embarrassing, as we felt guilty about walking out and leaving the band to play to nobody. I expect hotels to be pricier, but the difference compared to outside of the hotel is phenomenal.

We soon found out that everybody seems to dine out at 'the village' which is a 4 minute walk from the hotel (turn left at the front of the hotel, down the ramp and walk alongside the car park and you are almost there). There is a good selection of restaurants and bars there, we ate in quite a few and they were all pretty good. The prices in the village are massively cheaper than the hotel. The drinks are much much cheaper as well eg 65-70 baht for a large bottle of beer, as opposed to about 130 baht for a small bottle in the hotel !

The hotel has a crazy golf course in the grounds and we made the mistake of having a game. It is poorly maintained and you putt on concrete, so the ball goes anywhere and seldom stops. A complete waste of time, so if you are tempted to play - don't bother, you have to pay as well.

Another word of warning. In the village there is a guy who sells DVD's of the latest films for about 100 baht. Our party bought a total of 19 but on testing them back home only 10 of them worked and one of those was a different film to that shown on the cover.

If you want a quiet relaxing holiday, this is a very good choice. The beach is massive, although the sea is generally quite choppy and most people swim in the hotel pool. One of the plus sides for us was that there are no noisy distractions (no head banging music around the pool, or anywhere else) and all the locals were exceptionally friendly.

We went on one trip out which we booked at the 'Lucky Bar' in the village. The guy who takes you has a top of the range people carrier, which is really comfortable and his prices are the same as the taxi drivers. The people who run that bar are very friendly and went out of their way to help one of our party who had arrived with some really bad bites on her leg, which she got in Bangkok.

There is one English type restaurant in the village which is run by an old guy called John and his Thai wife. John could easily double for Victor Meldew and tends to go on a bit with his comments and moans, but the food is very good and the kitchens are spotlessly clean, so if you want a change from Thai food its worth a visit (although he does Thai food as well).

I can easily see why people go back to this hotel year after year, as the hotel is peaceful and the resort is a welcome change from the over commercialised places that you find almost everywhere nowadays. There aren't too many people under 30 around, so it probably wouldn't suit those who want a livelier time. The hotel runs a shuttle bus to and from Hua Hin, which is a bigger and more lively place, a few kilometers down the road..

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PompeyMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cha-am hotels
0.4 mi away
Novotel Hua Hin Cha Am Beach Resort and Spa
5.5 mi away
Golden Beach Hotel Cha-am
5.6 mi away
Tara Mantra Cha Am
Tara Mantra Cha Am
#21 of 63 in Cha-am
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cera Resort Chaam
Cera Resort Chaam
#11 of 63 in Cha-am
197 reviews
5.6 mi away
Cha-Am Methavalai Hotel
Cha-Am Methavalai Hotel
#20 of 63 in Cha-am
136 reviews
0.9 mi away
Veranda Resort and Spa Hua Hin Cha Am - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Regent Cha Am Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Regent Cha Am Beach Resort

Property: The Regent Cha Am Beach Resort
Address: 849 / 21 Petchkasem Road, Cha-am 76120, Thailand (Formerly Holiday Inn Resort Regent Beach Cha-Am)
Location: Thailand > Phetchaburi Province > Cha-am
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Cha-am
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Cha-am
#7 Spa Hotel in Cha-am
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Regent Cha Am Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 559
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Regent Cha Am Beach Resort embraces an enchanting stretch of unspoiled beach along the sunrise side of the Gulf of Thailand. The resort naturally blends with its lush tropical garden surroundings. The rooms are accessed by airy, open corridors with soothing views of the vast park's greenery or the twinkling blue sea. We are delighted to announce on our newly expanded and nourished beach, new coat of paint for the entire 559 room resort, a newly renovated main wing swimming pool together with a new contemporary landscaping, an enchanting Peppina on The Beach Italian restaurant and all newly renovated sea facing deluxe rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Regent Cha Am Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Regent Beach Cha-Am Hotel Cha-Am
Cha Am Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Cha-Am
Regent Cha-Am
Cha-Am Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing