We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
StayForLong
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
View all 7 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (27)
Filter reviews
27 results
Traveler rating
16
7
3
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
16
7
3
1
0
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 27 reviews
Reviewed November 7, 2011

A really unique small place right next to a pure white sand beach which is impeccable.
A gem hidden from view and a great surprise to discover.
rooms are colourful and interesting, having a sort of spanish/morrocan kind of feel.
staff delightful. Intimate place to stay, especially a a place to stay over for a few days if you are on a long drive.

Room tip: all rooms offer a different delight
Date of stay: December 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank petethepistol
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2010

We went on a weekday which was a blessing as we avoided the Bangkok crowd. The resort is a small homely place in between Hua Hin and Cha-am. It could be a little difficult to find as it was on one of the turn-offs in the middle of the highway. We drove and had a GPS system and that helped with us finding the place.

The resort is tucked away in the midst of the bigger resorts and condominiums. Little bungalows pop up among the trees, very colourful, very cheery. We booked a Seaview Bungalow with a rooftop terrace overlooking the beach. It literally is just a few steps away from the beach so sealovers can be assured this is a good place for you.

What really impressed me most was the personalised service despite its modest operations. The security guard / bell boy was this lovely spritely old man who insisted on carrying everything for us. The lady at the check-in counter was also extremely helpful, we simply asked if there were any recommended restaurants, any recommended tourist spots, and she had her whole team standing at the reception giving us ideas and showing us directions on the map.

Then there was the free newspaper delivered everyday to your room - unexpected for a small hotel like this. And the free bucket of ice waiting in the late afternoon for drinks on the rooftop terrace after sunset. We never asked for anything but everything was already well-thought out for us.

The room was large, colourful, the bathroom was huge (no bathtub), the bedroom well-stocked with a little minibar, towels, beach towels, beach slippers etc.

There is a small pool, more for a soak than a swim. A small restaurant where they serve breakfast - feels like a kitchen in a friends' house, very warm and homely feeling.

I would say Casa Papaya is a little gem, a little surprise in a city full of big hotels and large chains. They don't have anything fanciful, but they did everything with such warmth and sincerity it was a pleasure staying here.

However, you do have to note that the location of Casa Papaya is further away from the main Cha-am beach area, and recommended only if you have a car or don't mind paying for transport or just want to stay-in most of your stay.

Date of stay: November 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PrinCessPraze
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2007

We stayed at Casa Papaya for 9 nights over Christmas and New Years. We found it online and were originally going to book through a booking website but managed to find their own website and booked directly which gave us a better deal (and a better room).

We had the beach front bungalow and it was truly right on the beach with only 5 metres or so of lawn separating us from the sand. The place itself is actually about 5 kms out of Cha Am the town so very quiet, particularly in the lead up to Christmas.

Excellent service from all the staff, they were very friendly and breakfast each day was lovely and made to order!

The resorts nearby got quite full leading up to NY Eve and the parties were pretty full on but it didn't detract from our own evening on our rooftop which was very romantic and pretty.

Would definitely go back if we went back to this area of Thailand. Enjoyed it more than Hua Hin (which we only visited for a day at a time) as it's more secluded and no hawkers on the beach!

Date of stay: December 2005
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2020 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2020 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews