We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a Gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
My Place @Surat Hotel
Ranked #1 of 69 Surat Thani B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Limassol, Cyprus
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“What a Gem!”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed two nights and wished we had stayed longer. Very nice room with good aircon etc.
Staff were very helpful and gave us two very helpful sheets with local eating places and local places to visit.
Very close to bus station and river where the night boats leave for the islands. Good local food every where and a good night market very close.
If you have time take the local river taxi to where the locals live up the creeks.....a nice 1 hour round trip.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pyrgosbrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    116
    28
    4
    4
See reviews for
27
136
42
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

We stayed in Surat Thani for the night as we had an early train to Bangkok the next morning. I did struggle to find a hotel as none were very close to the train station but I am very glad I booked this one. The rooms are basic but clean and the staff very helpful. There were lots of nice little touches like a map showing restaurants nearby. There was a night market about two minutes walk away where we had dinner and a lovely sweet bun place a few doors down where we got breakfast.
Surat Thani itself was not touristy and I wish we had had more time to explore as it looked very interesting.

Cab to train station took about 30 minutes and cost 250 Thai baht.

Overall great value for money and I would recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

The Hotel is, eventhough a budget place, an very clean and great adress to stay in this ugly town. Suratthani is not more then a place were travellers drive trough. When you can stay here at this 'my place hotel', i would recommend it. We even got a small postcard to thank our stay. Rooms are clean and rather big.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank THaans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
137 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

This is an excellent transit hotel for those going to or from Kho Sumai. If coming from Bangkok by AirAsia get the bus outside the arrival terminal and ask to be let off near the hotel. This worked for us and we had only to walk about 100m !!

The staff made a special welcome card for us and this was very pleasing after the journey from Bangkok. The hotel does not do food but the night market is close and this has some excellent Thai food. The room was clean and had a good bed. The WC and shower were fine and we had no complaint about anything.

In the morning we had Thai breakfast on the street. Remember to ask reception for a free map showing food outlets. After breakfast we walked to the bus station and took the bus link to catch the Kho Sumai ferry.

I recommend strongly this hotel as it is clean, friendly, well situauted and excellent value for money.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Merevaik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
penang
Level Contributor
116 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

While waiting for our flight the next day, we found myplace being the most affordable and strategic location to stay. It costs only 500b per night.

The night market is only about 100m to the left of the hotel. They are 2 departmental store, a 24 hr 7/11 like store, a pharmacy next door and they also arrange taxi to airport at 450 - 500b per taxi.

The rooms are basic with aircon, hot shower and tv with many non thai channels to watch. The pillow was a little stiff and the mattress was too bouncy...otherwise the sleep was good.

Overall, this place is highly recommended as a transit stay. Enjoy the various local dishes in the night market.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank drnara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

For the price we paid (AU$18) this place was indeed most satisfactory!! It is situated a short walk from the bus station in the city centre and, although it is on a big road, is remarkably quiet. Our room was large and simply, but attractively, furnished. Very comfortable bed. Cable TV with about 100 channels. Basic but spotless en-suite with good hot water in the shower! The air conditioning was quiet and effective. Couldn't get wi-fi in our room because of poor connectivity but I think it was available in the lobby.
No breakfast included in the price but there are lots of choices for whatever breakfast (or food, generally), that your heart desires including a great bakery just opposite. A “coffee pack” of two disposable cups, instant coffee, sugar and coffeemate was provided in the room and there was a hot water urn in the lobby for that energy giving coffee during the day.
The riverfront is very near. The night market a few minutes down the road.

We only stayed one night in Surat Thani but I'd willingly spend more time here if I got the chance. The town is incredibly lively, busy, bustling and full of smiling people.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OzziePG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

I've picked this hotel because of the great reviews it got but I was not expecting much given that we only paid around AUD $18 for two people for the night.
First thing I noticed when we arrived was how pleasant the front and reception area was. It is nice and clean and inviting. On top of the counter in the reception area was a little chalk board with the names of the arriving guests for the day with their corresponding country's flag right above it (my name was on the list ;-) ), it was a nice thoughtful touch.
They gave you a welcome drink and information of what's around the area, the cheapest way of getting to the airport (as generally people are only there as a stop over) etc. The room we had was big, clean with ensuite bathroom, nice new aircondition and a t.v. which had a number of English channel shows! After nearly a week of watching the same Al Jazeera News over and over again, I tell you what a trill it was to have English shows! ;-)
The staff are really friendly and helpful. They speak just enough English to try and answer simple questions but they really deserves recognition for customer service.
In my opinion, if you need to stop over in Surat Thani, then really consider this place, And if you are going to do so, don't make any arrangements for transportation to the airport or wherever you may be heading too with people on the street that tends to hang around bus stops and such where tourist are normally drop off. Wait until you get to My Place@Surat and the staff in here will help you find the cheapest and safe option.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hapygall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surat Thani hotels
0.2 mi away
Orchid Residence Suratthani
Orchid Residence Suratthani
#8 of 50 in Surat Thani
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bun Hotel Surat
Bun Hotel Surat
#2 of 50 in Surat Thani
3.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tapee Hotel
Tapee Hotel
#21 of 50 in Surat Thani
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
S Tara Grand Hotel
S Tara Grand Hotel
#3 of 50 in Surat Thani
3.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.5 mi away
The One Hotel
The One Hotel
#10 of 50 in Surat Thani
3.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.1 mi away
CBD Hotel
CBD Hotel
#3 of 94 in Surat Thani
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to My Place @Surat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about My Place @Surat Hotel

Property: My Place @Surat Hotel
Address: 247/5 Namuang Rd. T. Talad A. Muang, Surat Thani 84000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Surat Thani
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in Surat Thani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — My Place @Surat Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your My Place @Surat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing