We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Cliff & River Jungle Resort
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We picked Cliff & River because of the awesome scenery and we were not disappointed. Get up in the morning as the sun is raising and you will be surrounded with a view of the mist. It was indeed worth the drive from Phuket where we landed.

The room itself was basic, it is certainly what you paid for, and functional for your well basic needs. We found a mouse in one of drawers, was a bit of a shock but kinda enlightening as we could now pinpoint the source of that sound… The toilet and shower were both “outdoor-ish” so you do have to watch the mossies.

We did not get to use our terrace as it was pouring the two afternoons that we were there… The free wifi is generally ok.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AfflatedMizzlinG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (163)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 163 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2013

We were at the Cliff & River in early January for two nights for part of our honeymoon. We enjoyed our stay, especially the pool and the restaurant! We had one of the huts on the top ridge -- the A/C worked great, the bed was comfy, and they gave us a bag of rambutans as a honeymoon welcome. There seemed to be some confusion upon check-in...as if they didn't have our reservation, even though we confirmed twice via email and even showed them the email. But whatever was happening at the desk did not reflect on our stay as they took us straight to a room. As others have pointed out, there are LOTS of stairs and steep paths, so you want to be sure on your feet if you stay here.

The pool was my absolute favorite of the whole trip. Not only is the setting absolutely STUNNING, but it was lined with pebbles, had adorable elephant fountains, and was the perfect temperature. The pool is no lap pool, and it may not be everyone's cup of tea, but after having to fight for sunbeds at our previous beach resort, I found this quiet resort to be a slice of heaven.

One of the things that struck us about Cliff & River is that it wasn't just a farang resort. In fact, it appeared that there were more Thai visitors than farang. We loved this. It seemed to bode well for the quality of the place, which was confirmed at dinner. Let me just say....you don't go for the service but the food was absolutely outstanding Thai food. The best we had on the whole trip. The breakfast wasn't much but dinner was super and I seriously wish we'd had more than two meals there.

We booked two outings with Cliff and River. The first was inner tubing down the river. It had rained heavily the night before so unfortunately the clear river we had seen the day before was now a muddy fiesta. But what we lost in picturesqueness, we gained in solitude; we had the river all to ourselves. The last time I inner tubed was on the Delaware River and I remember it for all the drunk college kids screaming and laughing all around me. This was the total opposite. Our guide pointed out a great rope swing which my husband enjoyed as well as a snake in a tree, but to be honest, I was kinda keeping my eye out for river snakes. I have no idea if there were any but i couldn't get it out of my head that there might be. But is was a gentle, peaceful 2 hours or so, watching and listening to the jungle go by.

There was some confusion over the second outing we booked, an overnight on Chiew Laan Lake in a floating river hut. The front desk mixed up our dates. Not entirely their fault, but a sign of there not being a fully proficient English speaker on board. We got to reception, they wondered what we wanted, there was a flurry of phone calls and they booked us onto another trip. No problems. Well...except for the place we ended up. Haha. I had done some research into this particular activity and knew that the quality of raft houses varied. We ended up at one of the most written about, the Our Jungle House outfit with the Ton Tuey raft houses. That overnight requires a review all on its own....let's just say it was the most memorable part of our trip with it's rugged beauty and remoteness, seriously rustic digs, two king cobra sightings (one where people were swimming!), and other amazing animal sightings. LOVED our guide. Don't need to go again.

Upon returning to the Cliff & River after our overnight, they offered to let us use their showers, a super nice gesture, and had our taxi waiting for our trip to Phuket. It was rather expensive (we were quoted much less by Boss, Cheaper than Hotel) but it was a very comfortable, safe ride -- which is saying something if you've been on that road from Khao Lak to Phuket!! -- as well as being almost two hours. So well worth the money we paid.

All in all, Cliff & River feels like a real find. Something special that would have been hard to find anywhere else and I would stay there again in a heartbeat!!

Room Tip: I don't know why you'd stay in a garden bungalow....splurge and get a cliff bungalow!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelbugnyc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We unfortunately only had time to stay for two nights but could have easily stayed longer if we had had more time. The setting is drop georgious and the resort is done with so much love to detail. Absolutely loved the shower, huts and the gardens. The Thai massage is a must. We had a power outage and were a bit disturbed by the generators but that was the only flaw. The food is pretty good, breakfast is a bit simple but overall that didn't really matter. The staff is very helpful and friendly too. Fantastic value for money! BTW if you find the mattress too hard like we did, feel free to ask them to change them. We unfortunately found out too late.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nadja K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights after a five day cycle tour.We stayed in a family room (2 adults and 2 kids) which was fine for the short time we were there.Rooms are like cottages on stilts and were basic but clean and included air con and a fridge while the bathrooms certainly had a jungle feel to them.Kids were intrigued what the huge box in the corner of the room was (a TV). The actual resort was beautiful and had a small pool ideal for a quick dip but probably not somewhere you'd spend all day.We did an afternoon tubing and a day trip to the dam with were both great fun. Service in general was a bit hit and miss and also a little Faulty Towers ...the guy who brought our bags to the room was also our guide on the tubing.Overall we really enjoyed our stay and thought it was pretty good value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmb68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

It is located about 10 KM from the national Park. They have a reception office but may not be attended all time. English language is ok. The rooms are small huts with attached private bathroom. The room has no safe but has fridge, fan and air-condition. The bathroom is small and basic just to take a shower. All in all the rooms are maximum 2 stars hotel. The breakfast is less than acceptable. The good side is the balcony and the views of the cliff which just in front of you. It has great landscape and garden that well taken care of. It is worth the stay just for the views and sitting in the balcony day or night. It is good for one or maximum 3 nights.
Near the national park entrance there are many excellent cheap restaurants, grocery, and massage shops. Do not miss the lake which is about 40 min drive from the hotel in the opposite direction of the national park.

Near the national park entrance there are many excellent cheap restaurants, grocery, and massage shops. Do not miss the lake (Dam) which is about 40 min drive from the hotel in the opposite direction of the national park.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PANAM-Air
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Definitely worth going 10 kms past Khlong sok if you can. We had a rental car so was no problem
We looked around a few selected places at Khlong sok and decided to try one more, the Cliff & River before deciding on on a place to stay. We were very glad we did. For about the same price for a family room/cabin this was a step up in quality from all the places we saw in Khlong Sok and the property was gorgeous. Our cabin had a great terrace over looking the cliff and surrounds with a crystal clear view of the sky and stars at night. Staff very friendly particularly in arranging an independent trip to the dam and over night stay on raft houses (absolutely a must do! Don't book group tours, so easy to do it on your own ) so we made it our base for a few days. Food at the restaurant is very good.

Room Tip: We were a couple and seven y o son. There are duplex family rooms which look great but we got a simp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Allen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We booked the resort for 3 nights. The resort looks beautiful and when we arrived we wanted to book a tour to the lake. This tour only could be made when there where enough people to go with. Because this place is 11 km from the town you're totaly dipendent of the people of thecresort to help you. We asked for some help to book at an other organisation. The service was very bad, we could hire a motor bike for 300 bath to go to the town or they could ride us for 500 bath. We had to push to let them make a phone call to an other organisation but they didn't want to.
We tried to lower the price of 5.800 bath for a privat boot (1 or 2 people) but the manager of the place told that we should pay more because we wanted to go with 3 adults and a child. We were so disappointed because on our travel trough Thailand we didn't experienced this kind of service before.
The food and the service in the restaurant was ok.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Stekelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surat Thani
6 mi away
Khao Sok Green Valley Resort
Khao Sok Green Valley Resort
#8 of 10 in Khao Sok National Park
116 reviews
5.4 mi away
Khao Sok Silver Cliff Resort
Khao Sok Silver Cliff Resort
#4 of 10 in Khao Sok National Park
81 reviews
6.2 mi away
Khao Sok Las Orquideas Resort
Khao Sok Las Orquideas Resort
#3 of 10 in Khao Sok National Park
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Morning Mist Resort
Morning Mist Resort
#7 of 11 in Phanom
275 reviews
49 mi away
Bun Hotel Surat
Bun Hotel Surat
#3 of 52 in Surat Thani
52 reviews
6.2 mi away
Khao Sok Tree House Resort
Khao Sok Tree House Resort
#21 of 52 in Surat Thani
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cliff & River Jungle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliff & River Jungle Resort

Address: Khao Sok National Park, Surat Thani, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Surat Thani
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 109 Specialty Lodging in Surat Thani
Price Range: $55 - $62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cliff & River Jungle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your The Cliff & River Jungle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliff And River Jungle Resort
The Cliff & River Jungle Hotel Surat Thani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing