We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neither here nor there and definitely not 4 stars!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Hua Hin Cha Am Beach Resort and Spa
Ranked #7 of 63 Hotels in Cha-am
Stockholm, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Neither here nor there and definitely not 4 stars!”
Reviewed January 7, 2011

So, we (my mum, brother & I) wanted a nice X-mas holiday at a 4-star resort by the sea.. We searched all our large travel agents' and felt that this one would be good. Right on the long Cha-am beach, massive pool (if one considers their lovely photos) and so on..

However, right from the get go it all went to shambles - we (the 3 of us) were given a room with 1 bed... Once we brought this to the attention of the front desk staff he huffed and puffed and gave us another room, with 2 beds... We actually stayed in this room for a week.. When we realised that we were nuts and started demanding (from our agents) that we should be moved to a proper 4-star location and given our reasons she conceded...however we would have had to pay an exorbitant amount of money (2000 euro) to move so we settled for a swift room change.. We were now given a room with a kingsized bed and a promise of an extra to be put in - when we, after a day by the jetty (not beach) we went back to our new room and discovered a tiny bed suitable for camping trips with very short people, we felt a little dejected. We brought this new problem to the attention of the front desk manager (?), he called house keeping who immediately and with a lovely smile started trying to solve the problem, after conferring with someone on the phone she brought a footstool to the end of the bed as a potent solution to the problem of my brother's legs being 30 cms to long... I honestly didn't know how to react to this, so I smiled and rushed down to the front desk manager almost in tears with frustration - Eventually they came to the brilliant solution of putting a really large mattress on top of the tiny bed. He slept on this solution for a night, almost tipping the bed during the night when he swoshed from one side to the other... We did get a proper adult-sized bed the next day and were content with that part.

As for Location - it is NOT on the beach, there's a beach to the right and another on to the left but not in front of the hotel. The pool is beautiful, the shape, the water, etc However, it is not sufficient for the massive hotel, on one of the busiest days it was so packed with people that you could literally not get a foot in. The pool is as previous reviewers have mentioned usually full of toddlers, kids and their doting and ever attentive parents..

As for Standard - it has lovely facilities; a fair gym, an internet café, a sports bar and an ocean front restaurant. The finish however, is not 4 star worthy. The furniture is scuffed, the interior design of the 3 rooms we got to see were all a little scruffy, clean but definetely worn.

Had we wanted a 3 star hotel, paid accordingly and expected a pool side holiday we would have been extremely happy. We spoke to a family (with kids) who had made a steal purchasing their holiday and paid a lot less than us and they were very pleased with the hotel. Less pleased though, by the fact that it literally is in the middle of NOWHERE. It is neither in Cha Am nor in Hua HIn. It's approximately a 30 min drive from HUa HIn and about 20 min from Cha Am - so really neither there nor here... Icing on the top of this issue is that there is not complimentary shuttle, there's a bookable minibuss that costs the same as a taxi outside the gates..

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank annanb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    478
    583
    209
    60
    22
See reviews for
672
370
41
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2010

We chose Cha-am over Hua Hin because we wanted a quieter locale. It was a small fishing village--getting more developed. The Courtyard Marriott is right on the sea, however, there is no beach. There was a sign asking guests not to go near the hotel's jetty because of bad weather--it was windy. There is beach a little further down to walk on. The rooms are nice--we had a top floor, corner room. Very responsive and nice staff. Food is expensive and nothing too special. There are some local restaurants at the hotel gate. We found two things of concern 1) the room safe was not connected to anything--floor, wall, etc. You could pick it up and walk out the door with it. 2) This hotel caters to families and if you are looking for a quiet getaway, pick your times carefully. Plus, there is no separate "kids" pool and children were in the pool with just diapers covered by flimsy swim suits--no plastic pants required, etc. We wrote the management about both the safe and the pool. He said he was surprised about the safes and would fix them. As for the pool, he said they have the water tested regularly--so maybe its not an issue. I would recommend to friends but with the caveats mentioned above.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Gottago1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGP
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2010

For a 4* hotel, it is incredibly poor value for money. First thing we noticed in the room was that there were no bathrobes nor bedroom slippers provided. When we wanted to open a bottle of wine, we called the reception for a wine opener and was told to 'walk downstairs to the bar to open it'. So we took the lift down to the bar to get the wines opened.

The lifts were slow and at times the ventilation in the lift was off. Making it a stuffy ride down 22 floors.

Internet is free for the first hour. But do not use more than that. they charge 200++ baht for an hour and 600++ for an entire day. Its daylight robbery!!! Worst is that there is no free wireless anywhere in the hotel. Given how cheap internet access can be these days, it is no excuse for a 4* hotel to charge an arm and a leg for internet access.

Staff could not speak good english and corroborated with local taxi drivers to fleece guests. Receptionist also recommended all the restaurants/taxi drivers that charge alot. It cost an incredible 250 baht to travel 6km to a restaurant that the receptionist recommended. The receptionist must have taken some kickback from these 'recommendations' In addition, shuttle service to cha-am and hua hin were arranged with reluctance. by far, this is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. the location is atrocious.

The only saving grace is that the hotel has great views. The rooms itself are jaded and old. I stayed in the 4points sheraton in BKK for 80% of the price and they are by far so much better.

I WILL NOT RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL TO ANYONE UNLESS I TRULY HATE YOU.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jw2827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2010

Moved to the Courtyard after a few nights at the Hilton in Hua Hin. Hilton was VERY central, but a bit too noisy and impersonal for us. Short stay there would be perfect. After a couple of nights in the hustle and bustle we were ready for some peace and quiet. Spent 11 nights at the Courtyard. First impressions are a little jaded, not unclean at all, just tired, especially at the beach cafe, but the staff more than make up for this. It was pretty empty during the week but filled up with weekend visitors mostly from Bangkok. My husband and I were there to golf, which as and aside, was excellent. We played 8 different courses within 30 mins of the hotel. We chose the Courtyard because it was quieter, and more personal. Facilities are excellent, the cafe on the beach serves a good choice of Thai and International food, at reasonable prices. Mo mo cafe on the go, in the lobby, was great for a quick breakfast, fresh fruit, tea, coffee, toast, croissants and Danish pastries, and much less expensive than the 500 baht breakfast in the dining area. The cafe staff were delightful, always smiling. Obviously outside the hotel in the street area there are a wide variety of good local restaurants, shops and massage places. the hotel also has its own spa and gym. The gardens are very nice and the pool area also very good, you can swim up to the pool bar. The beach has been washed away somewhat by the unusually high tides, but it did not diminish our enjoyment at all.
The bar in the lobby serves food also and they had a very acceptable happy 2 hours, with lots of cocktails 2 for 1. They are doing their best to keep you in the hotel, which is admirable, but if you are there for a longer stay, wandering in the local area would be recommended.
All of the rooms boast a sea view. However we did find them a bit soulless, and the television sets in the next door rooms were annoying when on too loudly. Banging doors also a pest, so basically a bit like any box room hotel anywhere, not adequately soundproofed. We transformed all of this by upgrading to the suite on the 23rd floor, then it was fabulous. Quiet, brilliant views and a much bigger room. Yes it cost extra but it was worth every penny. We would go back if we could be guaranteed these better rooms.
It is about 10 miles from Central Hua Hin and 8 miles from Cha Am so in the middle of both. Taxis cost around 500-600baht for a round trip. Negotiations are always fun!
To sum up, for us, as golfers, it was ideal. The staff made it even more special.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mummygoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
114 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2010

I have been to Hua Hin several times and always stayed at 4-5 star resorts. After staying at the Courtyard Hua Hin at Chaam Beach Hotel I can say with 100% certainty that I wasted my money at the other resorts.

This hotel is absolutely beautiful in its decor, design, location, pool, rooms, and cafes. The staff are INCREDIBLY nice and helpful and I never had to ask for a thing (which is rare in most hotels in Thailand).

The breakfast buffet was amazing - with both Western and Asian cuisines, while the gym was large, modern, and clean.

My only negative comment about this hotel is that there are many families with a lot of kids. Of course, this can be a positive for some but for us it got annoying a few times with screaming children every now and then.

And lastly, when I notified the hotel when making the reservation that it was our anniversary they proceed to give us an upgrade to the top floor and left beautiful rose pedals on our bed.

If you want a great hotel at a great price this is the place for you!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nyujay2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
2 reviews
Reviewed October 13, 2010

It is a very good place to travel with elders and kids. Kids love pool and slider there. There are a lot of kids activities to enjoy all day.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petch_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Hawaii, Hawaii
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2010

I stayed at this hotel for two nights because I like the Marriott chain and I know pretty much what to expect. I'm a former hotel executive with 25 years of experience, so I look at hotels differently than most others. This is a very nice hotel but it fell way short of industry standards in two areas: the floor of my room was dirty and not cleaned properly both days I was staying there, and somehow my wake-up calls got lost in the system both days! I missed two meetings because I didn't get the wake-up calls at all! (I addressed this with the MOD and she showed me the entry log entered for one wake up call, but regardless of the entry log the call s were never made.) I also think the $22/day for in-room internet service is excessive for Cha Am, but that's just my personal opinion.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank typicallytropical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cha-am hotels
1.3 mi away
Veranda Resort and Spa Hua Hin Cha Am - MGallery Collection
4.0 mi away
Sheraton Hua Hin Resort & Spa
5.9 mi away
Golden Beach Hotel Cha-am
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Tara Mantra Cha Am
Tara Mantra Cha Am
#20 of 63 in Cha-am
91 reviews
8.2 mi away
SO Sofitel Hua Hin
SO Sofitel Hua Hin
#3 of 63 in Cha-am
271 reviews
6.0 mi away
Cha-Am Methavalai Hotel
Cha-Am Methavalai Hotel
#21 of 63 in Cha-am
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Hua Hin Cha Am Beach Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Hua Hin Cha Am Beach Resort and Spa

Property: Novotel Hua Hin Cha Am Beach Resort and Spa
Address: 854/2 Burirom Road, Cha-am 76120, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phetchaburi Province > Cha-am
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Cha-am
#5 Family Hotel in Cha-am
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cha-am
#6 Spa Hotel in Cha-am
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Cha-am
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cha-am
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Hua Hin Cha Am Beach Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located between Cha Am and Hua Hin Novotel Hua Hin Cha Am Beach Resort and Spa is within 10-15 minutes drive from Hua Hin Airport and Hua Hin Night Market. The hotel provides 243 rooms with every room offering a balcony with stunning seaview of the Gulfof Thailand. The resorts beachfront outdoor swimming pool Kids World meeting facilities and spacious tropical garden for team building activities make the resort a perfect choice for families couples and meeting organisers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Novotel Hua Hin Cha Am Beach Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Hua Hin At Cha Am Beach Hotel Cha-Am
Courtyard Cha Am
Courtyard Hotel Cha Am

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing