We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favourite hostel by a mile, wouldn't consider staying anywhere else in Haad Rin.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dancing Elephant Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 2, 2013

First I stayed here for new year and the warm up parties for full moon were amazing. The dancing elephant street party is THE place to get in the mood for a night out and it was such an amazing atmosphere. So good that I came back again for March full moon and wasnt disappointed at all.

Dorms are clean with air con and the 40 bed dorm has a really cool layout and isn't crowded like you would expect. Common area is a good place to chill in the day if you want to get out the sun for a bit and watch a movie, or a few drinks.

David the owner makes you feel really welcome, takes the time to remember everyones names and always answers your questions. Eddie and Andrew the managers give you a really thorough briefing not just about the hostel but what to expect from the island and as Koh Phangan veterans they know all the best places and more often than not come and join the party with you. Legends!

Oh and you have to get one of Nanda's burgers at least once during your stay. They are THE BEST!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulietteG24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (102)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 102 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2013

Well, well, well... well. Where shall i start? oh yeah, i'll start here. Funky dorms, clean, good toilets, showers etc. Great location, 1 minute walk from the beach.The manager Raf, was a strange young man but quite friendly, helpful and amusing. The best thing about this hostel was the big tv and good sound system. Me and my crazy cukey traveler friends would plug our ipod in and shake our booties on the dance floor. Good value money as well. lol. Thats me done. lol. haha.

Room Tip: go here i guess.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Will R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

If you're down for Full Moon, this is the ideal place - sociable, filled with party people, and well-organised, with pre-drinks and clubbing put together by David, the owner.

You'll be in a huge dorm - 20 or 40 people - and you shouldn't expect to get that much sleep - but it's got a fantastic atmosphere, and it's really easy to meet people. David's briefing on arrival is excellent, and should keep you safe on KP, while his advice and deals with local businesses will make your experience that much better.

All the usual problems with staying on KP at Full Moon are there - you have to book for 5 days, and everyone's only there for one thing - so if it doesn't appeal, but you want to experience Full Moon, either rent a bungalow elsewhere, or stay on Koh Tao and hop over. But for the real deal, it doesn't get much better than this.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmaltby1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Dancing Elephant is an amazing hostel. The staff genuinely want you to have the best experience possible. I came for the February half moon and extended my stay by 4 days because the hostel was such a great place to stay. All the facilities are clean and the price is very reasonable. Had an amazing time at this hostel - recommend it to anyone heading to Koh Phangan!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hollypearl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

I visited just before the full moon but was around for the half moon festival. They do have a massive TV with films to watch but at the time i stayed the owner was building his own bar in the common areas and it wasn't the place to chillout when you're feeling tired. Some of me clothes went missing too and they didn't seem too bothered. A girl's ipod also went missing so clearly they are lacking in security, which would worry me even more during full moon week. Yes they have lockers next door but i shouldn't have to lock away my clothes?! They have no locked door to dorm so anyone can just walk in. There isn't anyone really there during the day to stop you. The atmosphere in evenings was good but Haadrin is a dive of an area. You're much better off staying in an area just outside and dropping in for full moon than stay here.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elliot T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Easily the best/most fun/crazy/friendly hostel I have ever stayed in. The owner is a Legend, there is free wifi, tvs games, FREE WATER, a big bar outside, amazing burger restaurant, literally couldn't be better! such a good place to meet people, party together n perfect location.. near the pier, 5mins to full moon beach, n close to sunset beach too. I will be going back there time n time again!

Room Tip: There are double beds in 1 of the rooms for couples!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elodie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed here for six days for the full moon and new year. We were a bit skeptical at first staying in a 40 bed dorm.... But we were very pleasantly surprised! The dorm was kept very clean and you'd never know there 40 people staying there!
All of the staff were amazing, David, Eddie and raff all made sure you were always having a good time and nothing was too much trouble!
If you like fun, stay here..... If you don't like fun.... Go somewhere else...
I'd recommend it to anyone and everyone:)
Get down there!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emily d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surat Thani
0.2 mi away
Neptune's Villa
Neptune's Villa
#40 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
190 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lazy House Shenanigans Guest House
64.9 mi away
Journey Hostel Surat
Journey Hostel Surat
#5 of 109 in Surat Thani
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Culture Club Backpackers
Culture Club Backpackers
#191 of 396 in Ko Pha Ngan
6 reviews
62.4 mi away
My Place @Surat Hotel
My Place @Surat Hotel
#1 of 86 in Surat Thani
284 reviews
118.1 mi away
Khao Sok Tree House Resort
Khao Sok Tree House Resort
#16 of 52 in Surat Thani
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dancing Elephant Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dancing Elephant Hostel

Address: 95/16 Moo 6, Baan Tai | Haadrin Village, Surat Thani 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Surat Thani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 109 Specialty Lodging in Surat Thani
Price Range: $11 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DANCING ELEPHANT #1 PARTY HOSTEL is glad to offer a first advice: To fully enjoy the Full Moon festival we highly recommend to arrive Full Moon D-5. You come for a music festival, don't you? Every night, from the sunset to the dawn, warm up party, party and after party! DANCING ELEPHANT warm-up are famous, we are connected with all the major island's parties, like Jungle Experience, Maya, Sramanora...Every full moon festival we welcome international DJ's with their incredible sounds! DANCING ELEPHANT #1 PARTY HOSTEL is proposing a range of packages, suitable for all. Please take a tour on our packages page. Six years ago DANCING ELEPHANT was the first and ORIGINAL hostel in Koh Phangan. Ever since its inception it's one of the best around. Located in the heart of Haad Rin village we located very close to the famous Full Mon Party beach, Haadrin sunrise beach. You will find in the immediate surrounding shops, restaurants, massage parlors, medical center and motorbike rental shops. Our hostel is only a 2 min walk away from the FULL MOON PARTY beach. The pier 250 meters away. Whether you are traveling by yourself or with friends Dancing Elephant is the best place to meet new people and have the time of your life. Our dorms are air conditioned, comfortable and have good sized mattresses. Hot shower, hi-speed Wifi, laundry(included in the packages), 50" TV + hundreds of movies, night guard, 2 bars (in and outdoor) + animations, DJs, 3 wifi networks, travel desk, Thai and foreigner staff speaking English, proximity with the beach, deposit boxes...Travel and activities desk, Thai and international staff speaking English. In case you are traveling as a couple we also have double beds that you can book. All year round we provide the whole facilities package. Our mission is to ensure that you have the best possible time ever which is why on arrival you will receive our legendary briefing which will give you all the information you need to make your stay unforgettable and safe. We will also be happy to answer any other questions you have about the island or your onward travels. . So if it is a clean and safe (lockers, night auditor, CCTV) hostel with an exciting, entertaining, fun and friendly atmosphere that you are looking for Dancing Elephant is where you need to be. Hope to see you soon!! Check in: 11 am till late Check out: 12 pm noon Minimum stay: 5 nights for full moon week 7 nights for new year. Payments terms: 50% prepayment for full moon week and the balance due on arrival * No pre payment = no confirmed booking. No show = no refund Please cancel a full 7 days prior to arrival ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Dancing Elephant Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing