We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“it is perfect,onley the electric power not good ”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Surat Thani
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mango Bay Grand Resort
Ranked #22 of 50 Hotels in Surat Thani
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    14
    4
    5
    4
See reviews for
2
15
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wester Cape
Level Contributor
75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2009

Ko Tao was an incredible disappointment, primarily for two reasons, 1: the weather was just horrible and 2: Mango Bay Grand Resort. The first was unavoidable it seems and I'd suggest that another time of year could be more enjoyable weather-wise. Mango Bay Grand Resort did not make it any better. Nothing was done to make our stay enjoyable. The owner was obnoxious and unaccomodating. Mango Bay Grand Resort resembled a ruined paradise construction site, partly due to weather damage suggesting opening on December 20th was mistaken. I believe that the owner was aware of this but didn't care. No electricity for most of the waking hours, poorly-stocked kitchen and bar, over-priced food, complete and utter desert island feel as it inaccessible most of the time due to the weather leaving you with nothing to do. Mango Bay Grand Resort was anything but grand. I would not recommend supporting this resort.

  • Liked — The local staff are very kind and friendly
  • Disliked — Staff, state of Mango Bay Grand Resort, expensive, stairs
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank D_Dubb015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
España
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 21, 2008

The views and place are really wonderful and the staff very friendly bad really very bad facilities and services . Very difficult to go to the main village, only two boat a day. No electricity during the day.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Customer service. Bad quality-price ratio
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Elena02hoyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Surat Thani hotels

Paris
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 10, 2008

Really nice view but nohing to do except sunbathing and snorkelling...
Difficult access but worth it...Don't plan to stay for too long. One night was a good compromise to rest and relax

  • Liked — View
  • Disliked — Price
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Pop7584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tombolo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2007

i came to mango bay just by chance i thought i wanted to see something more than mae haad and rairee beach when visiting koh tao i was very lucky to do so cause the mango bay grand resort is the perfect place to relax it is quiet the views over the bay and the sea are beautiful and the staff and managment offer a very friendly service the can make almost any arragment you' d like to make the stay pleasant and enjoyable the snorkeling was very very good
i will be back hopefully later this year

  • Liked — the amzing view and snorkeling
  • Disliked — the shot time i stay
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank mikeusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2007

Mango Bay Grand Resort is spectacularly beautiful. It is only accesible by boat. The bungalow was nice and good sized. The restaurant was ok. We went there because we had heard about the incredible snorkeling. I thought it was totally overrated. We left and went to Tanote Bay and the snorkeling was by far superior. The one thing that really irked me about Mango Bay though, was that while it's claim to fame is 'come snorkel here', it is incredibly hard to get in and out of the water. There is one very old, unstable, not at all user friendly ladder. Check out the pic. We were very disappointed all in all and found it to be not at all a good value for the money. At Tanote Bay we stayed somewhere just as nice and our bill for 3 days including food was less than one night at Mango Bay. Would not return.

  • Liked — Well it was beautiful..........
  • Disliked — Snorkeling experiance........everything under construction......still....very bad value.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cindyjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surat Thani hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Thara Hotel
Grand Thara Hotel
#25 of 50 in Surat Thani
3.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
1.0 mi away
Orchid Residence Suratthani
Orchid Residence Suratthani
#8 of 50 in Surat Thani
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tapee Hotel
Tapee Hotel
#21 of 50 in Surat Thani
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Wang Tai Hotel
Wang Tai Hotel
#24 of 50 in Surat Thani
3.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
1.7 mi away
Na Chaidej Hotel
Na Chaidej Hotel
#17 of 50 in Surat Thani
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bun Hotel Surat
Bun Hotel Surat
#2 of 50 in Surat Thani
3.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mango Bay Grand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mango Bay Grand Resort

Property: Mango Bay Grand Resort
Address: P.O. Box 41, 28/5 Moo 1 | Koh Phangan, Surat Thani 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Surat Thani
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Surat Thani
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Mango Bay Grand Hotel Surat Thani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing