We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, great beachfront location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandy Resort

Sandy Resort
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Surat Thani
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sandy Resort
Ranked #28 of 48 Hotels in Surat Thani
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, great beachfront location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2009

I think that really I would give this hotel a 3.5 rating rather that a four, it was quite simple with a basic set up and modest rooms. The shower was awful as it kept losing pressure and you had to stand there a hold the shower head above you or it would spray water all over the bathroom (though we found this a common design flaw in thai hotels!)

Despite this I really liked the bar, restaurant, pool area which I felt was very clean, comfortable area and they served a good range of food and drink options. Breakfast was also included which again was nice, provding both local and western options. In terms of beach access this hotel was great as it is right on a nice beach, perfect for sunbathing; however I found the sea directly in front of the beach wasnt great as their seemed to be quite alot of sharp rocks underfoot.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lexxuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    4
    3
    7
    3
See reviews for
3
4
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2009

I stayed here as part of a prebooked arranged tour and found this resort to be substandard. Our bunglaow was very basic with an awful view of a cinder block wall behind and a generator that made such a racket. Our row of bungalows didnt have proper ceilings and so we could hear everything from the rooms either side, and I mean EVERYTHING! Hot water was scarce and the toilets hardly flushed and took a long time to refil.

The security for each room was poor in that the rooms locked by a padlock only.

The curtains on our window smelled of stale urine and there had been insufficient cleaning under the bed.

The resturant was expensive and so we ate there only for lunch on our first day.

The beach beside the resort is poor and i walked for 10 mins to find a good spot.

I would hardly call this place a resort to be honest.

I wouldnt recommend the resort due to poor clenliness and also the bad location, away from all the goings on on Ko Samui, especially as taxis are expensive.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — the dirty toilets
  • Stayed January 2009
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tootsiebum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Surat Thani hotels

Glasgow
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2009

We stayed here in Dec 08 and found the rooms (double, aircon) clean and comfortable. The Sandy resort itself is a bit dated and tired round the edges. We found the 2km walk to the local Fishermand village a bit of a trek although there are regular taxi's (2 benchers) heading to and from the village centre.

We thought that it was overpriced (we paid 1300 baht per night) for what you got considering there are a lot of accomodation options closer to the village. We stayed here a couple of night and enjoyed the views from the pool and also the beach access but all in all we'd recommend that you try to get somewhere closer to the Fishermans village.

  • Liked — Clean, nice pool, beach access
  • Disliked — Distance from village centre, value for money
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mushlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2008

Stayed att this resort for two nights in the middle of November (monsoon season, so the review can be a little biased because of that).
The resort lies a little off on the western edge of Bophut Beach.
The beach outside the resort is very narrow (probably the most narrow part of Bophut except for some parts in Fishermans village).
The bungalows are small and very dark and the bathrooms are not of any high standard. The door to the bungalow is locked with a padlock and there is no safe.
The staff is though very friendly and the pool was clean.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank matteb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2007

No air conditioning, dirty bathrooms, can hear people in the next room VERY clearly and extremly basic all round. However the pool area/beach and restaurent look like they should be in a much more upmarket hotel - we were quite surprised.
Best to stay elsewhere on Bo Phut beach the place next door zanzeen I think it was called was amazing

  • Liked — The great pool and restaurent area
  • Disliked — The non A/C/ rooms are awful, although the A/C cottages looked lovely
  • Stayed August 2007
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank mjk105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2007

We decided when arriving to Koh Samui that we would stay out of the popular resorts on the east coast and look for something quieter, less croweded, less touristy but still young (in mid 20's). Headed to Bophut beach on the northern front - hotels here are expensive enough as things go but we chose this resort as it was low cost and was close to the Fishermans Village. On arrival the receptionists were very friendly, received welcoming cocktail....shown to our room - standard - rooms are quite small, old and basic but to be expected given cost overcome by the charm of the place. Staff are very friendly and helpful. If we were to go back may get deluxe/superior room as these seemed a little bigger. TV / air con and Fan in room - towels provided. Pool area is beautiful, pool very clean -- beach area is relatively small but enough sun beds all the same - very charming, quaint place. Got hotel transfer to the airport - 500baht which was expensive - better to get a meter taxi as they are plentiful in the area. Overall would give it 8 / 10 and would return..

  • Liked — Its unique charm!
  • Disliked — Room quite dated but had essentials.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Goonfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2006

The Sandy as its called is located on Bophut Beach. The hotel has a nice lobby and pool but the rooms were very very small and the walls only go up to the ceiling. We were having conversations with the people in the rooms next to us. There is no air conditioning or TV. The beach was all right but there is better places in Koh Samui to stay - like the place next door. There isn't much around this hotel to walk to. The restaurant adds 10% to the bill. The only good thing was that breakfast is included with the rooms.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — The rooms
  • Tips/Secrets — don't stay here
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank smallcatoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surat Thani hotels
0.0 mi away
Kaew Samui Resort
Kaew Samui Resort
#16 of 48 in Surat Thani
3.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
0.0 mi away
Diamond Plaza
Diamond Plaza
#15 of 48 in Surat Thani
3.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.0 mi away
S Tara Grand Hotel
S Tara Grand Hotel
#3 of 48 in Surat Thani
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The One Hotel
The One Hotel
#10 of 48 in Surat Thani
3.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bun Hotel Surat
Bun Hotel Surat
#2 of 48 in Surat Thani
3.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.0 mi away
Orchid Residence Suratthani
Orchid Residence Suratthani
#8 of 48 in Surat Thani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandy Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Resort

Property: Sandy Resort
Address: 177/1 Bophut Beach, Surat Thani 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Surat Thani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Surat Thani
#9 Spa Hotel in Surat Thani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandy Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Also Known As:
Sandy Hotel Surat Thani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing