We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (105)
Filter reviews
105 results
Traveler rating
63
24
5
8
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
63
24
5
8
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbed dormfull moonpre partieskoh phanganstreet partiesthe location is perfectpartyingbackpackers
Filter
Updating list...
79 - 84 of 105 reviews
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed here for six days for the full moon and new year. We were a bit skeptical at first staying in a 40 bed dorm.... But we were very pleasantly surprised! The dorm was kept very clean and you'd never know there 40 people staying there!
All of the staff were amazing, David, Eddie and raff all made sure you were always having a good time and nothing was too much trouble!
If you like fun, stay here..... If you don't like fun.... Go somewhere else...
I'd recommend it to anyone and everyone:)
Get down there!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emily d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed in this hostel twice in 2 months now and if I was to ever go back to Koh Phangan, I'd stay here again and again. David, his family and his staff make you stay a quality experience. The location is perfect. Close to shops, restaurants, the beach and great nightlife. Your sure to meet your little 'family' for the duration of your stay and it'll be a laugh a minute.
A truly brilliant hostel.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackwilliamcarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

After a mess up with our original booking at a different hostel, we came to Dancing Elephant on a whim at the start of the busy full moon period. We had heard good recommendations about the place beforehand so decided to try our luck for space. We thought this was the best hostel we stayed in, don't be put off by the large dorms as although they're loud at night, they make sure you have the best time possible. David and his family were so welcoming and he gave us a full safety briefing, entry wristband to the hostel and discount book showing he genuinely cared for his guests safety whilst wanting them to have a good time. The whole street was filled with the hostels guests at night and it felt like you were part of a big family.its really close to the beach yet far away enough so you don't hear the music from it. DON'T STAY ANYWHERE ELSE!! Make sure you book in advance so you don't miss out on this place as it filled up quickly!

Room Tip: There are 19 bed dorms if you don't fancy the large 40 dorm
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leah66_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

If you don't stay here, you will miss half of the full moon experience! It's a great way to meet loads of new, like-minded people!
The customer service is excellent and they care about everyone.
They will also treat you to a large number of vouchers and deals just for staying there!
I have stayed twice and both times it has been exceptional!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cgibbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

David and his family were very friendly and welcoming to us. We had an excellent stay and sleep which we were surprised about considering we were staying in a 40 person dorm.

This hostel in central in the middle of the action yet it quiet. It is extremely clean, the staff are friendly and it is a great place to meet people.

For more about our stay at the Dancing Elephant please see our travel blog: http://kiwistakeasia.blogspot.com/2012/10/hello-koh-phangan.html

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spikybombshell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews