We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unlike anywhere else and all the better for it”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Surat Thani
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tree Tops Jungle Safaris - Raft Houses
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unlike anywhere else and all the better for it”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

My sister had recommended this after she had visited a couple of years ago. She'd spoken very highly of it and I can see why she found it so memorable.

We opted for the "tropical taster" option which consisted of 3 days / 2 nights - one night in the tree house and one in the raft house.

The tree house was pretty impressive being in the middle of the dense jungle however the raft house was simply amazing and nothing like anywhere I'd ever been on my travels before. Words can't really do it justice so just look and the pictures instead. Granted the accommodation isn't what you'd call luxurious so don't go with this in mind. In fact it's very basic but this in part adds to the experience. Note that their website really undersells what they offer!

The activities were generally very enjoyable and crucially not too time consuming as all you'll really want to do is just enjoy and relax around such a beautiful and unique setting. Food is decent given that they're catering for a variety of palates and ages.

Another massive plus is how they'll pick you up and drop you off from the Andaman / Gulf ports meaning that logistic headaches won't be part of this leg of your trip!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iain F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    7
    0
    6
    16
See reviews for
8
25
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Near Haarlem
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

I'm sorry to say, our experience in Treetops did not live up to our expectations. The staff is friendly and our night at the rafthouses was great. The transfer from Donsak Pier and to Surat thani airport were on time and very good. The meals were generally of good quality. But these are the only positive things I can say.

We slept in 2 rooms, number 6 and 8 and this is what we found:
the rooms were very dirty, there was a lot of mold everywhere ( but maybe that's inevitable in the jungle, although the fact that the growth of the trees is destroying the tree houses, causing cracks in ceilings and walls will not help very much. Also the airconditioning didn't work properly ), the toiletseat was loose, the sink was leaking, the mosquitonets were full of big holes. The railing of the balcony was loose!! The beds were terrible. In short: there is a total lack of maintenance. The electricity went down a couple of times, there was a urine smell in the lobby ( probably because of the cats and dogs running around ). The transport by boat en minibus was unsafe, too many people being tranported at the same time. When traveling to and from the tubing spot, people were in the open trunk while the driver was doing 80km/hr. Comparing all of this with the other accommodations we had in Thailand, Treetops was the most expensive one and by far the worst of them all. We left early, paid for new tickets to Bangkok and had an extra hotelnight there. I will strongly advise against people visiting Treetops.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank dutchie62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwoodtravel, Employee at Tree Tops Jungle Safaris - Raft Houses, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
We are sorry to hear you had a bad experience with Tree Tops Jungle Safaris.
When strong wind, all trees are moving and break the rubber band around the tree between floor and ceiling. When at the same time it is raining it leaks and makes the tree house wet and smells damp from the tree. This is all done by nature. If you weren't happy about the room at that moment, you should inform our staff and we will be happy to help you and make your stay comfortable. Thank you for your feedback and we will work hard on improving ourselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Surat Thani hotels

Bremen, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

The Raft Houses are an absolutely nice place to stay for whoever wants to relax and just enjoy nature- back to basics. One prefers to take a bath in the lake rather than that shower.... but that lake is so nice you will not miss such shower.
While the Tree Tops "Bungalows" are nothing you like to stay in- they are neglected and one really just waits to take the very next bus/car/horse/whatever..... No idea what the Management is planning to do with it, seems they just wait for seeing it to crash down.
I spent one night in Tree House, then went for 2 nihts stay to Raft Houses. When I returned to Tree House for another night they gave me the same room again and it was like I left- no room cleaning, even the bed was like I had left it like!! Unbelievable.
as i BOOKED BOTH AS A PACKAGE MY EVALUATION OF PRICE/SERVICE QUALITY CANNOT NOT BE POSITIVE AT ALL.
Still, both in Tree Tops as in Raft Houses the staff is very nice and friendly people!

Room Tip: Can recommend the Raft Houses Stay, although it is very basic it is a really nice place for those wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We wanted a jungle experience and got it. Yes it is a little rustic but it is fantastic. If you want 5 star luxury go pay for it - but if you want an awesome close to nature experience with a lot of fun thrown in this is the spot. The Tree Tops main resort is an architectural puzzle - the tree houses themselves yes, they could use a bit of a reno but they were comfortable and roomy. The weather was hot and very humid the airconditioning fixed that at night. We had surprisingly few bugs considering the time of year. The Elephant trek was brilliant - not along a path as usual but up a creek bed so it was a real adventure the driver and his elephant were what we wanted. We are avid photographers and wanted to see and photograph the natural Thailand we got it here. The jungle hike with Tong the local guide was also what we wanted Tong is a real eagle-eye and kept us entertained the whole way.
Off to the Lake by ute in the company of 8 Dutch visitors - the trip was a highlight in itself terrific company through awesome landscapes. The raft houses were in keeping with the rest of the resort (a bit rustic) but the staff were fantastic very helpful and entertaining. Only criticism - it is a little difficult to get out of the water they need a ladder (not as agile as I once was). Otto and Coke went beyond to make sure we all had a good time. The food was very good and the fruit was fantastic real flavour - like our was 10 years ago. The lake is wonderful with wildlife everywhere - we saw and photographed a good variety. Dont miss the bat cave another great moment. We loved the "dawn chorus" every creature in the jungle calling out to the new day a truly beautiful and exotic sound. We thoroughly recommend this adventure to everyone. The scenery is brilliant!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oz-Scotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Malling, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We spent one night at the raft houses in March 2012 for our honeymoon. The experience was wonderful. The feeling of isolation was magical and the scenery we witnesses getting there was comparable to that of Ha Long Bay in Vietnam. The memory of eating breakfast on a floating motorised dining table boat will live long in the memory too.
The huts are very basic so bare this is mind, but if you are happy with a back to basics experience don't hesitate to book.
My ratings reflect the nature of the experience. Its not perfectly clean for example because its a floating hut on a lake in the middle of nowhere.

Room Tip: The furthest hut from the communal raft is probably your best bet for a good nights sleep just in ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bussum
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2011

We stayed two nights at the Raft Houses with two kids (12 and 14) and had the best time ever!!The people that work at the Raft Houses are very friendly en helpful. They do everything to make you feel comfortable. Otto the guide took us on lively hikes into the jungle. But is you do not want to join, than that is no problem. You can stay at the Raft Houses and make use of the canoes, bog tired, swing on the big rope, swim in the lake or sit in front of the Raft Houses and enjoy the view and read a book.

The food is also amazing and we had twice breakfast in the bamboo raft while Otto showed us what can be seen around the lake and in the trains. This are mainly Monkeys.

In all it was amazing!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WilcoZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

We spent one night at the raft houses and absolutely loved it. The huts are in a beautiful location and being able to step out of your hut straight into the clear green lake was a real experience. The staff working at the huts were really friendly and the meals were very tasty. The trips run by the staff were also great fun (a waterfall trek, swimming in a bat cave etc).
Do not come to the raft houses expecting a luxurious stay...it's very basic accommodation with just a bed and mosquito net in your hut. There is a generator delivering a few hours of electricity at night, but this is the charm of the place. You are totally surrounded by the noises of the jungle, and totally cut off from the hustle and bustle of Thailand.
There were 5 children staying at the raft houses during our stay and they all loved it. The rubber rings and canoes provided kept the older children occupied, and the other children seemed happy enough swimming in the lake.
I would highly recommend this place and hopefully we will stay there again.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Dimpleberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surat Thani
0.0 mi away
Panvaree Resort
Panvaree Resort
#16 of 21 in Khao Sok National Park
39 reviews
0.0 mi away
Khao Sok Tree House Resort
Khao Sok Tree House Resort
#11 of 49 in Surat Thani
225 reviews
0.0 mi away
Khaosok Island Resort
Khaosok Island Resort
#2 of 49 in Surat Thani
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bun Hotel Surat
Bun Hotel Surat
#3 of 49 in Surat Thani
50 reviews
0.0 mi away
Diamond Plaza
Diamond Plaza
#13 of 49 in Surat Thani
90 reviews
0.0 mi away
My Place @Surat Hotel
My Place @Surat Hotel
#1 of 75 in Surat Thani
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tree Tops Jungle Safaris - Raft Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tree Tops Jungle Safaris - Raft Houses

Property: Tree Tops Jungle Safaris - Raft Houses
Address: Koh Kai (Chicken Island) | Chiew Larn Lake, Rachaprabha Dam, Surat Thani 84250, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Surat Thani
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 98 Specialty Lodging in Surat Thani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tree Tops Jungle Safaris floating raft house accommodation on Chiew Larn Lake at Khao Sok National Park offers peace and tranquility in a stunning "other world" location - the Gui-Lin of Thailand. The raft houses are clean but basic with bathroom facilities located on the island and accessed across a floating "adventure" bridge - not always a journey for the faint-hearted. There is no electricity at the raft houses, so bring a torch! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tree Tops Jungle Safaris - Raft Houses Hotel Surat Thani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing