We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Regent Cha Am Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 63 Hotels in Cha-am
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good stay”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

The resort is quite large with large and beautiful entrance.If you go by your own car then you can go in right away but if you go by public transportation I would suggest you to call the guards for calling their tram because it's quite a long way from the entrance to the building, guards might ask you for some details of your stay and they will call the car for you. The resort is far from the city so you might not want to stay if you want to try some other places.

The resort has great atmosphere and it's next to the beach. Room is good, they provide lots of thing, they even have iron table in the room. The staff is good. Breakfast is not really satisfying, it could be better. Some of the building seem old and unfinished. I don't know about the price because we go there as a large group for an event so everything is covered for us already. Overall It's a good resort, if I have a chance I might wanna check this place out again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chokchai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    291
    124
    35
    23
See reviews for
161
283
23
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

As a long time resident of Thailand my family and I were looking forward to visiting the Regent. It was okay and still deserves 3 stars but certainly no more. It has become like a bottle of milk a day past the expiration date, drinkable, but only okay, not as it should be.

When you enter the staff is not at all friendly as they should be in a 4 or 5 star Thai hotel. It is obvious as all the reception staff are older that they have been there to long and are long since bored with their job. Not a smile one, even upon returning from dinner at 9pm and walking directly passed them. As a long time hospitality lecturer here in Thailand, this is just not acceptable.

The waiters and waitresses are the same, not an effort to smile or be friendly. Even though we checked in at 2pm and the hotel was less than half full our room was not ready so we headed for a meal at the beach side restaurant. When they delivered my kids and my food they told the wife the had no shrimp for her meal. So she had to reorder after we had our food. Mine was okay but the kids had what was called a barbecue pork sandwich. It was not. It was fried pork on a bun with pesto sauce. No barbecue at all, and very greasy indeed. Finally the wifes tuna sandwich arrived and she announced it was inedible. But what the hell, it was time to check in.

On the way to the room we were greeted by the smell of paint fumes and the maid confirmed they were painting sealant onto the floor below.
But the room was clean and nice, quite big with wonderful pillows on the bed.

The kids checked out the TV and the wife took a nap so I headed down to the beach and pool There is no beach. None at all, and the pool is big but not clean, there was black sludge on the pool bottom. The sun chairs were very soft and the pool service was okay.

If you are looking for a place to book at a huge discount go ahead and stay here. It does have other pools we did not look at, and at around $70 usd for a discounted room it is okay.
But they advertise a mini mart on property and do not stock the mini bars. This mini mart is close as is the advertised mini golf. So if you dont buy before you get into the resort and dont have car you will have problems, as its miles to the nearest store. We had the car so worked it out.

It is a nice hotel and had a good buffet breakfast, but it is in no way a top notch or even 4 star hotel. It was, but time and management changes have brought it down. The uncaring staff would be the biggest problem.

At least they could provide wifi for free in the rooms but alas they do not. Then their satellite TV system is more interference than broadcast.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank agingone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regent L, Quality & Development Manager at The Regent Cha Am Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear agingone,

I am sorry to learn of your unpleasant stay at the resort. We do sincerely apologise for the lack of warm welcome from our staff during your stay and have taken steps to provide consistent fresher training to all personnel to ensure that quality service is delivered at all times.

Concerning the minibar, our latest policy is to clear it to enable it to be stocked by guests themselves as this was proposed by a number of previous guests. We will take extra steps to ensure that all guests are advised of this as this can be confusing for those expecting a fully stocked mini bar. Our mini mart however remains operational even though we are currently remodeling a new mart area for guests. We did investigate your complaint and it is possible that the staff were on a break when you visited it.

We are in fact in the gradual process of updating both our staff and facilities and we do hope you will return again for your next holiday to help review our services. By this time I do hope you see notable positive changes to our property as a whole.

Our warmest regards,

Kritsana Boungam
Quality & Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

The hotel has a good location next to the sea but that is about as good as it gets!

Rooms average.

Some of the staff seem like they have forgotten they joined a service industry and act like they are aggravated to help???

Breakfast both days was ruined by the complete lack of thought and poor management. Fried eggs burnt! Gordon Ramsey would go crazy!

Seriously though with such a good location the management and the staff should feel ashamed as with so much competition this hotel will suffer if they do not radically improve.

That is why the score is a minus. Sorry

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dexter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regent L, Quality & Development Manager at The Regent Cha Am Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Dexter N,

Thank you for choosing The Regent Cha-am Beach Resort for your holiday. We do appreciate your comments concerning the state of our property. The property is in fact Cha-Am's first resort/hotel and was established almost 30 years ago. We have recently initiated refurbishments to the property facilities which includes improving personnel service. As you may appreciate, it will take quite some time to completely update the property and provide consistent training to personnel due to the sheer size of the resort and the large number of support staff.

I do sincerely apologise for lack of quality of service at the property and noted with a smile that you managed to include a positive in the review. This is very kind of you and is a really nice touch which we truly appreciate.

We do welcome all comments with open arms as this helps us identifies our weaknesses and strengths. We only hope that you will give us another chance and visit us again sometime in the future to experience the new and improved services and facilities.

Most sincerely,

Kritsama Boungam
Quality & Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire England
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Impressive frontage as you enter from the main road with the bushes shaped in Elephant styles and nice to see security monitoring entry to the complex.
Check in easy and room allocated on arrival. Found rooms basic and a little dated but nice to have its own balcony area and nicely cleaned daily.
Nice breakfast and good selection of food.
Found that the standards varied in the restaurants some evening but overall food satisfactory.
Good place to have as a base for travelling around the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChloesGrandfather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regent L, Quality & Development Manager at The Regent Cha Am Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear FionasGrandad,

Thank you for choosing to stay at our modest resort for your holidays. Just thought we should tell you that we are in process of updating our rooms on a gradual basis to ensure minimal disruption to guests' stay. In addition to our beach-side location, we do take pride in maintaining a lush garden to ensure that guests forget the outside world once they enter the Regent Cha-Am Beach Resort world.

A big thank you for noticing our "elephant" shaped bushes. You might find this hard to believe, but not many notice it despite its size. We do pride ourselves on the little touches and we do hope you will notice our other new touches when you come back next time.

The Regent Cha-Am family awaits your return with bright sunny smiles.

Warm regards,

Kritsana Boungam
Quality & Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

At 4900 Baht, we felt we paid much too much for our stay at the Regency. We had friends staying at the Dusit Thani and Sheraton, both of which are nicer and much cheaper with many other options such as upgrades and meal credits at the Dusit. And we requested a villa with a sea view but only got a octogon-shaped bungalow split in to four rooms with a view of a patio and AC unit....And their price only included 2 breakfasts for three people....Uncool. And when we asked for espresso for breakfast, they wanted 90 baht extra! Sorry, with the level of competition in the Chaám area, there is no need for petty hotels....Oh yes, and they still allow those cowboy karaoke parties that last all night and involve 100's of piss drunk Bangkokers screaming and whooping it up all night...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexander Coke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regent L, Quality & Development Manager at The Regent Cha Am Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear alexander Coke S,

Thank you for choosing to stay at our humble resort. We do apologise for the inconvenience you experienced and we have made note of your comment concerning the need to develop a family package rate. This is certainly something we should develop and plan to do launch the recommended package in the future. In reference to being charged for the espresso you ordered for breakfast, most hotels only offer simple black coffee at the breakfast buffet and any hotel would charge for espresso with exception to a few deluxe class properties. This is unfortunately our standard policy but we can certainly look into offering a coffee making machine at breakfast. In any case, we do still hope that you will return to visit us in the future. All comments and recommendations from guests that have stayed at our resort does help us improve our facilities and service therefore we do thank you for taking the effort to write this.

Most sincerely,

Kritsana Boungam
Quality & Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, UK
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

My wife and I have recently returned from the Regent Beach Hotel and have to report that we had a great time there. We are multi returning guests and were a little hesitant to return when we noticed that the hotel was no longer part of the Holiday Inn group. We need not have feared as everything was splendid.

I have read some of the negative comments written by other posters and can only say that as far as my wife and I were concerned we did not experience any of those problems. The staff were their usual friendly and helpful selves without any exception. We did however witness a number of guests being quite rude to the staff!!

It would be nice to know in advance when the hide tide season is at this location as we both like to potter along the beach. This was not possible this year because of the tides. Maybe something on their website would be an advantage? We still would have returned but maybe a little later/earlier in the year.

Without doubt, as far as our stay was concerned we had a great and relaxing fortnight. Thank you The Regent Cha Am. If you read this I would ask that you give some positive feedback to the staff.

Be back soon.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rascall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regent L, Quality & Development Manager at The Regent Cha Am Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear rascall,

Thank you for such a lovely and kind post. We are absolutely delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us without any incident. Thank you also for your encouraging words; this is always a wonderful morale booster for staff and we have passed your wonderful comments with our personnel.

Concerning the high tides, this usually occurs between mid-June until mid-November as this is the rainy season where heavy showers and storms result in really high velocity winds creating really strong waves which take away our beach front.

The best time to visit is the Summer which is between Feb - June. The cool season between mid-November to February is also a good time to visit. You might be interested to know that the Hua Hin/Cha-am Regatta is typically held during June/July as the beach is at its best and more boats can be moored at the beach front.

Thank you again for your gracious note. Your Regent Cha-Am Resort family awaits your return with bright sunny smiles.

Warmest regards,

Kritsana Boungam
Quality & Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

...1st stay was october 12, now coming to the end of a 2 week vacation here ; same great service, with staff in all sections & areas who can't do enough to help ; they give and give and give -superb customer service, lovely room -fabulous bed & pillows and attentive housekeeping. Breakfast selection, environment and service is as good and impressives as an top hotel in Thailand - the Sakuna restaruant to be precise and the beautiful fluxo restaraunt by the sea really does produce & offer fine pasta/seafood & international eats - yes you pay a little more then in the local village, but I think it's worth it, with this standard of hotel you have an experianced Sious -Chef( Jacques - just started last week - a reall gentleman) in residence to oversea the produce,cooking & presentation, so the price is relative to the product you receive - and all presented beautifuly, in stunning surroundings.Under new managment, headed by 'Prachoom' - who doesn't seem to stop working! -and the Regent Ownership, things will get better & better in the years ahead. All the staff I spoke to said they are happy now and all pulling in the same direction.Well done to all at this Hotel, which i would recomend to any age group.

Room Tip: Hard to say : I always opt for a Higher., Sea View room, where ever I stay and am happy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GuyaroundtheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regent L, Quality & Development Manager at The Regent Cha Am Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear GuyaroundtheWorld,

Thanks for the encouraging words. I have shared your lovely comments to all staff whose smiles are as wide as the ocean when they read it. I am personally terribly impressed you managed to learn our Chef's and General Manager's names; they are both truly warmed by this extra effort you have taken. As you may already know, we have started and will continue with updating our facilities and staff to ensure that we remain everyone's favorite home from home. We do hope you will be able to return to experience this for yourself in the future. The refurbishments we are making are gradual, some of which quite low key but we are confident they will enhance your stay with us.

Thank you again. We are all beaming from your post and we're all just floating a little right now.

Warmest regards from sunny Cha-Am,

Kritsana Boungam
Quality & Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cha-am hotels
0.4 mi away
Novotel Hua Hin Cha Am Beach Resort and Spa
0.3 mi away
Cera Resort Chaam
Cera Resort Chaam
#16 of 63 in Cha-am
202 reviews
5.6 mi away
Tara Mantra Cha Am
Tara Mantra Cha Am
#19 of 63 in Cha-am
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Sheraton Hua Hin Resort & Spa
5.5 mi away
Golden Beach Hotel Cha-am
0.9 mi away
Veranda Resort and Spa Hua Hin Cha Am - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Regent Cha Am Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Regent Cha Am Beach Resort

Property: The Regent Cha Am Beach Resort
Address: 849 / 21 Petchkasem Road, Cha-am 76120, Thailand (Formerly Holiday Inn Resort Regent Beach Cha-Am)
Location: Thailand > Phetchaburi Province > Cha-am
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Cha-am
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Cha-am
#8 Spa Hotel in Cha-am
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Regent Cha Am Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 559
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Regent Cha Am Beach Resort embraces an enchanting stretch of unspoiled beach along the sunrise side of the Gulf of Thailand. The resort naturally blends with its lush tropical garden surroundings. The rooms are accessed by airy, open corridors with soothing views of the vast park's greenery or the twinkling blue sea. We are delighted to announce on our newly expanded and nourished beach, new coat of paint for the entire 559 room resort, a newly renovated main wing swimming pool together with a new contemporary landscaping, an enchanting Peppina on The Beach Italian restaurant and all newly renovated sea facing deluxe rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Regent Cha Am Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Regent Beach Cha-Am Hotel Cha-Am
Cha Am Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Cha-Am
Regent Cha-Am
Cha-Am Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing