We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (105)
Filter reviews
105 results
Traveler rating
63
24
5
8
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
63
24
5
8
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbed dormfull moonpre partieskoh phanganstreet partiesthe location is perfectpartyingbackpackers
Filter
Updating list...
81 - 86 of 105 reviews
Reviewed January 5, 2013

After a mess up with our original booking at a different hostel, we came to Dancing Elephant on a whim at the start of the busy full moon period. We had heard good recommendations about the place beforehand so decided to try our luck for space. We thought this was the best hostel we stayed in, don't be put off by the large dorms as although they're loud at night, they make sure you have the best time possible. David and his family were so welcoming and he gave us a full safety briefing, entry wristband to the hostel and discount book showing he genuinely cared for his guests safety whilst wanting them to have a good time. The whole street was filled with the hostels guests at night and it felt like you were part of a big family.its really close to the beach yet far away enough so you don't hear the music from it. DON'T STAY ANYWHERE ELSE!! Make sure you book in advance so you don't miss out on this place as it filled up quickly!

Room Tip: There are 19 bed dorms if you don't fancy the large 40 dorm
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leah66_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

If you don't stay here, you will miss half of the full moon experience! It's a great way to meet loads of new, like-minded people!
The customer service is excellent and they care about everyone.
They will also treat you to a large number of vouchers and deals just for staying there!
I have stayed twice and both times it has been exceptional!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cgibbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

David and his family were very friendly and welcoming to us. We had an excellent stay and sleep which we were surprised about considering we were staying in a 40 person dorm.

This hostel in central in the middle of the action yet it quiet. It is extremely clean, the staff are friendly and it is a great place to meet people.

For more about our stay at the Dancing Elephant please see our travel blog: http://kiwistakeasia.blogspot.com/2012/10/hello-koh-phangan.html

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spikybombshell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We arrived in Koh Phangan two days before the Full Moon and had booked this hostel through HostelWorld. After getting a wedged boat over from Don Sak pier there were numerous taxis shouting at us asking where we going. Neither me or friend knew where the hostel was exactly but we remembered that it was close to Haad Rin beach (Full Moon Party beach), so we hoped in a packed taxi which seemed to be driving for way to long. It was only us and two other girls when the taxi parked up at a taxirank and told us we were here and when we asked where the Dancing Elephant was she pointed in a general direction. After walking for about a minute (past the Haad Rin arena) we came upon the Dancing Elephant, which was a complete surprise as we thought the taxi driver was just moving us on. There were people drinking outside the hostel, everyone said hello, David brought us in to get us booked in and told us his 'ground rules' which all made common sense. He showed us to our room which was the biggest dorm iv ever seen since starting travelling. He put me and friend in a double bed (as we booked together??) but we didnt mind this although others may. The residents share the dorm with Davids sister-in-law (i think thats the relation) and their child which once again we didnt mind but others may find this odd. Theres a great atmosphere around the hostel most of time with everyone talking away to one another. People that were staying in other places came down just to drink at the Dancing Elephant. Our bed wasnt changed once during the 4 nights we stayed but we never requested it to be and all our stuff was kind of around the place the whole time. A 5-night policy was in place but we just took the hit and left a night early to continue the trip, Would recommend this during the Full-Moon and if you like the party atmosphere!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EDavey20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Great hostel with really helpful staff and good location. I stayed here for the full moon party and the atmosphere was awesome. The rooms are not private- I was in a 19 bed mixed dorm and we shared 1 bathroom, but it was clean and you can't ask for much more in terms of full moon party accommodation unless you get a private room. Everyone staying in our dorm was going to full moon so it was a really sociable, friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews