We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old but big space”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Springfield Beach Resort
Ranked #38 of 63 Hotels in Cha-am
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    10
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
6
5
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2008

Stayed here over New Year. Slightly dated Hotel, but quality fittings and refurbed furniture throughout. Great pool for adults and kids. Staff very friendly and attentive. Grounds are well maintained. Restaurant prices reasonable both here and next door at Springfied @sea, which is the newer of the two resorts.

Located opposite calm beach, about 10 mins away from township of Hua Hin. I would stay here again and would recommend to friends.

Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Swanni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2008

If you are looking for a hotel where you simply sit on the beach or a lounger for a few days, then this is perfect. Plenty of space around the pool, the accommodation was clean, cool and spacious, the food pretty good, the room service reasonable and remarkably quick!

There was absolutely nothing to do at night. There is no bar as such, just an area in reception for drinking, and every night we were there it was pretty much deserted. Plus, the worst musical accompaniment I've ever heard...

One last point - the staff were absolutely fantastic! So attentive and polite we wanted to adopt half of them. That is, apart from a chap called Scoff, who I guess is duty manager. I am a very laidback kind of person but he did his very best during the 5 days we were there to get right on my nerves! From offhand, to accusatory, to downright rude, hisbehaviour was in marked contrast to those around him. If you are visiting this hotel, just be careful...!

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
6 Thank AndyGTFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2008

We stayed here for 10 nights in August 2007 after having spent 3 nights in Bangkok and found it to be absoluteutely fantastic and very relaxing. The staff were all very helpful and friendly and the hotel was very clean and modern. The hotels is set back off the main Cha-Am to Hua Hin road down a small road so it does not suffer from the noise of the traffic. Some reviewer have said that the hotel is too remote but we felt that not being in the town itself added to the relaxed atmosphere and Cha-Am is only 5 minutes away in a taxi. Also Hua Hin is about 20 minutes away and as anyone who has been to Thailand will tell you the prices are very low including the taxis. There are several bars/restaurants and shops within a 5 minute walk of the hotel and we tended to use these rather than the hotel for food and drinks as they are much cheaper. The pool area is brilliant with a slide for the kids(and the adults if I am honest) and surrounded with trees and plants. The room we stayed in was very large and the air conditioning was very effective, just what you need in a hot country like Thailand. The hotel reception is open straight through to the pool area which allows a nice breeze through which was very refreshing. Also in reception there is internet access and they had the Bangkok Post in English. The hotel offers excursions but some of the local bars offer a taxi service and it can work out more cost effective to hire a taxi for the day and get them to take you where you want to go. Also check out the places on the beach for a massage as these are cheaper than the hotel and just as good.

  • Liked — Relaxed friendly atmoshpere
  • Disliked — Having to come home
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank TheHitman69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2007

We were hoping to find a secret treasure by avoiding the more popular resorts like Ko Samui etc but were very disappointed with this hotel and the surrounding area. The hotel was is a very tatty location with nowhere local worth walking to and the beach was full of litter. The staff were very nice and the rooms and pool were lovely but the food was awful with the restaurant empty most nights.

Hua Hin was better though the selection of authentic Thai restaurants was a let down.

All in all a real shame, would chose somewhere more developed next time, which I never thought I would say.

  • Stayed November 2006
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank Becheeky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2007

We have just returned from a great 10 night stay at the Springfield Beach Resort in Cha-Am, Thailand. My wife, myself and our 2 daughters (3 1/2 year old and 2 year old) live in London and met the in-laws from Sydney 'half way'. We arrived on 20 December and left on 30 December. This resort was perfect for us and is ideal for families with young children. We would happily return.

The resort bus drive from Bangkok to Cha-am is 3 hours long so we were happy to find a relaxing, modern resort at the end of the journey. The resort itself is off the main road leading to Hua Hin and after a short drive down a tarred road (not a track at all, as one commenter has said), you arrive at the resort itself. The atrium is large and light, the staff professional and experienced. Just beyond the atrium there is the large pool, then immediately after that the beach itself. The resort is spotless, nicely decorated, fully serviced with functioning elevators, internet, newspapers etc. There is a shop at the resort itself and outside the resort selling full milk (for the kids), beer, fruit etc. There are also mini-marts in the towns, so everything you need is close by.

Those of you with experience of Thailand know that the people are special. They are just so friendly and caring. The staff at the resort were no exception, doing everything for us. The building is at least 25 floors high, so they made sure to book us on the 2nd floor (we were in a family suite, the grandparents next door in a normal room). The rooms are spacious, with good facilites, large fridge, mini-bar, CD player, television, air conditioning etc. They are decorated in traditional Thai style. Hint - when booking try for lower floors as the winds make it difficult for guests on higher floors to use the balconies. Rooms are cleaned daily and also on request - our littlest one needed a rest in the day and the room would be cleaned whenever required.

There was plenty to do. The pool is a nice one, but the kids also loved the kid's play area on the resort and the beach just outside it. We took day trips to Hua Hin and to a lookout just south of Hua Hin, replete with Buddhist shrines and monkeys etc. Hua Hin night market is excellent, but we also explored the new, modern shopping mall that the Thais in Hua Hin are now embracing. As for eating, there is really a very good choice available in the resort itself, on the beach or in the towns. Thai food is always good but absolutely awesome in Thailand itself. Taxis take you everywhere you want to go and are also very affordable.

All in all we couldn't be happier with our stay at Springfield and we were sad to go. Our only regret was that we didn't get up to the Spa and Golf complex in our time there, which we have heard is very good indeed. Next time, perhaps!

  • Liked — The people
  • Tips/Secrets — Try to reserve rooms on lower floors
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank TKJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2006

We visited this hotel after travelling to Hong, Sydney and Bangkok and just wanted a relaxing week before we went home. We booked through Tradewinds and we got an excellent price for this and our Bangkok accommodation. I asked to book the best rooms possible (because it was all so reasonably priced) and paid for sea-view deluxe room. The room was okay- quite large and cleaned every day. The bathroom was really dated, with a little over-the-bath shower and a horrible plastic curtain. Worst of all, we couldn't see the sea at all - we looked straight out onto the palm trees that surround the room. We couldn't sit on our balcany (no sun - no view) and there was a notice on the window warning us of the mossies.
The pool at the Springfield Beach resort is quite nice and a good size. However, due to where the hotel is built you are very restricted as to when you can sun bathe as the huge tower block casts shadows over the pool. I can't go out in the strong sun so we went at 8am for an hour or two, but by about 4ish the whole area is in the shade. The food at the hotel is very good and, in my view, not overly expensive. We wouldn't walk on the beach as it was full of tiny dead fish and jelly fish, so basically, unless you get a taxi out of the hotel you are stuck to the place. We took a bus in to Hua Hin, but you need to book it as early as possible as it did get full. I arranged to have my hair highlighted at the Springfields Golf resort, and caught the hotel shuttle up there. The spa was very nice, although by Thai standards very expensive. I finshed about ten minutes after the shuttle bus went back to the beach resort (having been talked into having a facial as well) and faced the choice of waiting over two hours for the next bus or paying about seven pounds for a taxi. Not happy! I just felt a bit ripped off. Had a massage at the springfield beach resort and that was very good - approx £3 for an hour. All in all, this was a fairly average resort. If you like to get out and about I would say this is not the place for you. Several people that we spoke to wanted to leave before the end of their two week stay.

  • Liked — Resteraunt was quite good
  • Disliked — Too remote
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank luckylane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cha-am hotels
0.4 mi away
Casa Papaya Boutique Resort
0.2 mi away
Veranda Resort and Spa Hua Hin Cha Am - MGallery Collection
3.4 mi away
Dream Boutiques Hotel
Dream Boutiques Hotel
#22 of 63 in Cha-am
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Novotel Hua Hin Cha Am Beach Resort and Spa
0.1 mi away
Springfield @ Sea Resort & Spa
1.4 mi away
Sea Breeze Guest House
Sea Breeze Guest House
#4 of 68 in Cha-am
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Springfield Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springfield Beach Resort

Property: Springfield Beach Resort
Address: 825/5 Jumnong-Poomivej Road | Petchiburi, Cha-am 76120, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phetchaburi Province > Cha-am
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Cha-am
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Cha-am
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Springfield Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Springfield Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springfield Beach Hotel Cha-Am

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing