We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not very good at replying to emails re bookings for Feb 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Regent Cha Am Beach Resort
Ranked #10 of 63 Hotels in Cha-am
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 21, 2012

What is it with this hotel chain in replying to emails, 4 days 5 days and longer to confirm bookings . It just is not good enough .Still waiting 21st Sept 2012.
We had a lovely stay in October 2011 and previous years .
Nice and quiet, staff usually very good ( not at replying to emails i might add}.
Serious consideration of looking elsewhere due to lack of communication.

Room Tip: Anavana Villia's when you can get through to booking one are excellent
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank red03esb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at The Regent Cha Am Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Dear red03esb,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your stay. It is nice to hear that you had a great stay on the previous years that you stayed at our hotel. However, I would like to apologize for any inconvenience you have experienced because of the delayed emails. Your comments will be forwarded to the ownership of the hotel to take into consideration for future upgrades.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (672)
There are newer reviews for The Regent Cha Am Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

300 - 306 of 672 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2012

Arrived at the hotel and was greated by the receptionists with a smile and a welcome drink. The building inside looked really classy with sofas and a little bar area. the staff insisted on carring my bags up to the room. My first impressions of the room was how beautiful it was and how big the balcony was. The bed was comfortable and king size.

The beach is beautiful and easy to acces from the accomadation. white sand and had a couple of restrants just a short distance along the beach and the food is relitivley cheep but tasty.

There is a village just out side the hotel grounds with a few restrants, bars and shops. the town near by was hua hin a 20 min drive i recomend to get the shuttle bus from the hotel as its much cheaper then taxi. cha am just a short trip away with sevral restrants bars and shops. i will recomend this hotel to others and i will have to go back again as i enjoyed it.

Room Tip: i stayed at the top floor superior sea view as such a beautiful view over the gulf of Thailand
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jack H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Just returned from 8 nights at the Holiday Inn. Firstly can i say that this holiday was taken with my husband and my elderly (but active parents). We have been to Thailand many times but this was our first stay at the Holiday Inn and we were all more than pleased with everything it had to offer. Our rooms were beautiful, lovely walk in shower cubicle, fabulous air con and it was kept spotlessly clean by Winpen our daily maid. The property and grounds were kept beautiful and the staff all had smiles on their faces and were willing to help whenever we asked for anything. The only negative i can find was the fact that wifi was so expensive - considering it was available at most of the restaurants in the little village - 5 minutes walk away.

We loved walking into the village of an evening and tried 5 different restaurants - all which were really enjoyable - although I think Bow Thai was my favourite. There was also a lovely little beach shack about 400 metres up the beach that sold delicious food and we ate of a lunch time there most days and also enjoyed a thai massage for 180 THB.

We made friends with Mr Too a man in the village who ran a taxi business and he took us lots of different places and was always reliable and happy to help us.

I am starting to wonder if I am easily pleased because when I look at all my reviews there is only one hotel that I would never return to. I really think that sometimes people expect too much and expect everything to be perfect. I dont get too stressed if the maid has not been in my room my 12.00 lunch time or if they run out of pool towels - or if room service is too slow.

At the end of the day this was a lovely trip enjoyed by us all especially my parents who thoroughly enjoyed their first visit to Thailand at the ages of 86 and 81.!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank smilerdownes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

In the last 10 years we've stayed here 7 times. This may sound boring but having travelled around Thailand over the last 20 years we're just looking for somewhere to chill out. This hotel fits the bill perfectly and this year was no exception.

Rooms aren't 5 star but they're comfortable a nice touch was the two sets of towels per person, which meant you could have showers in the morning and evening (after the pool/beach) without them being damp. We usually go for the Regency Wing which offers larger rooms with a small lounge area.

During August the place is generally very quiet (at times there seems more staff than guests) but this is what we like. Service throughout our stay couldn't be faulted and the majority of staff are friendly and very helpful. It's always nice to be remembered and the staff here do it in style (even the housekeeping staff, one of whom we've had on the last 5 occassions). Check-in was welcoming and fast, housekeeping is efficient, and restaurants have good menus with staff that are attentive but not intrusive. Pools are a good size and seem well maintained (poolside at the Regency Wing has been refurbished).

Sadly there's very little beach at high tide, it was destroyed by a bad storm a few years ago and it's struggling to recover.

Being the low season there's very little going on in the hotel during the evening, but a 2 min walk outside of the hotel brings you to the village where there are a selection of small bars and restaurants (none of them Michelin star) offering reasonably priced food an drink, there are also a couple of mini marts for anything else you need. However the downturn in tourism in the last couple of years has meant some places closing at this time of year, but there are still enough open in August to give an alternative to using the hotel.

Location is about 25Km from Hua in and a round trip taxi ride for upto 7 people (they drop you and come back at an agreed time) will cost you just over £12 (you don't pay until you get back to the hotel).

For the last few years the hotel has been managed by Holiday Inn, but it reverts to the original ownership in Jan 2013. The hotel had a good reputation in Thailand before Holiday Inn took over and it seems to have maintained this during their time. We've experienced this hotel under both regimes and can honestly say that we have no reservations about returning again

Room Tip: If you can get an upgrade go for the Anavanna Villas which are located in the grounds, they provide...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CPC84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

This was our third visit to this hotel in 5 years and the changes, particularly in terms of value for money, are astonishing. 
Lunch in the terrazzo restaurant for 5 people was 3500 baht, approx £70. Compared to UK prices that seems good, but compared to dinner, again for 5,  in Lucky's restaurant in the little village at 750 baht (approx £15) it's disgraceful. Lucky's food is delicious and a great selection, and whilst not as salubrious as the resort's restaurants, it is well worth the walk to the little village, considering what you are saving!!
Can of juice at terrazzo 70 baht (£1.50 ish)
Can of juice from mini market less that 2 mins walk away 16 baht (30p) yes the hotel has overheads etc, but that is daylight robbery...
Wifi is available, but again grossly overpriced and should be include in the cost, especially considering the cost of the overpriced food!! Holiday inn have also removed the mini bar from every room, apparently on feedback of customers. Whilst I can appreciate that some people may not wish to use the minibar and opt to buy from the mini market instead it would be nice to have the option, especially after arriving at 11pm when the shop has closed! The best quality of the Holiday Inn by far is the staff. Yes as another poster has stated,  their English is limited (I still can't quite believe that someone on here actually commented on that, I bet their English is a lot better than your Thai!) and they are polite, kind and generous, nothing was a chore for them an always a smile and a wai. 
Few other comments I'd like to make for future travellers. If you have booked a family suite these are great for kids, separate ship themed bedroom which is a lovely touch HOWEVER avoid room 2242. It's location is great, just past reception before you go downstairs to the poolside. It is also next to the gents toilets and when someone is smoking in the toilets the smoke carries though the ventilation system into the childs bedroom. We raised this with staff, who offered to move us, however holiday inn need to fix this indefinitely. 
People leave the pool and go for lunch to the  terrazzo restaurant in their swimwear, whilst not expecting full dinner dress I really don't want to look at men and women of a certain age, and certainly not on the slim side, wearing next to nothing while I am having my lunch. A bit of modesty please. 
In conclusion...beautiful location, delightful staff, however avoid room 2242, buy meals, drinks etc out with the hotels grounds, and at least put on a sarong if you do go to the terrazzo for lunch, please!! 

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Middlejenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

This property, recently been acquired by the ICHotels Group, is now being operated under the Holiday Inn brand. This association ceases in Jan 2013.

The resort itself is huge, all of 40 acres, and is located on the beach-front.

The standard rooms and facilities are average but the hotel does offer a two large swimming pools and a direct access to the beach and sea.

The breakfast spread is adequate and choice is ample.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wont2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

This is my second stay at this hotel within last 12 month. The staff is great, breakfast rich and wide, ideal facilities to relax, few steps from Cha-am beach if you wish to walk or jog, and if you opt not to use hotel facilities, quality food is available at the village next door.
Yes rooms need to be maintained/ upgraded, but my package included free breakfast and internet at very reasonable price. It was again a pleasant experience, and would certainly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Poolside rooms offer better view
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nabil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IntaraR, Executive Assistant at The Regent Cha Am Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2012

Dear Nabil,

Thank you for staying with us.

I am delighted to know that you had a great time during your recent stay with us. I have already passed your compliments to the team and I hope to welcome you back to the resort very soon.

Best regards,

Sandra Kloprogge,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cha-am hotels
0.4 mi away
Novotel Hua Hin Cha Am Beach Resort and Spa
0.3 mi away
Cera Resort Chaam
Cera Resort Chaam
#14 of 63 in Cha-am
202 reviews
5.6 mi away
Tara Mantra Cha Am
Tara Mantra Cha Am
#20 of 63 in Cha-am
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Sheraton Hua Hin Resort & Spa
5.5 mi away
Golden Beach Hotel Cha-am
3.2 mi away
Grand Pacific Sovereign Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Regent Cha Am Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Regent Cha Am Beach Resort

Address: 849 / 21 Petchkasem Road, Cha-am 76120, Thailand (Formerly Holiday Inn Resort Regent Beach Cha-Am)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phetchaburi Province > Cha-am
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Cha-am
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Cha-am
#9 Spa Hotel in Cha-am
Price Range: $65 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Regent Cha Am Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 559
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Regent Cha Am Beach Resort embraces an enchanting stretch of unspoiled beach along the sunrise side of the Gulf of Thailand. The resort naturally blends with its lush tropical garden surroundings. The rooms are accessed by airy, open corridors with soothing views of the vast park's greenery or the twinkling blue sea. We are delighted to announce on our newly expanded and nourished beach, new coat of paint for the entire 559 room resort, a newly renovated main wing swimming pool together with a new contemporary landscaping, an enchanting Peppina on The Beach Italian restaurant and all newly renovated sea facing deluxe rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Regent Cha Am Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Regent Beach Cha-Am Hotel Cha-Am
Cha Am Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Cha-Am
Regent Cha-Am
Cha-Am Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing