We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok place to stay for a night or two in surat.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Thairungruang Hotel
Ranked #36 of 52 Hotels in Surat Thani
Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

I've stayed here a half dozen times over the last year. It's in a good location, rooms are clean. First time i stayed here wifi was free now you have to pay for it.

Nothing special, but if you aren't picky it does the job.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShawnA2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (34)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 34 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2012

I checked into this hotel as it was close to the bus station and I was without any other information on hotels in Surat. It is not the worst hotel I have stayed in but it comes close. The rooms offered are 320 baht for room with cold water and 450 baht for a larger room with hot water, which I chose on the recommendation of the check-in staff. For penny-pinchers and backpackers, the 320 baht room may be adequate, but I have stayed in many 450 baht hotels that were infinitely superior to this one. Pros: close to the bus station. Cons: a charge of 100 baht for wi-fi, rooms are old and very tired, the room I had was above the neighbouring backpackers hostel and I was kept awake until 2:00 am with the noise of people drinking and talking s__t. The staff were not particularly accomodating, when I asked for a late checkout (for which I was prepared to pay) the answer was a flat NO! The first room I was given smelled so strongly of cigarette smoke I had to ask for another. I recommend any one of the numerous hotels on the way into Surat or the quite new and only slightly more expensive hotel nearby called The One. I don't recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ListerTrang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Like most travelers, I was directed to this hotel when I couldn't find any other during my brief, one night stay between Surat and Penang. The woman at the front desk were a tad rude, and the room rate was definitely more than I would have liked to pay for a cold water shower, and old room. Unfortunately, there is a window above the door and the bright hallway light shone directly into my room all night long making it nearly impossible for me to sleep.

However, the facility was clean, they provided free bottled water, and towels, and a TV was in the room. The room itself was very large with a queen sized bed and many windows. Additionally, it's centrally located to the bus stop, making it easy to get around, especially if you're only in town one night.

Although I would not have stayed here for longer than one night, it was reasonable for those weary from traveling and moving on the next day.

Room Tip: See if you can get a room away from elevators and one where there is no hallway light shining in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank veg-e510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

I got here really late at night after being lost and walking all around Surat, so I wasn't in the best of moods.

I looked at one room and it was dark and musty and completely unacceptable. They showed me another which was much nicer, bright, TV. It was a bit out my price range, but she lowered it when I haggled.

It was very comfortable mattress and furnishings-wise, and it had an internal window that looked down onto an attractive (internal) kind of ground floor which was full of chinese antiques.

The main thing was the door that looked out into the hall. Above it, there was an open gap of about three feet by two feet. There were bars so no one could climb in, yet no glass, but it meant that the room was completely open to the noise from the hall. That made me feel it was less private.

I went to sleep. absolutely shattered. The loud, antiquated phone rang about 5am. but there was no one there. Then, about 8am. the building work started, in the next room, in the hall, scraping and banging and sawing. Not very nice.

The rooms seems to be very different, it's possible that some of them are acceptable.

Room Tip: Take some time to check them out, look up above the exit, open the window and look out, check the ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lifemagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2012

Arrived in Surat Thani and was taken to the hotel (THAIRUNGRUANG HOTEL). 380Bhat for a double room, no air conditioning or hot water and 500Bhat for a double room with a.c and hot water.
Girls at reception were rude and abrupt altough the young man that showed us to our room was polite but could not speak English.
We asked for the password at reception so we could use the internet (wifi) and they told us the wifi was'nt working and that we would have to pay to use the computers which we thought was ridiculous. Note: we could see there was reception and all we needed was the password which they refused to even let us try!!!
Rooms were spacious but NOT CLEAN, especially the WC.
Not recommended!!!
Only saving grace is that it is within walking distance of main bus station.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zafira P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Arrived at Surat Thani trainstation at 23:35 got a good price from a Song Tew driver 80 Thb to drive to Sutar Thani City to a hotel 350 Thb per night I was only going to stay for the night so it was a good deal. Arrived at the hotel (see map http://g.co/maps/u9mty ) Got a good night sleep and Walked to the bus station (5 minutes) got a minibus to Khanom and meet up with some friends. I raly dont like Surat Thani area, normally (travel here many times passing trough) taxi, song tew, and anyone you ask is trying to charge you redicules money to go somewhere. But this time I was lucky.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheGlobalWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2016, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank heiniylitalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surat Thani hotels
0 mi away
Orchid Residence Suratthani
Orchid Residence Suratthani
#10 of 52 in Surat Thani
11 reviews
0 mi away
Tapee Hotel
Tapee Hotel
#27 of 52 in Surat Thani
84 reviews
0 mi away
Na Chaidej Hotel
Na Chaidej Hotel
#19 of 52 in Surat Thani
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Phongkaew Hotel And Apartment
Phongkaew Hotel And Apartment
#32 of 52 in Surat Thani
2 reviews
0 mi away
Suksomboon Hotel
Suksomboon Hotel
#23 of 52 in Surat Thani
4 reviews
0 mi away
Grand Thara Hotel
Grand Thara Hotel
#24 of 52 in Surat Thani
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thairungruang Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thairungruang Hotel

Address: 191-199 Metkasem Rd., Amphur Muang, Surat Thani 84000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Surat Thani
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 52 Hotels in Surat Thani
Price Range: $12 - $13 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Thairungruang Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing