We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs renovation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Regent Cha Am Beach Resort
Ranked #8 of 63 Hotels in Cha-am
Certificate of Excellence
Bruges
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Needs renovation”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We spent one night in a 'beach villa'. Not really what you expect of a beach villa. We had no view on the beach but un the airconditioning of the other cottage. But the prices are not high.
We spent the day at the second pool near the Regent wing where it was quiet and not many guests.
The hotel is very big and gives cheaper accolodations to many international touroperator. Not the romantic escape.
It's outdated and needs certainly an in-depth fresh-up! But this will certainly have an impact on the price.
The rooms and grounds were spacious and clean. Staff helpfull.
Spa was nice and not expensive. This I would recommend.

If you want to go there ask for the Regent Wing, upper floor (3) where you have full seaview!

Room Tip: Regent wing, upper floor (3) for full seaview and bit out of the main area
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KREEFT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regent L, Manager at The Regent Cha Am Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear KREEFT,

Thank you for staying at the Regent Cha-Am Beach Resort. I am pleased to read that you found your rooms and grounds were spacious and clean with helpful staff as well as the Spa to be nice and not expensive.

At the Regent Cha-Am Beach Resort, our prime objective is to provide you with 'your home away from home' experience. I have taken note of your comments and will review with the Management Team for further improvement.

KREEFT, thank you once again for your stay and we would be delighted to welcome you back for your future holiday at the Regent Cha-Am Beach Resort - 'your home away from home'.

Thank you.

Yours Sincerely,

Kritsana Boungam
Quality & Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    289
    123
    34
    19
See reviews for
154
281
22
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
reigate
Level Contributor
117 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We have been going to this hotel for 10 years, and although it is a little tired now the new management is in the process of making plans for improvements to be made in the low season. In spite of the state of the facilities, it is a great place to stay and have a relaxing time. The staff is friendly, there is a great pool and the village outside provides enough restaurants, bars and shops for all our needs. The town of Hua Hin is 20 mins away by taxi and is a mini Bangkok. All in all, a great location for a relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: If you can afford a pool view, go for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisbethReigate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regent L, Manager at The Regent Cha Am Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear lisbethReigate,

Thank you for staying at the Regent Cha-Am Beach Resort, your home away from home. I am delighted to know that you had a great time during your recent stay with us.

I’m glad you found the Swimming pool to be great with a friendly staff, the Great Hotel location, near the village that have everything you needs and not far away from well known city like Hua Hin, just only 20 minutes away by the taxi, and that you felt relaxed during your stay. I appreciate your feedback and will share with our Management team.

lisbethReigate, thank you once again for your stay and we would be delighted to welcome you back for your future holiday at the Regent Cha-Am Beach Resort - 'your home away from home'.

Thank you.

Yours Sincerely,

Kritsana Boungam
Quality & Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

The hotel is situated in a private area that is well patrolled and secure. The rooms are excelent, good size and very good facilities. The pool area is big, there is choice of two pools each equally good. Excellent service from all the staff. I did thig we would be restricted to the hotel and its menu but looking around the area we found very friendly people, great eating places and good bars. All in all excellent staff all friendly and most helpful. People come back year after year spending weeks at this hotel; its not hard to see why.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank redken47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regent L, Manager at The Regent Cha Am Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear redken47,

Thank you for staying at the Regent Cha-Am Beach Resort. I am delighted to know your stay was excellent with our standards of service.

I am pleased to read that you found your rooms were excellent and very good facilities with the 2 big pools that you prefer, the Restaurant and bar to be nice. I am also fantastic that you found our staff to be excellent service with very friendly hospitality.

At the Regent Cha-Am Beach Resort, our prime objective is to provide you with 'your home away from home' experience. Your compliments have already been passed to the Management Team and we are looking forward to see you again very soon at the Regent Cha-Am Beach Resort - 'your home away from home'.

Thank you.

Yours Sincerely,

Kritsana Boungam
Quality & Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We visited this hotel for four nights from 13th to 17th February this year. We had been before and needed a beach resort for a few days before visiting our family in Bangkok after arriving from UK.Our reception at 09.30 am was excellent and we were able to access our room immediately which was a blessing after a 22 hour journey. We were aware that the beach had all but disappeared so were resigned to relaxing around the pool where we were looked after very well each day by the staff. We had a garden villa as previously and our son who joined us later a room in the main hotel. The rooms are very big and clean but like the rest of the hotel inside & out quite tired looking for a 4star hotel. The grounds are lagre and pleasant with maun trees & shrubs and well cared for however the hard landscaping -paths etc need a lot of TLC.. The pools are large & attractive but need work to bring them up to a good standard of finish. The restaurant we did not use except for breakfast which was adequate but again not up to the standard we would expect from this class of hotel. on one day it seemed the staff were overrun by a large influx of visitors - I believe a conference was on and no extra staff seemd to have been provided. We did use the beach bar for li=unch and the service & food here were good. When we were here previously we discovered the local village (5 mins walk) where there are a number of good local restaurants far cheaper than the hotel. One in particular we use regularly was the "Family Restaurant" where food and service are excellentand worth trying.. All in all we had a pleasnt time at the hotel but as i said it needs a deal of TLC to bring it up to 4 star standard.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank chadavisand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regent L, Manager at The Regent Cha Am Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear chadavisand,

Thank you for staying at the Regent Cha am Beach Resort, and for taking the time to share your valuable feedback.

On behalf of the Regent Cha am Beach Resort, please accept my apology for our inconvenient caused during your stay regards to the beach, it is fortunate that there was no beach during your stay due to the nature reason. However, the Hotel try the best to engage the guest by Daily Activities such as Aqua Aerobics at the Main Pool, Cycling to Evening Village Market, Thai Boxing Aerobics, and so on, for your memorable stay.

I am also delighted to read that you found our Morning Reception was excellent and the Swimming pool to be large and attractive. At the Regent Cha-Am Beach Resort, our prime objective is to provide you with 'your home away from home' experience. Your feedback has already been passed to the Management, our TLC team for further improvement and enhance hotel standard to achieve your expectation.

Chadavisand, thank you once again for staying with us. We hope you will see the improvement and enjoy your time with us in your next visit. We look forward to welcoming you to The Regent Cha Am Beach Resort - 'your home away from home'.

Thank you.

Yours Sincerely,

Kritsana Boungam
Quality & Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Arrived from Bangkok via private transfer, and entered through a hedge of elephants! I kid you not. All credit to the groundsmen and their topiary skills. The road down to the main entrance is a building site. What used to be a crazy golf area surrounded by small buildings was being demolished, and on the other side of the road, some construction works were in progress. The lobby looks grand and imposing, with infinity water features and soft furnishings and a well staffed reception. Our room, on the first floor, wasn't ready on arrival, so we were advised to have a drink at the bar, and got charged 120 baht per small beer, (Chang), for our troubles! We were re-roomed to the 5th floor with views overlooking the main entrance and the building works. To be fair, the room was lovely, HUGE double bed, big bathroom, personal safe, and as clean as a whistle.
After unpacking, my partner and I went out to have a look around. This resort is big, very big. No map is provided and there is no overview of the facilities left in the room. We wandered aimlessly about, finding restaurants by chance, (Yellowtail). The hotel has an abundance of conference suites which were in constant use during our 8 day stay, which added to the feeling that the holidaymakers came second to the cash cow that is corporate entertaining. We arrived at the seafront, only to discover that all the exits had been taped off, as the beach and steps had been washed away. Whilst there is a beach to the left of the hotel, which does actually belong to the Regent chain, access is difficult, and on occasion, downright dangerous for children and the infirm.
Don't be fooled into thinking that this hotel is situated in either Cha-am or Hua Hin. Cha-am is about 12km away, and Hua Hin 20km, and the hotel makes no bones about charging to use their over priced buses to get you there,.
The local village, which reception reluctantly told us about, is a 5 minute walk away, and has all the facilities needed, banks, bars, dry cleaners, and very good, cheap restaurants. We can highly recommend the 'Village Bar', for inexpensive cocktails, and clean, welcoming surroundings.
So, in a nutshell, use the local taxis to get out and about, (400 baht return to Hua Hin), use the local restaurants and street food sellers, for top quality fare, and be aware that you are staying at the Regent Cha am 'Beach' Resort that doesn't have a beach.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PertLittleBottom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Our second stay at this hotel. Stayed for a week. Arrived early hours of morning no refreshments available.
Room was big but needs some updating.
Breakfast ýou could wait a long time for a table but worth the wait as lots to choose fro.
Pools are lovely took part in aqua aerobics every day! Sun loungers need updating some horrible metal ones around. Ýou have to get up Megga early to put towel on sunbed to reserve ýour space.
The downfall of the place is that the beach has been washed away. To get to the beach ýou either have to go down some very steep ladders or get a buggy to next hotel. Buggy was not always available.
Let's hope new owner can bring hotel back to what it used to be like. Şhe and her staff are lovely and work so hard.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nbnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alnwick
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

HI My partner and i booked in on January 17th for 25 nights and were very disappointed!
I upgraded to a De -Luxe room at considerable extra cost - remember this is Thailand and for the £70 a night which did not include breakfast for 25 nights we , however promised free Wi Fi in our De Luxe Room ,with FRE Wi Fi - which NEVER HAPPENED! It was a further £10 per day for this and it only worked sometimes in reception and took ages to connect - luckily a short walk into the village EVERY bar / restaurant offered free Wi Fi for all customers - the problem was having to take an ipad out each time to keep in touch with business emails.
The hotel is vey tired and has been sold by Holiday Inn Group back to original owners , no menus or anything in rooms about hotel / area and so forth if new to area and hotel - very expensive ordinary food - drink twice the price of anywhere else locally - NO Beach - for a Regent Beach Resort - no beach - unbelievable - had 17 problems - little things that took 7 days to fix - none english speaking unhelpful Thai people on reception , seemed very unhappy with hotel themselves and while there several religious conference people numbering 200 at a time took over hotel , and seemed quite unfriendly and resentful of normal holiday guests being there !

This may seem an awful review and i do not mean to pick on this hotel but as someone who has holidayed in Thailand for 18 years now - this is not good value .Many 3 star hotels i have stayed in for say £20 a night inc breakfast are far better - but Thailand has become very western in its pricing over the las three years or so. Big problem too may guuests for sunbed meant that old guests returning each year had best spots and staff took money for getting you a bed, which is free really.

Room Tip: 5th floor most quiet but you pay extra money because it is away from the many conference hotel guest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank george s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cha-am hotels
0.4 mi away
Novotel Hua Hin Cha Am Beach Resort and Spa
5.5 mi away
Golden Beach Hotel Cha-am
5.6 mi away
Tara Mantra Cha Am
Tara Mantra Cha Am
#20 of 63 in Cha-am
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cera Resort Chaam
Cera Resort Chaam
#11 of 63 in Cha-am
197 reviews
5.6 mi away
Cha-Am Methavalai Hotel
Cha-Am Methavalai Hotel
#21 of 63 in Cha-am
136 reviews
0.9 mi away
Veranda Resort and Spa Hua Hin Cha Am - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Regent Cha Am Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Regent Cha Am Beach Resort

Property: The Regent Cha Am Beach Resort
Address: 849/21 Petchkasem Road | Cha-Am Beach, Cha-am 76120, Thailand (Formerly Holiday Inn Resort Regent Beach Cha-Am)
Location: Thailand > Phetchaburi Province > Cha-am
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Cha-am
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Cha-am
#7 Spa Hotel in Cha-am
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Regent Cha Am Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 559
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Regent Cha Am Beach Resort embraces an enchanting stretch of unspoiled beach along the sunrise side of the Gulf of Thailand. The resort naturally blends with its lush tropical garden surroundings. The rooms are accessed by airy, open corridors with soothing views of the vast park's greenery or the twinkling blue sea. We are delighted to announce on our newly expanded and nourished beach, new coat of paint for the entire 559 room resort, a newly renovated main wing swimming pool together with a new contemporary landscaping, an enchanting Peppina on The Beach Italian restaurant and all newly renovated sea facing deluxe rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Regent Cha Am Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Regent Beach Cha-Am Hotel Cha-Am
Cha Am Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Cha-Am
Regent Cha-Am
Cha-Am Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing