We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Customer Service - Big rooms - fast wifi”
Review of Kaew Samui Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kaew Samui Resort
Ranked #17 of 52 Hotels in Surat Thani
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I have to start by saying the general manager Samantha is amazing and the customer service by the receptionists was brilliant. I arrived at this hotel with a broken foot, the receptionist wrote down in Thai for me what i needed to show the doctors in case they didnt speak English, then the general manager drove me to the hospital. This was beyond my expectations and i was incredibly thankful.

As for the hotel, its about 10 mins from Surat Thani town centre - 100 Baht from town in a tuk tuk if you barter, 200 baht from the hotel into town. Its a large hotel, with huge rooms. Very basic set up but everything you need. Very fast free wifi. Theres no pool but there is a spa. Feels like a business/conference hotel more than a tourist spot. Fine for a one night pre/post island stopover but would stay more central if you need to stay longer, there is nothing near this hotel, no restaurants or shops. it seems pretty isolated.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LW2010NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (35)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 35 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2013

This is a basic hotel for no more than 2 nights as there you need a car to travel around to the shopping centres like Central Plaza, Big C and Tesco Lotus and some sight-seeing. The Buffet Breakfast is very thai orientated without much variety choices and standard dishes for the 2 days of stay. The Rooms are clean and very basic, without a kettle to make tea or coffee or hairdryer but at least they provide a two glass bottles of drinking water every-day. It is a bit inconvenient to bring out the drinking water as it is in glass bottles. We book two rooms but one the rooms had a funny smell from the toilet drainage pipe which we had to keep the toilet door closed all the time!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CY_Chung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We've traveled with our 2yo son.
We came from Koh Samui to Surat Thani for a night stay before heading khao sok.

This hotel (and the city) was a chance to see Thailand, not the one they are trying to sell us - the tourists.

Rooms:
Big and clean and basic. Bed is good and comfortable, AC is great (too cold), shower - with electric heater - ok.
No baby cot for our boy, they gave us a big mattress on the flor, very comfortable.

Public area & restaurant:
Great. Nice big welcoming area, a place to sit and drink out side, daily paper.
Food is Thai - and it's great!!! (Ask without spice - if you like)
We enjoyed massage at the hotel - and I must say one of the best we had in Thailand.

Location:
A little bit off the center of city, but 7 min. Drive by tuktuk to the big c / some other shopping centers.

Breakfast:
Buffet . There's a Thai part, and western part. We loved them both.

Service:
100+++
A story I must tell:
We forgot our passports in koh samui hotel:( and find out when we needed to check in.
The nice lady at the desk called the hotel in koh samui, asked them to deliver it the next day (with taxi to the ferry, and from there to the ferry office in the city)
We ended up paying only to the hotel (koh samui) taxi - by money transfer - she took care of everything!

Overall:
Need a night over / want a small tast of Thailand (not the touristic one) - this is the place to be in Surat Thani.
Great value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amirulio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

I had to find a hotel for a night over arriving from thailand by train and taking morning ferry for the islands. Hotel is 30minutes away by taxi from the train station. i contacted hotel before my trip asking to help with taxi as train was arriving close to mid-night. hotel responded there will be plenty of taxis. my train from Malaysia got delayed and arrived at 2am instead. called hotel to arrange for someone to pick up, but nigh shift spoke no english.
finally, one hours later, with other tourist found a night tuk-tuk who ripped us off on price...
Rooms are ok and very simply, electrical showers are temperamental and were more on a cold water side, then a proper shower.
Breakfast was mostly thai and asia food, but banas, lipton tea and white toasts are plenty.
Me and another western couple were the only westerners at breakfast.
A tuk-tuk to the ferry's company bus takes 15 minutes from the hotel and morning staff at the recieption speaks decent english to guide you around.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sotola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Surat Thani is really just a stop over place to get to the islands in the gulf or the airport. The Kaew Samui was absolutely fine - nothing special and relatively clean. It is very cheap at around 500 baht but our TV had no english channels and the rooms are pretty sparse and not really somewhere you want to spend much time. The food in the restaurant was not bad but the breakfast was really not very appetising - again though for 500 baht it really wasn't that bad and all the staff were lovely but I certainly wouldn't go out of my way to spend another night there. : )

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank katiets1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Very modern and clean hotel based about 30mins away from Surat Thani airport, it will cost about 400-500 baht by taxi. staff were very friendly and helpful - breakfast was all Thai food but the staff were quick to offer us more Western food. Decent free wifi available. I would recommend for those needing a brief stop over in Surat Thani.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Deano H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

A random location (about 30 minutes from the airport) but the hotel itself is beautiful, clean, great rates & awesome customer service.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank camski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surat Thani hotels
3.3 mi away
S Tara Grand Hotel
S Tara Grand Hotel
#2 of 52 in Surat Thani
86 reviews
2.1 mi away
The One Hotel
The One Hotel
#14 of 52 in Surat Thani
90 reviews
3.1 mi away
Bun Hotel Surat
Bun Hotel Surat
#3 of 52 in Surat Thani
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Grand Thara Hotel
Grand Thara Hotel
#24 of 52 in Surat Thani
29 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bunjongburi Hotel
Bunjongburi Hotel
#31 of 52 in Surat Thani
13 reviews
2.4 mi away
Tapee Hotel
Tapee Hotel
#27 of 52 in Surat Thani
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaew Samui Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaew Samui Resort

Address: 126/29-30 Moo.6 Liang-Meuang Makarmdear Mueang, Surat Thani 84000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Surat Thani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 52 Hotels in Surat Thani
Price Range: $23 - $27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kaew Samui Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kaew Samui Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing