We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful rainforest and lake”

Khao Sok National Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$89.62*
and up
Full-Day Natural Tours in Khao Sok from Phuket Including Lunch and Canoeing
Ranked #1 of 19 things to do in Surat Thani
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful rainforest and lake”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Khao Sok is definitely worth a visit, tho don't necessarily expect to see a lot of wildlife. Travellers rave about staying overnight on Chien Leow lake and it certainly is worth doing. The guide we had was excellent, friendly, trustworthy, and very knowledgable. He told us a lot about the insects, and other small creatures we saw. The boat trips to and around the lake were lovely. The trek to the cave with the stream in it was exciting and challenging and the small group we travelled with was very pleasant and friendly. the overnight raft accommodation on the lake was very basic and toilet facilities are as to be expected. The food was extremely good however.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank liz k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

973 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    631
    217
    76
    27
    22
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Spectacular Scenery”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I booked an overnight tour of the lake with some hiking / wildlife watching. Wildlife doesn't really feature very much, but the setting and scenery is really spectacular. Accommodation on the lake is not for the fainthearted.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Inselhuepfer3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good activities”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Good tours and activities available in the area - not a lot for us to do in the National Park itself - water levels were low, but it was the dry season! Probably great for hiking.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Derek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Beautiful”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Beautiful national park. You can see forever it seems like, and there is so much to do that you'll never find yourself bored.
Take advantage of all it has to offer because if you don't you sure will wish you had

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sevewhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
57 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Relaxation oasis even during busy season”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We visited Khao Sok for 3 full days end of December after 5 busy days in Singapore and before 2 days in Phuket for NYE and it was just perfect! Quiet, not crowded, beautiful, interesting tours - right what we needed for relaxation and retreat.
Unfortunately rafflesia was not in bloom yet, but we took 1 day lake tour, elephant trekking and canoe ride. Really happy I discovered that oasis which gave me that much needed tranquility during busiest tourist season.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank seaagal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Khao Sok National Park also viewed

Surat Thani, Surat Thani Province
Surat Thani, Surat Thani Province
 
Ban Ta Khun, Surat Thani Province
Surat Thani, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to Khao Sok National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing