We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice setting but rooms are tired!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Regent Cha Am Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 62 Hotels in Cha-am
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 28, 2012

This was our 2nd stay at this hotel, the 1st 2 or 3 years ago which was spoilt with security guards all over as primeminister of burma was staying there!! so thought we would give it another try, rooms, spacious but bathroom very much in need of refurb,very tatty,the rest of the room was tired looking .the pool and grounds very nice also a good choice of food for breakfast. This time the beach in front of the hotel had gone but a short walk to a nice sandy beach.. beware of the jellyfish tho!! not a great deal going on near the hotel, a few bars and restaurants all very quiet. mini bus as there was 7 of us into hua hin 1,000 tbt return.staff to me were good but my thai wife was very unhappy at the way they treat her family, carried my case but made them carry there own, not acceptable and made them feel 2nd class. i will not be rushing back!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davekaew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (676)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

280 - 286 of 676 reviews

Reviewed December 24, 2012

Based on the reviews, I decided to save a little and stay here for 5 nights. While the staff is friendly, most don't speak English very well in the event you have a room or service issue to discuss. The lack of consistency in what was told to me about varous items ( laundry charges, Internet) , was beyond frustrating. More staff training is key here. Everyday during my stay it was something: buying an Internet card and having to wait 10 mins for staff to come over and input a password; tiny ants all over the room at night; ordered pizza from room service and was brought no plates, booked with a 25% discount on food yet I had to be the one to bring this to the manager's attention; bringing out food before drinks in the restaurant. On my 4th night, I went to see the manager, who was busy and so would call me to my room. Never happened. Went down again and politely insisted. I told her that I was not at all looking to get free nights or anything of the sort, I was simply wanting to enjoy my vacation, yet something was always happening and thus putting a huge damper on my vacation. I told her that I was most likely going to check out a day early. To that, she said she was very sorry and she allowed me to use the house computer to book at another hotel. The spa (excellent thai massage) and pool were nice as was the breakfast buffet, but too many negatives to warrant staying here.

Room Tip: The property is huge, so book a room close to an elevator; otherwise running back up to your room ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Meanbeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at The Regent Cha Am Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2013

Dear Meanbeans,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. I am pleased you liked the hotel spa services as well as the breakfast. Please allow me to apologize for the inconvenience and negative impression you may have experienced due to the hotel staff service during your stay. We work very hard to ensure our quality and services are superior. It sounds like we fell below your expectations. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into.

While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Old creepy building but nice room. Breakfast was nice. Few steps to the beach.
Big balcony, nice bed. The hotel area is very big, you need local transportation or rent a car to get around the place near by.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phanuphong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I stayed here after a stay in Bangkok, we had 3 nights here and the hotel was excellent, great service and couldnt fault the food, the rooms were very big and clean and modern the rooms were kept upto by maid, are room also overlooked the pool and was quite far away from the reception, this hotel is great but the locations is the only let down, I would definatly return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Close to reception near the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank leanna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed 10 nights here after a short visit to Bangkok - just right after the hustle and bustle of the city. We were amazed at the quality of the hotel the reception/lobby area was stunning to start with! Our room was spacious, spotless and very comfortable indeed. It is a very quiet hotel peaceful and relaxing with no music in pool areas (which for me is heaven) the beach is no longer accessible from the hotel steps due to some errosion it seems but its a nice walking beach for an early morning or after lunch stroll. We had all our meals in the nearby village Ban Kwai (they need the custom) again suited us perfectly small, quiet and very friendly with plenty of bars and eateries to last your hoilday. We took advice of previous reviewers and tried most of the restaurants the food quality is excellent and the lovley people will do any thing for you. Would like to mention Harrys Bar as not seen it on reviews the welcome is warm the food amazing and Alan very kindly gave us use of his internet to check in online. He also recommended Mr Lamphong (Taxi) who took us to the Bridge over the River Kwai and Tiger Temple he looked after us so well we had a marvellous day and paid far less than the organised excursions. Wouldnt recommend Tiger Temple its over £12 per person entrance fee but then everything else is extra. You can pay around £22 to have your photograph taken with heavily sedated tigers (they must be - theres no way tigers would happily allow the workers to haul them into position by their tails otherwise!) Its a further £22 to watch the tigers excercise its a further fee to play with the cubs its a rip off basically. We had a trip to a local elephant sanctury in Hua Hin where you paid around £12 which included an elephant ride and a short show by a baby elephant - bit uncomfortable with that but she appeared happy and well cared for. Must give a mention to Travel East who did our transfers and excursions in Bangkok they gave an excellent service in comfortable air conditioned vehicles. Fist holiday to Thailand but not the last!

Room Tip: Dont think there will be a bad room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goaaddicts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We flew with Etihad airlines, excellent flights with plenty of entertainment in the seat
We used Oriental Escapes for our transfer to Cha Am, very good service
This hotel is a 2-3 hour drive from Bangkok
Its a Large hotel in its own extensive grounds
Our room was very nicely furnished with a king-size bed that was an absolute delight to get into each night. The room had its own fridge and you were provided with complimentary bottled water each day
We were on the 5th floor overlooking a large pond teeming with fish. On our first morning we were looking out and we spotted a very large lizard (about a metre long) wandering around the pond
The pool area is very nice and spacious and there are plenty of beds available, Towels are provided. The restaurants do a very reasonable daily lunch time special
We expected to be able to walk directly on to the beach from the hotel however the sea was so high there wasn’t any beach available from the hotel steps. We found however we could walk onto the beach to the side of the hotel. The beach was pretty small and the sea didn’t look very inviting. A 10 minute walk along the beach there is a small bar shack. The food you order isn’t cooked on site, they phone your order to somewhere and then later a man on a scooter turns up with your food, the shack also provides thai massage for 150 bahts for 1 hour.
The hotel has bikes for hire (40 bahts per hour) On one of our rainy days we went on a bike ride through the local area. It was fun and I would recommend it
Just outside the hotel is the village which provides lots of bars and restaurants. Most nights we were able to try a different restaurant and then we normally ended up in Gena & Owens Bar. Gena owns a 10 seater minibus and she lets customers of the bar use it at very reasonable rates
We went into Hua Hin a few nights (30 minute drive) to visit the night market and ate at the market Cafes there. We also went to Cha Am (20 minute drive) on the Wednesday night to visit the “locals” night market there
We visited the Elephant safari in Hua Hin, we were shocked to find it was 1000 Bahts each to have a 1 hour ride. The ride was fun but the scenery very disappointing

We really enjoyed our visit to Thailand, the weather wasn’t great, however the hotel was good, the food was excellent everywhere and the biggest plus point was the friendliness of the Thai people

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank markysparky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We recently spent 5 nights here at the end of a tiring 11 day tour of Thailand, and found it to be just what we needed. The hotel is set in spacious, well-maintained grounds with two large pools. The breakfast restaurant featured a good selection of food, and the spa was excellent. The hotel is situated on a nice beach, with cafes that are worth visiting when exploring. It is not advisable to go in the sea, as it drops steeply and has jellyfish.

The hotel staff were all very friendly and the rooms were always kept clean. The hotel was quiet in the evening as most guests opted to visit one of the local restaurants outside. We went to the Family Restaurant and Sawas Dee, and found them both to be excellent, though no doubt there are others that are also good.

This is good hotel for a short quiet break.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jeffrey42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cha-am hotels
0.4 mi away
Novotel Hua Hin Cha Am Beach Resort and Spa
0.3 mi away
Cera Resort Chaam
Cera Resort Chaam
#15 of 62 in Cha-am
202 reviews
4.3 mi away
Sheraton Hua Hin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Tara Mantra Cha Am
Tara Mantra Cha Am
#20 of 62 in Cha-am
97 reviews
0.9 mi away
Veranda Resort and Spa Hua Hin Cha Am - MGallery Collection
3.2 mi away
Grand Pacific Sovereign Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Regent Cha Am Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Regent Cha Am Beach Resort

Address: 849 / 21 Petchkasem Road, Cha-am 76120, Thailand (Formerly Holiday Inn Resort Regent Beach Cha-Am)
Location: Thailand > Phetchaburi Province > Cha-am
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Cha-am
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Cha-am
#9 Spa Hotel in Cha-am
Price Range: $66 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Regent Cha Am Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 559
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Regent Cha Am Beach Resort embraces an enchanting stretch of unspoiled beach along the sunrise side of the Gulf of Thailand. The resort naturally blends with its lush tropical garden surroundings. The rooms are accessed by airy, open corridors with soothing views of the vast park's greenery or the twinkling blue sea. We are delighted to announce on our newly expanded and nourished beach, new coat of paint for the entire 559 room resort, a newly renovated main wing swimming pool together with a new contemporary landscaping, an enchanting Peppina on The Beach Italian restaurant and all newly renovated sea facing deluxe rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your The Regent Cha Am Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Regent Beach Cha-Am Hotel Cha-Am
Cha Am Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Cha-Am
Regent Cha-Am
Cha-Am Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing