We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (106)
Filter reviews
106 results
Traveler rating
64
24
5
8
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
64
24
5
8
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bed dorm full moon pre parties koh phangan street parties the location is perfect partying backpackers
Filter
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 106 reviews
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Great atmosphere at this place, run by lovely French owner who was happy to stop and speak to all his guests, really tries to put on a party every night and the guys who run the day to day operations were also great lads and a lot of fun. This place is the best hostel to stay at for the Full moon week, especially if like me you were traveling alone. Everyone parties outside the rooms together every night so you will definitely meet a lot of great people over your stay and you will have a lot of fun! the price could put some people off especially as you are tied in to 5 nights but I would say that its worth it. Location is very good and you get some discounts at various shops and bars through this place, make sure you get yourself over to the sunset beach bar in the afternoons to cure your hangover. Will be back here for sure.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ed-Janes-1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

This was the best hostel experience i've ever had! I stayed 5 nights over full moon. I was travelling alone but quickly met someone to share a room with. it was so easy to meet other people staying there, as we all just hung out at the bar everyday/night. They organise heaps of social activities and pre parties to the full moon. The managers were so friendly and helpful and made an effort to get to know everyone. Wouldn't stay anywhere else if I went back!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Very good hotel, clean and safe, great street party in koh phangnan
Feels like home in the middle of the chaos of the full moon party
Very good location, not on the beach but very close
They also run a burger joint that are the best in town (or even in Thailand) especially at 6am when you get back from the party

Room Tip: book directly with the hostel to get discounts
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SorinVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

The Dancing Elephant on Koh Phangan has to be the best hostel on the island. If you like to party you will love it here. It is the best place to stay for the full moon because of the amazing atmosphere and the people you will meet. The place has such a chilled out vibe during the day and at night you can drink and party or chill out in one of the many lounges and watch movies (but who comes here to do that!!) The staff are amazing, they make the experience so much better and they get everybody involved in anything from drinking games to Scavenger hunts. And they give some really good advice on staying safe, especially if you are here over full moon.
There is aircon (which is amazing because it gets so hot) and a bunch of places on the island that give a discount if you are staying at Dancing Elephant including restaurants, shops and even a tattoo shop .
It is quieter here after full moon so if you don't want to party party do not come to the island over a full moon period. But even when it is quieter the people at the dancing elephant make their own fun.
It will be the only place i stay when i come back!

Room Tip: All the rooms are dorms and they are all the same. They all have aircon and they beds are pretty big too.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lornie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

I arrived on Christmas Eve for an 11 day stay and by far some of the best days and nights of my travels to date! Couldn't of wished for more from the amazing people that work there who put their heart and soul into making each and every persons stay the most memorable possible! Best street party in koh phangan, infact best I've ever had and its time to go back for more amazing memories and experiences which you'll always remember and cherish! Dancing elephant is the best hostel in Thailand by far and I would recommend it to anyone visiting koh Phangan! Oh and Eddie is a legend who makes the best burgers in Thailand!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sausage27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews