We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive, basic rooms, metal walkways, not so impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Khao Sok Tree House Resort
Ranked #28 of 52 Hotels in Surat Thani
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

We were hoping for a nature experience at khao sok treehouse. What we found were basic rooms for $30/night. We stayed three nights since they were already pre-booked. The following night, we walked down the way and rented a room at Morning Mist for $10/night. It was way more natural and clean.
We also didn't enjoy all of the metal railings at the treehouse. It took away from the natural environment.
We will not return here. There are nicer places nearby for way better value.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gypsytravels2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (241)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 241 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stayed at this place during our honeymoon, and enjoyed every bit of it. We were upgraded bamboo camp room which was quite nice with all the facilities and a campsite decor, loved the open bathroom. although the shower was not too great. The owner Sakda and his family took good care of us, being a vegeterain its difficult to get good variety of food, but they always fixed something for both of us. It was really calm and peaceful experience. The dining area was also nice with logs of woods styled as tables and chairs. It was a very relaxing experience. We took elephant trek, which turned out to be a half an ride on elephant back and nothing more, hence can be avoided, please do go for canoeing, its too much fun.

Room Tip: They have theme based rooms, so check for those.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mayank_Nagar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We were booked in here for three night & we were really looking forward to the experience. We arrived the first afternoon to very old & tired rooms, it was not very clean. It was advertised as air conditioned, however only parts of it were. The pool area is completely covered in mosquitoes and uninviting. Getting ready for dinner we had a RAT in one of the bathrooms. We did enjoy our dinner. The food for dinner was the only nice thing.
We headed off to bed and had perhaps a 1/2 hours sleep when we were woken by MORE RATS going through our luggage, they ran up the staircase directly up to where the small children were sleeping, we had to move our kids all back downstairs to be safe, we had 4 people in one bed & 3 in another. Needless to say we did not get much sleep. The rats contined to rummage through our things all night long. We spoke to the owners the next morning and told them of our night visitors, not sure if they believed us, didn't really seem to care, they offered us another room but we declined, the holes in the bathroom walls were so big, there was nothing to stop the rats & the kids were terrified. We were hoping that this would be the highlight of our couple of weeks in Thailand. IT WAS NOT !!!!!!! We were eventually given one nights refund but charged for the other two and then we had to find alternative accomodation. Very disappointed.

Room Tip: Don't stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kylieanne74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

This place was one of the highlights of the fabulous custom-designed holiday we booked through Andaman Sky. We stayed here for a couple of nights, which was long enough to do an amazing elephant trek and also a stunning river canoe,

The manager and staff at this resort were wonderful, really friendly and helpful, they looked after us really well. The restaurant serves good food and is not too expensive. I've stayed in treehouses before but never in one like at this resort – you couldn’t exactly say they are luxurious, but they are surprisingly comfortable considering you are 30 foot up in the air – computer with internet, pebble-floored bathrooms, mosquito nets over comfy beds, stereo etc etc.

The really special thing about this place is the activities tho’, which are not to be missed, you can’t get closer to nature than this and you don’t have to rough it to do so.

Room Tip: Combine a stay here with some beach resorts, like we did, on an Andaman Adventures custom holiday
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank henlubski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We enjoyed this resort near the national park. The air conditioning was appreciated, bed was comfortable and shower and bathroom fine. We had good service, good breakfasts, and though cool, the pool was inviting. We had no problems with mosquitos or other bugs. I think the treehouses vary greatly. Andaman Adventures arranged our reservation and insured we had one of the newer airconditioned units. We walked to the park early each morning and ate breakfast (included) when we came back. This is a beautiful area to visit and the birds and gibbons in the park, though hard to find, are stunning. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Check out several rooms on their web site to be sure to get the one that fits you best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kadala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Pros:
Unique property with rooms and walkways 10 meters off the ground
Air-conditioning AND pool
Nice breakfast
Great outdoor bathrooms/showers
Tour planning

Cons:
Slightly higher priced then surrounding resorts

Tips/Advice:
Not suitable for small (under 4?) children

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
Thank LamwersFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed at this resort for one night in December 2012. We were supposed to stay for 3 nights but literally couldn't stand more than one. We are a family of four (two teenage girls) and when we booked were led to believe we would be getting a two roomed tree house with interconnecting rooms, what we a
ctually got was a really tired old shack on stilts with one room stuffed to bursting with two manky double beds. The room was very damp and completely swarming with ants - the towels were old threadbare and wet from the damp. The bathroom which was obviously supposed to be quirky was actually a health hazard (slippery cheap plastic floor) and the shower a lukewarm dribble at best. The pool area was literally flithy and the was a really horrible stinking bottle graveyard right underneath the cafe are - hardly hygenic!
This was the only hotel we stayed at in Thailand where the welcome was unfriendly, they just didn't seemed bothered. We were really disappointed because the hotel had been sold to us as a real adventure of a place, but infact was tired and dirty. We ended up moving down the road to a really friendly, new, clean, smart resort a less than half the price!

Room Tip: Don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Amanda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surat Thani
1.6 mi away
Khao Sok Silver Cliff Resort
Khao Sok Silver Cliff Resort
#4 of 10 in Khao Sok National Park
86 reviews
0.6 mi away
Khao Sok Green Valley Resort
Khao Sok Green Valley Resort
#8 of 10 in Khao Sok National Park
130 reviews
0.3 mi away
Khao Sok Las Orquideas Resort
Khao Sok Las Orquideas Resort
#3 of 10 in Khao Sok National Park
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Khao Sok Paradise Resort
Khao Sok Paradise Resort
#5 of 10 in Khao Sok National Park
448 reviews
0.5 mi away
Morning Mist Resort
Morning Mist Resort
#1 of 1 in Phanom
279 reviews
55 mi away
S Tara Grand Hotel
S Tara Grand Hotel
#1 of 52 in Surat Thani
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khao Sok Tree House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khao Sok Tree House Resort

Address: 233 Moo. 6, Surat Thani 84250, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Surat Thani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Surat Thani
Price Range: $50 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Khao Sok Tree House Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best choice on your holiday in the south of thailand we are stay 800 meter befor khao sok national park please visit us for the best of service that we away offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Khao Sok Tree House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Khao Sok Tree House Hotel Surat Thani
Khao Sok Tree Hotel
Khao Sok Tree Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing