We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel but beach is not nearby”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mida De Sea Hua Hin
Ranked #41 of 62 Hotels in Cha-am
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We visited this hotel as a family trip and the hotel lobby is very airy, nice and comfortable. Check in went smoothly and staffs are helpful. The rooms are spacious and comfortable and the balcony overlooks the swimming pool depending which room you get. There wont be any sea view for sure because the sea side is not located just next to the hotel. Which means you need to take the caddy provided by the hotel to get to the beachside.You can walk if you dont mind the distance.
The swimming pool was nice to hang out in because it was quiet and the design of the pool is very modern .
You can walk to the factory outlets at the main road but can be dangerous because there are no pedestrian crossings.
The breakfast buffet that came which our hotel rate was mediocre.Need improvement on that.
Overall was a good experience.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tauruzspa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

51 - 57 of 105 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2013

I am writing this review around midday by the pool all alone. Not a soul at the huge and clean pool for over two hours on a March Saturday. This is luxury if anything in my mind.

Hotel staff is friendly and the not so good location over 10 km from Hua Hin can be excused because the hotel provides free transportation service three times a day in a covered lorry (eg. like a big Tuk-tuk).

We have a top 7th floor room with great view to the Gulf of Thailand. If you appreciate sea view try to get room from the fourth floor upwards since there is a small residential area between the hotel and the sea front.

The beach is not so nice since there is not amenities provided by this hotel and other hotels restrict their areas for own guests only. However the hotel provides a golf car ride to the beach.

The de Luxe room is spacious with a nice balcony. There is a kitchenette with huge cupboards but no kitchen-ware which is funny. The bathroom has both a shower and a tub. Also a bit pricy minibar and a free safe are available.

The breakfast is ok including tea, coffee bacon, eggs, ham, sausages, lettuce, vegetables, bread, two juices, buns, three sorts of fruits and of course Thai soup, fried rice and fried noodles. If you stay longer the breakfast starts to become boring.

The bed is hard rock like a futon andI got my back aching so bare this in yout mind.

All together for the price we got (62 euro's per night) it has been a very good deal and worth four stars.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jyrki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

I booked at the Mida De Sea for 5 nights on Wotif.com based on the description provided on the website. I will start with the negatives. The advertisement for the hotel states every room has a sea view and that there is a 200 metre private beach. Well the hotel is 400 - 600 metres from the water so I was disappointed as I expected it to be ''on the beach, or close by". Yes you have a view of the ocean from your room, however, the room overlooks a dingy dirty large pond, not what I expected. The last negative is the substantial distance into Hua Hin, which is 300 baht by taxi one way. Much further out of town than I expected or liked.

Now for the positives. When I arrived Wotif had not confirmed my booking with the hotel and the room I had booked was no longer available. To the credit of hotel staff, they upgraded me to a loft suite and chased up the booking the next day. Very professional and exceptionally helpful. I had booked a studio, but as I said I was upgraded to a loft suite. Two bedrooms, two bathrooms, balcony, kitchenette, lounge/dining and lots of room. The suite could not be faulted and the furniture and fittings were of a high standard. All the staff are professional and very helpful. The restaurant food was very good, I did not consume breakfast. They did provide a shuttle into town which was helpful but only scheduled for 3 trips per day. The bed was comfortable and the pillows great (my biggest gripe at most hotels i the quality of the pillows).

Overall, a great hotel that would have been much better located. I would recoommend this place to couples or people who want a nice quiet getaway who are happy to enjoy what the hotel has to offer and not travel too much.

Room Tip: The hotel is a fair way out of town so eating out can be expensive with the additional cost of taxi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luke C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Stayed a week with my parents at the end of January 2013.
Apparently things were getting more organized compared to some (bad) other reviews... :-)
The rooms (we got the small ones, 45 square meters, but duplex ones are available) were fine, clean (the sheets were just like a regular Thai resort, so not new but washed and ok), the bathroom was nice with a good shower and a decent size bathtub. There is even a small balcony (beware of mosquitos). The bed is just too hard and the pillows too big, making me wake up every 2-3 hours. The replacement pillow in the cupboard was the same also.

The pool is along the residence and from the duplexes on 2nd floor you can access them from your terrace. Strangely no device to call the staff for cocktails, but the bar is not that far (but point to improve here). The cocktails were tasty, except the dry martini, to avoid at all costs.

We had Thai food at the restaurant for dinner, which was actually excellent (confirmed by my Thai girlfriend), very authentic.

The breakfast was either a buffet when the hotel is busy a minimum, otherwise it is on order. Nothing special, not extraordinary but ok to start the day without problem.

I would suggest getting there with a car or renting one as indeed it is a bit in-between Cha-Am and Hua Hin, with not much to do around by foot. But plenty to do in a 20km radius... It is well-placed on the Phetkasem road, you just turn at the big "S" Sheraton sign. The exit is conveniently placed just before a U-turn area, if you go there you'll understand why it is actually worth mentioning. :-)

The surroundings are indeed not glamour (green water ponds), but as a base to go around it was fine. You can be driven in a golf cart to the beach, but indeed nothing extraordinary, the surroundings are dirty and the beach itself is not at European standards of cleanliness, but this is common to all public beaches I have seen in Thailand. If you like nice beaches, better take a resort with a private one.

The command of English from the staff was from basic to good, but beware of resorts where English is too good, it usually lacks authenticity. And the staff is nice anyway.
Booked through Agoda, so actually decent value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms at the end of the corridor look a bit bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GaiUan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Booked 4 nights at Golden Tulip Samudra...ended up staying for two weeks. That's how good it is!!! The rooms are amazing - spacious, clean, you get a sea view and sea breeze all day long. The beds are comfortable, the gym has great equipment and the pool is irresistible. The restaurant's not too bad. Can't wait for the rooftop lounge to open though! The best thing about this hotel is its staff. Everyone was so warm and friendly, from the manager to the receptionist and the waiters / waitresses to the maintenance workers... They never fail to smile and help anyone out and often went beyond their call of duty. They made the stay that much more enjoyable. Thank you Khun Jamnong, Maew, Opor, Joe, Apple, F, Paitoon, Tol, Faai, Nathii and all the rest of the staff whose names I didn't manage to find out. Thank you so much for your kindness and enthusiasm. Hope to see you again!

P.S. I think it would be even better if the frequency of the shuttle bus service could be increased during the peak season. Other than that, it's perfect!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Val L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Our first impression of the hotel was not very good. We came to stay here during the peak season of New Year's holiday, arriving a little after 3 pm. We were told that our room was not ready yet but would be in an hour. So we went out to pass the time but when we called to check at around 5pm., we were asked where we were, so we thought we'd better get back and wait for our room right at the lobby because it seemed like those who were waiting for their rooms at the lobby got their rooms alright by the time we were back there. We were told that our room was being made up and were offered some complimentary drinks from the bar. After 30 mins of waiting, we finally got our room! The room (we stayed in a Loft) was nicely designed and very spacious but a lot of functioning details were missing. Absolutely no trash bins, no hangers in the closet, toilet paper not hanging in their places (because there's nothing to hold it), telephone lying on the floor beside the bed because there is no night stand, bedroom door doesn't fit into the door frame and thus cannot be closed, water boiler has a Chinese plug and cannot be used with Thai socket, and we were told that all adapters were lent out to other customers! (They did send someone with a pot of hot water though)

It's a shame that you have such good rooms and well trained staffs, but uderstaffed (housekeeping) for the peak season, and missed out all those little things that count. We were 1603. We do like your hotel and staffs but we do hope for some improvement.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pumm34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

New Hotel, spacious room with beatiful design, modern bathroom, wonderfully nice and courteous staffs (10 out of 10 mark), plus fitness room, sauna, golf cart to the beach and nearby community anytime upon request, a small convenient store just 50 metre away, 2 tasty and reasonable priced homecook seafood restuarant next to the beach.......... all of these made our 2 nights stay truly relaxed and happy. Thanks.

Will certainly come again and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wutkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cha-am hotels
9.7 mi away
Tara Mantra Cha Am
Tara Mantra Cha Am
#19 of 62 in Cha-am
97 reviews
3.7 mi away
Novotel Hua Hin Cha Am Beach Resort and Spa
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Hua Hin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Cera Resort Chaam
Cera Resort Chaam
#12 of 62 in Cha-am
202 reviews
7.3 mi away
Grand Pacific Sovereign Resort & Spa
4.7 mi away
Regent Chalet Regent Beach Cha-Am
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mida De Sea Hua Hin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mida De Sea Hua Hin

Address: 1349 Soi Cha-am 53 (Bo-Kia Road) | Petchkasem, Cha-am 76120, Thailand (Formerly Golden Tulip Samudra - Hua Hin - Suites)
Location: Thailand > Phetchaburi Province > Cha-am
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 62 Hotels in Cha-am
Price Range: $59 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mida De Sea Hua Hin 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All the 115 rooms are with upscale comfort well equipped with design and modernity which features a well equipped fitness center including steam & sauna, elongated swimming pools. Each room has its own private terrace of balcony and with 5 star guestroom's amenities and complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the resort. Highlight of the resort, all the Suites on the second level having direct access to the central swimming pool which is the most heavenly and enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mida De Sea Hua Hin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing