We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved our treehouse!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Khao Sok Tree House Resort
Ranked #12 of 49 Hotels in Surat Thani
suffolk, va
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Loved our treehouse!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

We enjoyed this resort near the national park. The air conditioning was appreciated, bed was comfortable and shower and bathroom fine. We had good service, good breakfasts, and though cool, the pool was inviting. We had no problems with mosquitos or other bugs. I think the treehouses vary greatly. Andaman Adventures arranged our reservation and insured we had one of the newer airconditioned units. We walked to the park early each morning and ate breakfast (included) when we came back. This is a beautiful area to visit and the birds and gibbons in the park, though hard to find, are stunning. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Check out several rooms on their web site to be sure to get the one that fits you best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kadala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    65
    56
    30
    19
See reviews for
77
87
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Shenzhen, China
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

Pros:
Unique property with rooms and walkways 10 meters off the ground
Air-conditioning AND pool
Nice breakfast
Great outdoor bathrooms/showers
Tour planning

Cons:
Slightly higher priced then surrounding resorts

Tips/Advice:
Not suitable for small (under 4?) children

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank LamwersFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed at this resort for one night in December 2012. We were supposed to stay for 3 nights but literally couldn't stand more than one. We are a family of four (two teenage girls) and when we booked were led to believe we would be getting a two roomed tree house with interconnecting rooms, what we a
ctually got was a really tired old shack on stilts with one room stuffed to bursting with two manky double beds. The room was very damp and completely swarming with ants - the towels were old threadbare and wet from the damp. The bathroom which was obviously supposed to be quirky was actually a health hazard (slippery cheap plastic floor) and the shower a lukewarm dribble at best. The pool area was literally flithy and the was a really horrible stinking bottle graveyard right underneath the cafe are - hardly hygenic!
This was the only hotel we stayed at in Thailand where the welcome was unfriendly, they just didn't seemed bothered. We were really disappointed because the hotel had been sold to us as a real adventure of a place, but infact was tired and dirty. We ended up moving down the road to a really friendly, new, clean, smart resort a less than half the price!

Room Tip: Don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Amanda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Surat Thani hotels

Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
94 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

We travel with our boys aged 7 & 9 Years and liked very much our 4 days in this very friendly tree-house hotel.

We stayed 2 nights in 2 Family Tarzan rooms & 2 nights in the big "luxury" family Orchid Tree house - all was there what we needed, including mousiquito nets, tea & coffee, free water...

The owner Sadkda & his wife Vipa make the stay very personal & somehow special.
You can walk from the hotel the little street to the national Park entrance - no distances.

YES, as said in other reviews, this hotel certainly had seen better days, but we found it well looked after & not let "too much" down - and the owner like to decorate in detail with nice ideas.

NO, it is NOT a hotel for the 5-star-hotel-travellers, with the nature bathroom and animals around you. You do need a certainly a spirit of adventure & risk to walk on the quite irregular bridges in 16 meter highth, which would not correspond to German TÜV standards, but all is fine if you do not travel with very small kids.

We recommend it as a "special" small hotel and love to think back.

Room Tip: The family Orchid Tree house is very nice with enough room for 4 people & their luguage!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rolf S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada, Spain
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

Stayed at this resort for 2 nights in Dec 2012. We were a family of 4 travelling with teenagers and had the 2 room "family treehouse". Frankly we felt that this place had seen better days. Jungle location - so bugs and mozzies expected - but mosquito nets are cheap to replace so there seems little excuse for old tatty nets full of holes. Would also have expected mosquito coils in the rooms - a small expense which would have made a big difference in this location. We did get bitten a lot - despite liberal applications of 100% deet! Seemed to be piles of bottles and old junk beneath the main reception area - which could be clearly seen as you ascended the steps up from the pool. Our treehouse included a small outdoor seating area with a table - which had collapsed. Maintenance must be an ongoing battle in this location - but for the price we did expect better. On the plus side - the food was nice and the portions generous - although not a wide choice available for breakfast. Where this place did score highly was in its proximity to the excellent tours and excursions available in stunning Khao Sok National Park. Our trip had been organized by Andaman Adventures and the activity element was fantastic. We rode elephants, canoed down rivers and explored the fabulous karst scenery of Cheow Larn Lake. Since we barely spent any time in the hotel - it wasn't that much of an issue. Also the staff were helpful in hanging onto our bags for the day after we had checked out. The Tree House Resort was probably great a few years ago and they did seem to be working on it while we were they - so it may yet be again. Not convinced that during our stay it offered the best value for money accommodation in the area - but it was well located and we would not have missed the activities based around this area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Denise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serbia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

We have been 2 nights at the resort. Its a nice base for exploring the nearby nationalpark - which is amazing. But its simple too expensive and also the elephant tracking and the trip to the lake was wonderful but you can get cheaper if you organize separately.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RolandSerbia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

I chose that hotel by occasion. I had no reservation, and just checked a number of small hotels like that. This one was full, that was first reason for me, I did not want to stay in emty hotel, I was travelling alone. All the hotelsaround simple houses, similar quality. The rate I put, is rate if compare with my personal standarts. If to compare with hotels around (amoung the ones I've seen), this one may be a little bit better of others because of active and helpfull front office manager, and at the time being there're big group staying.
This is a number of houses in the forest, nearby road to Khao Sok. To Khao Sok 20 min. to walk. If you want 1-2 day tour - in the hotel a lot of local guides/tour managers. All around the Khao Sok is about that tours.
Room was no aircond. house. Will add foto. I slept not so well because of to warm and rain sound.
Price was 1000, breakfast was incl., but it was very simple and no choice.
They have a smallswimm. pool, with too chemical water. Not extra enjoing pool.
And the main thing: for me, if you do not want to have a 2 day joint tour with a group, and want just to have a look on the park, this park for me is nothig to do there. 1 spider, 1 monkey, 1 iguana that was all I've seen during 2 hour walk along the park, exept bamboo forest.
May be this hotel is just quality you can get for 1000, I do not know.
If you want, try the Our Jungle House hotel, it close to the park, more isolated, but that was official hotel of the park (it's on the park web). It was also full of tourists.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VerbinTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surat Thani
0.5 mi away
Morning Mist Resort
Morning Mist Resort
#6 of 10 in Khao Sok National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.3 mi away
Khao Sok Las Orquideas Resort
Khao Sok Las Orquideas Resort
#3 of 10 in Khao Sok National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
1.6 mi away
Khao Sok Silver Cliff Resort
Khao Sok Silver Cliff Resort
#4 of 10 in Khao Sok National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Khao Sok Green Valley Resort
Khao Sok Green Valley Resort
#7 of 10 in Khao Sok National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.0 mi away
Khaosok Island Resort
Khaosok Island Resort
#1 of 49 in Surat Thani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
4.0 mi away
Khaosok Boutique Camps
Khaosok Boutique Camps
#2 of 21 in Khao Sok National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khao Sok Tree House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khao Sok Tree House Resort

Property: Khao Sok Tree House Resort
Address: 233 Moo. 6, Surat Thani 84250, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Surat Thani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Surat Thani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Khao Sok Tree House Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best choice on your holiday in the south of thailand we are stay 800 meter befor khao sok national park please visit us for the best of service that we away offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Khao Sok Tree House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Khao Sok Tree House Hotel Surat Thani
Khao Sok Tree Hotel
Khao Sok Tree Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing