We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Diamond Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Diamond Plaza
Ranked #15 of 49 Hotels in Surat Thani
manila philippines
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Value”
Reviewed January 8, 2012

Our rooms were big and clean 4 star type without the spit and polish perhaps of a true 4 star. If you are tired from travelling overland/sea and find yourself stuck in surat thani, this is a good place to recover your sanity. Food in restaurant is good and cheap. Big clean pool and decent gym.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manilatime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    18
    47
    11
    7
See reviews for
12
32
6
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2011

This is what local people told me. In my opinion, the hotel itself is ok but not located in good location. It's pretty hard to find mini-mart or a place to eat out if you don't drive. The room was reasonably clean and basic amenities provided. Most of the breakfast are local Thai food with some western food but may not be the choices for foreigner. Overall, this hotel is okay with room rate 1100 THB.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Songpol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

The hotel itself is okay, even though its location is bad. There is nothing around plus it is pretty far away from the railway station.
The room is good though we saw mould in several places.
I turned on my laptop and saw that there were several possible internet connections that required a username and password. I went down to the reception and asked for is and they handled me a piece of paper with the necessary information. The next day I realised that they had charged me 100 bath without letting me know that it wasn't free.
When we went down for breakfast and bell man stopped us and asked where we were going after the stay. We told him, that we needed to go to Koh Samui and he seemed very eager to help us. He could barely speak English, but we were informed, that we would be picked up at the hotel at 11:00 and dropped off at the boat that would be waiting for us and leave at 01:00pm. Everything sounded really nice, until we were dropped at the most random place 25 mins away from the hotel without any information. The man who worked here was the most arrogant and rude man we have ever experienced. I was furied when he told me we had to wait 2,5 hours at this rotten place before anything was going to happen.
NEVER MAKE ARRANGEMENTS WITH THESE PEOPLE.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jens-Birgitte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Surat Thani hotels

Chonburi
Level Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2011

After a long drive from Bangkok and as it was getting close to dusk the Diamond Plaza is the first "land mark" hotel as you enter Suratthani

The hotel was full with a local government conference and what could have been a pre selection meeting for Miss Thailand World - very, very busy - interesting mix of local folk!!
Reception staff were friendly and efficient and took the time to show us two rooms during a busy period.
The baby's cot arrived within 10min of check in and was clean.

The room was comfortable and clean the bathroom was larger than usual and had a separate shower.
The condition of the public areas was noticeably not up to standard - dirty windows, rubbish not cleaned up. This really detracted from what could have given us a much more favourable impression.

Operating only 2 out of the 4 lifts during a peak periods was a false economy

The "find" of the stay was the Salanchon (Sp?) restaurant
Located at the the back of the hotel (about 10min walk over the bridge) The local menu items were different, delicious and very cheap.

The "faux pas" of the stay was the breakfast a the hotel.
As one of the Thai conference delegates who shared the same table filled with plates and remnants of the previous guests on a fithly table cloth said to us...... " They call this the Khai Muk (translated means Peal) restaurant but it's more like the Khee Nok (translated means bird poop)
Rates as the worst managed breakfast, food and service wise, we've ever experienced.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sedang_Farang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
86 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2011

Ok,
this hotel is in Surat.
So if you are driving to Koh Samui, this is a good hotel to stay on the mainland if you have to overnight before you catch the ferry to Samui.
1100 bht a night, huge clean rooms
Typical Thai Hotel.
Breakfast typical Local Thai Hotel, caters for the Thai's mainly, though there was some western food.
This was ok.
Hotel was located about 1 km from the turn off the highway into Surat township.
Again, typical Thai hotel, good transit, good value for money.
Would recommended

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rickyb62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lampang
Level Contributor
84 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2010

Reasonably clean, basic breakfast but OK if nothing more than reasonable 2-3 star standard is expected. Large hotel convenient for overnight stay and onward travel to Koh Samui in the morning. Rooms acceptable, but they show typical "wearing" marks like most hotels owned and operated by Thais. Investment in renewal and refurbishment only happens if inevitable - so potentially a very nice hotel if the owners would not mind to invest a bit in maintenance. Restaurant OK for Thai dinner. Thais get lower rates than foreigners if they walk in for a room - about 1,000 Baht for a double room including breakfast is what you should get...

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiftycountriesplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2010

I would only suggest staying here overnight if you have an early flight from the airport otherwise avoid! The staff and service are not good, and place itself is not great either.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Babz20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surat Thani hotels
0.0 mi away
Bun Hotel Surat
Bun Hotel Surat
#2 of 49 in Surat Thani
45 reviews
0.9 mi away
S Tara Grand Hotel
S Tara Grand Hotel
#3 of 49 in Surat Thani
77 reviews
1.8 mi away
Wang Tai Hotel
Wang Tai Hotel
#24 of 49 in Surat Thani
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Kaew Samui Resort
Kaew Samui Resort
#16 of 49 in Surat Thani
34 reviews
3.1 mi away
The One Hotel
The One Hotel
#10 of 49 in Surat Thani
90 reviews
3.1 mi away
Orchid Residence Suratthani
Orchid Residence Suratthani
#8 of 49 in Surat Thani
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diamond Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamond Plaza

Property: Diamond Plaza
Address: 83/27 Sriwichai Road, Moo 2 Makamita, Surat Thani 84000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Surat Thani
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 49 Hotels in Surat Thani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Diamond Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 400
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Diamond Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing