We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Raft Houses- Whow! Tree tops- no!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Surat Thani
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tree Tops Jungle Safaris - Raft Houses
Reviewed December 17, 2012

The Raft Houses are an absolutely nice place to stay for whoever wants to relax and just enjoy nature- back to basics. One prefers to take a bath in the lake rather than that shower.... but that lake is so nice you will not miss such shower.
While the Tree Tops "Bungalows" are nothing you like to stay in- they are neglected and one really just waits to take the very next bus/car/horse/whatever..... No idea what the Management is planning to do with it, seems they just wait for seeing it to crash down.
I spent one night in Tree House, then went for 2 nihts stay to Raft Houses. When I returned to Tree House for another night they gave me the same room again and it was like I left- no room cleaning, even the bed was like I had left it like!! Unbelievable.
as i BOOKED BOTH AS A PACKAGE MY EVALUATION OF PRICE/SERVICE QUALITY CANNOT NOT BE POSITIVE AT ALL.
Still, both in Tree Tops as in Raft Houses the staff is very nice and friendly people!

Room Tip: Can recommend the Raft Houses Stay, although it is very basic it is a really nice place for those wh...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
There are newer reviews for Tree Tops Jungle Safaris - Raft Houses
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 39 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2012

We wanted a jungle experience and got it. Yes it is a little rustic but it is fantastic. If you want 5 star luxury go pay for it - but if you want an awesome close to nature experience with a lot of fun thrown in this is the spot. The Tree Tops main resort is an architectural puzzle - the tree houses themselves yes, they could use a bit of a reno but they were comfortable and roomy. The weather was hot and very humid the airconditioning fixed that at night. We had surprisingly few bugs considering the time of year. The Elephant trek was brilliant - not along a path as usual but up a creek bed so it was a real adventure the driver and his elephant were what we wanted. We are avid photographers and wanted to see and photograph the natural Thailand we got it here. The jungle hike with Tong the local guide was also what we wanted Tong is a real eagle-eye and kept us entertained the whole way.
Off to the Lake by ute in the company of 8 Dutch visitors - the trip was a highlight in itself terrific company through awesome landscapes. The raft houses were in keeping with the rest of the resort (a bit rustic) but the staff were fantastic very helpful and entertaining. Only criticism - it is a little difficult to get out of the water they need a ladder (not as agile as I once was). Otto and Coke went beyond to make sure we all had a good time. The food was very good and the fruit was fantastic real flavour - like our was 10 years ago. The lake is wonderful with wildlife everywhere - we saw and photographed a good variety. Dont miss the bat cave another great moment. We loved the "dawn chorus" every creature in the jungle calling out to the new day a truly beautiful and exotic sound. We thoroughly recommend this adventure to everyone. The scenery is brilliant!!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Oz-Scotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We spent one night at the raft houses in March 2012 for our honeymoon. The experience was wonderful. The feeling of isolation was magical and the scenery we witnesses getting there was comparable to that of Ha Long Bay in Vietnam. The memory of eating breakfast on a floating motorised dining table boat will live long in the memory too.
The huts are very basic so bare this is mind, but if you are happy with a back to basics experience don't hesitate to book.
My ratings reflect the nature of the experience. Its not perfectly clean for example because its a floating hut on a lake in the middle of nowhere.

Room Tip: The furthest hut from the communal raft is probably your best bet for a good nights sleep just in ca...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

We stayed two nights at the Raft Houses with two kids (12 and 14) and had the best time ever!!The people that work at the Raft Houses are very friendly en helpful. They do everything to make you feel comfortable. Otto the guide took us on lively hikes into the jungle. But is you do not want to join, than that is no problem. You can stay at the Raft Houses and make use of the canoes, bog tired, swing on the big rope, swim in the lake or sit in front of the Raft Houses and enjoy the view and read a book.

The food is also amazing and we had twice breakfast in the bamboo raft while Otto showed us what can be seen around the lake and in the trains. This are mainly Monkeys.

In all it was amazing!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank WilcoZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

We spent one night at the raft houses and absolutely loved it. The huts are in a beautiful location and being able to step out of your hut straight into the clear green lake was a real experience. The staff working at the huts were really friendly and the meals were very tasty. The trips run by the staff were also great fun (a waterfall trek, swimming in a bat cave etc).
Do not come to the raft houses expecting a luxurious stay...it's very basic accommodation with just a bed and mosquito net in your hut. There is a generator delivering a few hours of electricity at night, but this is the charm of the place. You are totally surrounded by the noises of the jungle, and totally cut off from the hustle and bustle of Thailand.
There were 5 children staying at the raft houses during our stay and they all loved it. The rubber rings and canoes provided kept the older children occupied, and the other children seemed happy enough swimming in the lake.
I would highly recommend this place and hopefully we will stay there again.

Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Dimpleberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2011

We stayed at the Treetops Raft house in Feb 2011 with our children 2011. The day before we had stayed at the treetops lodge and had to leave our luggage there. We were not happy about this as there was no safe provision for the luggage. Throughout our stay at Treetops we were charged for all drinks except for tea and coffee. Fruit juice or squash was not provided for children - only fizzy drinks.

We had to wait for a very long time in full sun both heading out to the raft houses and returning. No explanations were offered but the manager was sat in a nearby bar for most of that time, claiming he was waiting for stuff to arrive .

The location is stunning, rooms basic but that doesn't matter. Atmosphere is lovely and romantic, but not suitable for children. The whole area is made of wood which is slippery when wet and rotting in places, whle we were there two customers and my husband went through the wood. The holes were covered with nailed pieces of rotton wood. My daughter fell through two planks and was very nearly seriously injured. No help was offered, the staff hid. Excurision, walk which we were booked on was not appropriate for children. It was a hard mountain walk (my children are experienced hikers in the lake district)

We tried to raise our concerns when we returned but initally they were denied and then we were told our expectations were too high. When we presented the company with an itemaised list of conerns they have not responded.

There will be a serious accident here one day.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nickyjane41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treetops84250, Owner at Tree Tops Jungle Safaris - Raft Houses, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2011

These guests booked their trip to Tree Tops via one of our agents and a full response the the points raised was provided via this agent; however in response to these comments I would again reply as follows, though some comments may apply to the tree house location rather than the raft house location applicable here:-

The reason you leave the large luggage in the tree house luggage room is that the boats to the raft houses are long tail boats and would overturn or sink if all guests took their large suitcases with them; there is also no room to store large bags at the raft houses. We ask all guests to pack a small bag to just take what they need for their one or two nights at the raft houses.

Throughout your stay at Tree Tops you are indeed charged for all drinks other than tea, coffee and water to drink, unless you book "deluxe" when all drinks in the fridge in the tree house room are also available on a complimentary basis; all other drinks are available to purchase, as we state in our information. We do not cater specifically for children as historically our trips have always been adult orientated, though more recently we have been welcoming children if their parents consider that the location/activities are suitable for them; we do point out that there are certain safety factors to consider, such as height of the tree houses, open balconies, steps slippery when wet; deep water, no electric and floating walkways at the raft houses etc. We have always only provided fizzy soft drinks as is the Thai way, however I agree that maybe we should now also offer some squash or fruit juice drinks as an additional option due to the increased number of children visiting us.
The wait at Rajaprabha Dock can often be longer than expected whilst we wait for either the boat to arrive out of the raft houses (possibly delayed due to other guests coming out not being ready to leave at the appointed time, or weather conditions or maybe a problem with the boat) or waiting for provisions to take to the raft houses - I believe the guide on this occasion did explain that he was waiting for provisions to arrive.
The raft houses are constructed of wood and bamboo and as stated previously, the walkways can be slippery when wet. As the location is floating the rooms and walkways will move and nails etc can be forced up on the walkways due to this movement. The staff will nail them back down regularly but care does need to be taken at all times. The wood is certainly not rotten, at the time of these guests visit the whole place had just been re-built with new wood.
It is disappointing and unusual that our staff did not come to these guests assistance when the child fell in the water, but on subsequent investigation it appears that the children had been playing quite exuberantly and the didn't realise that anything had happened, and when they did, the parents had already helped the child.
Regarding the itinerary, the 3 hour viewpoint trek is described in the itinerary that was booked. The last part of this trek is a scramble up a sharp rock face, and up until that point there should be no problem with the trek for children of 10 - 12 years old. As stated previously, our itineraries are not specifically designed for children but we welcome them as long as the parents are aware of the risks; we can also adapt any itinerary as necessary if required.
In summary therefore, I consider the caption of this comment as somewhat misleading; Tree Tops raft houses is not a dangerous place to stay, but an awareness of risk and appropriate care should be taken.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2011

My husband and I could NOT have been happier with our stay at Tree Tops Jungle Safaris and Raft Houses! The structure was a real delight to stay in positioned next to the limestone mountains and the room itself was much more luxury than we expected in a jungle atmosphere. The staff were not only courteous and welcoming but often went above and beyond to ensure our happiness. For example, as I arrived I realized that I had left my IPOD on the minibus from Krabi and had noted it to the hotel as being forgotten (then convinced that it was lost forever). Unbelievably, the staff tracked down the bus driver and were able to return a very expensive piece of technology to me in less than an hour. For you travelers, you may be aware what an invaluable piece an IPOD can be for long travels and there were plenty of opportunities for a person to claim it for themselves. I was beside myself. Secondly, the manager Genene was incredibly kind and versatile in helping us to find just the right package that would accomodate our budget and went out of her way to ensure we had the most delightful experience. Finally, the staff also kindly made train reservations for us to return to Bangkok and even had the tickets bought. All we had to do was take the pre-arranged (and inclusive) transfer back to the Suratthani train station and pick up and pay for our tickets. All in all, Tree Tops Jungle Safaris was the perfect mix of authentic nature and luxury rolled in one. Highlights for us included the elephant trekking, tubing down the river, walking up a waterfall into the jungle, and most of all, the time on the raft house which was an absolute treat. The hotel has also managed to come up with a very unique excursion at the raft house where they invite guests to have breakfast on a floating bamboo raft that motors around the lake so that you experience your meal in the middle of the lake and even closer to nature. While we dined, monkeys jumped from tree limbs and hawks flew above us. Not only a special treat, it is a unique experience and not offered by any of the other tour operators on the lake.

The more we learned about Tree Tops Jungle Safaris the happier we were to have chosen their hotel. We highly recommend the stay and wish them the best of luck in this 2011.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank auccello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surat Thani
0.0 mi away
Khao Sok Tree House Resort
Khao Sok Tree House Resort
#16 of 50 in Surat Thani
228 reviews
0.0 mi away
Khao Sok Smiley Lake House
Khao Sok Smiley Lake House
#8 of 21 in Khao Sok National Park
103 reviews
0.0 mi away
Panvaree Resort
Panvaree Resort
#16 of 21 in Khao Sok National Park
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Khaosok Island Resort
Khaosok Island Resort
#1 of 50 in Surat Thani
23 reviews
0.0 mi away
Diamond Plaza
Diamond Plaza
#8 of 50 in Surat Thani
92 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Cliff & River Jungle Resort
The Cliff & River Jungle Resort
#7 of 100 in Surat Thani
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tree Tops Jungle Safaris - Raft Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tree Tops Jungle Safaris - Raft Houses

Address: Koh Kai (Chicken Island) | Chiew Larn Lake, Rachaprabha Dam, Surat Thani 84250, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Surat Thani
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 100 Specialty Lodging in Surat Thani
Price Range: $14 - $27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tree Tops Jungle Safaris floating raft house accommodation on Chiew Larn Lake at Khao Sok National Park offers peace and tranquility in a stunning "other world" location - the Gui-Lin of Thailand. The raft houses are clean but basic with bathroom facilities located on the island and accessed across a floating "adventure" bridge - not always a journey for the faint-hearted. There is no electricity at the raft houses, so bring a torch! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tree Tops Jungle Safaris - Raft Houses Hotel Surat Thani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing