We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The only place to stay in Koh Phangan”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dancing Elephant Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The only place to stay in Koh Phangan”
Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed in this hostel twice in 2 months now and if I was to ever go back to Koh Phangan, I'd stay here again and again. David, his family and his staff make you stay a quality experience. The location is perfect. Close to shops, restaurants, the beach and great nightlife. Your sure to meet your little 'family' for the duration of your stay and it'll be a laugh a minute.
A truly brilliant hostel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackwilliamcarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    24
    5
    8
    4
See reviews for
Families
0
3
36
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 5, 2013

After a mess up with our original booking at a different hostel, we came to Dancing Elephant on a whim at the start of the busy full moon period. We had heard good recommendations about the place beforehand so decided to try our luck for space. We thought this was the best hostel we stayed in, don't be put off by the large dorms as although they're loud at night, they make sure you have the best time possible. David and his family were so welcoming and he gave us a full safety briefing, entry wristband to the hostel and discount book showing he genuinely cared for his guests safety whilst wanting them to have a good time. The whole street was filled with the hostels guests at night and it felt like you were part of a big family.its really close to the beach yet far away enough so you don't hear the music from it. DON'T STAY ANYWHERE ELSE!! Make sure you book in advance so you don't miss out on this place as it filled up quickly!

Room Tip: There are 19 bed dorms if you don't fancy the large 40 dorm
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leah66_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed December 14, 2012

If you don't stay here, you will miss half of the full moon experience! It's a great way to meet loads of new, like-minded people!
The customer service is excellent and they care about everyone.
They will also treat you to a large number of vouchers and deals just for staying there!
I have stayed twice and both times it has been exceptional!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cgibbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

David and his family were very friendly and welcoming to us. We had an excellent stay and sleep which we were surprised about considering we were staying in a 40 person dorm.

This hostel in central in the middle of the action yet it quiet. It is extremely clean, the staff are friendly and it is a great place to meet people.

For more about our stay at the Dancing Elephant please see our travel blog: http://kiwistakeasia.blogspot.com/2012/10/hello-koh-phangan.html

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spikybombshell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We arrived in Koh Phangan two days before the Full Moon and had booked this hostel through HostelWorld. After getting a wedged boat over from Don Sak pier there were numerous taxis shouting at us asking where we going. Neither me or friend knew where the hostel was exactly but we remembered that it was close to Haad Rin beach (Full Moon Party beach), so we hoped in a packed taxi which seemed to be driving for way to long. It was only us and two other girls when the taxi parked up at a taxirank and told us we were here and when we asked where the Dancing Elephant was she pointed in a general direction. After walking for about a minute (past the Haad Rin arena) we came upon the Dancing Elephant, which was a complete surprise as we thought the taxi driver was just moving us on. There were people drinking outside the hostel, everyone said hello, David brought us in to get us booked in and told us his 'ground rules' which all made common sense. He showed us to our room which was the biggest dorm iv ever seen since starting travelling. He put me and friend in a double bed (as we booked together??) but we didnt mind this although others may. The residents share the dorm with Davids sister-in-law (i think thats the relation) and their child which once again we didnt mind but others may find this odd. Theres a great atmosphere around the hostel most of time with everyone talking away to one another. People that were staying in other places came down just to drink at the Dancing Elephant. Our bed wasnt changed once during the 4 nights we stayed but we never requested it to be and all our stuff was kind of around the place the whole time. A 5-night policy was in place but we just took the hit and left a night early to continue the trip, Would recommend this during the Full-Moon and if you like the party atmosphere!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EDavey20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Great hostel with really helpful staff and good location. I stayed here for the full moon party and the atmosphere was awesome. The rooms are not private- I was in a 19 bed mixed dorm and we shared 1 bathroom, but it was clean and you can't ask for much more in terms of full moon party accommodation unless you get a private room. Everyone staying in our dorm was going to full moon so it was a really sociable, friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lydia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Right from the start the owner David sits gathers everyone up and gives a short introduction to Koh Phangan. This includes where to get discounts all over Haad Rin and valuable safety tips for surviving the chaos that is full moon.

The hostel itself is very clean and constantly cleaned throughout the day and although there is only one toilet per dormitory I don't recall queuing on any of the 10 nights I stayed there! There is an endless selection of DVDs and movies in the lounge area which is great to relax after the beach. You also immediately get to meet lots of similar people which was great as I was travelling on my own.

In the evening there were warm up parties at the hostels own bar (which is actually the whole street) and everyone mingled and got to know each other before the full moon. It gets very busy over the full moon period and every bed was full so expect to sleep or pass out right next to other backpackers for 4 or 5 nights.

Towels and bedding are provided along with a locker to keep your valuables safe (bring your own padlock).

Overall an unforgettable experience, I have made many friends for life!

Room Tip: If you are on your own I would recommend the 19 person dorms as they encourage you to socialise. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surat Thani
0.2 mi away
Phangan Bayshore Resort
Phangan Bayshore Resort
#25 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
324 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
#9 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
592 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunrise Resort
Sunrise Resort
#45 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lazy House Shenanigans Guest House
0.5 mi away
The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan
0.3 mi away
Cocohut Village Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dancing Elephant Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dancing Elephant Hostel

Property: Dancing Elephant Hostel
Address: 95/16 Moo 6, Baan Tai | Haadrin Village, Surat Thani 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Surat Thani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 92 Specialty Lodging in Surat Thani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DANCING ELEPHANT #1 PARTY HOSTEL is glad to offer a first advice: To fully enjoy the Full Moon festival we highly recommend to arrive Full Moon D-5. You come for a music festival, don't you? Every night, from the sunset to the dawn, warm up party, party and after party! DANCING ELEPHANT warm-up are famous, we are connected with all the major island's parties, like Jungle Experience, Maya, Sramanora...Every full moon festival we welcome international DJ's with their incredible sounds! DANCING ELEPHANT #1 PARTY HOSTEL is proposing a range of packages, suitable for all. Please take a tour on our packages page. Six years ago DANCING ELEPHANT was the first and ORIGINAL hostel in Koh Phangan. Ever since its inception it's one of the best around. Located in the heart of Haad Rin village we located very close to the famous Full Mon Party beach, Haadrin sunrise beach. You will find in the immediate surrounding shops, restaurants, massage parlors, medical center and motorbike rental shops. Our hostel is only a 2 min walk away from the FULL MOON PARTY beach. The pier 250 meters away. Whether you are traveling by yourself or with friends Dancing Elephant is the best place to meet new people and have the time of your life. Our dorms are air conditioned, comfortable and have good sized mattresses. Hot shower, hi-speed Wifi, laundry(included in the packages), 50" TV + hundreds of movies, night guard, 2 bars (in and outdoor) + animations, DJs, 3 wifi networks, travel desk, Thai and foreigner staff speaking English, proximity with the beach, deposit boxes...Travel and activities desk, Thai and international staff speaking English. In case you are traveling as a couple we also have double beds that you can book. All year round we provide the whole facilities package. Our mission is to ensure that you have the best possible time ever which is why on arrival you will receive our legendary briefing which will give you all the information you need to make your stay unforgettable and safe. We will also be happy to answer any other questions you have about the island or your onward travels. . So if it is a clean and safe (lockers, night auditor, CCTV) hostel with an exciting, entertaining, fun and friendly atmosphere that you are looking for Dancing Elephant is where you need to be. Hope to see you soon!! Check in: 11 am till late Check out: 12 pm noon Minimum stay: 5 nights for full moon week 7 nights for new year. Payments terms: 50% prepayment for full moon week and the balance due on arrival * No pre payment = no confirmed booking. No show = no refund Please cancel a full 7 days prior to arrival ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Dancing Elephant Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing