We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cliff view, nice natural landscape”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Cliff & River Jungle Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Cliff view, nice natural landscape”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

It is located about 10 KM from the national Park. They have a reception office but may not be attended all time. English language is ok. The rooms are small huts with attached private bathroom. The room has no safe but has fridge, fan and air-condition. The bathroom is small and basic just to take a shower. All in all the rooms are maximum 2 stars hotel. The breakfast is less than acceptable. The good side is the balcony and the views of the cliff which just in front of you. It has great landscape and garden that well taken care of. It is worth the stay just for the views and sitting in the balcony day or night. It is good for one or maximum 3 nights.
Near the national park entrance there are many excellent cheap restaurants, grocery, and massage shops. Do not miss the lake which is about 40 min drive from the hotel in the opposite direction of the national park.

Near the national park entrance there are many excellent cheap restaurants, grocery, and massage shops. Do not miss the lake (Dam) which is about 40 min drive from the hotel in the opposite direction of the national park.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PANAM-Air
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    69
    22
    10
    2
See reviews for
31
73
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Definitely worth going 10 kms past Khlong sok if you can. We had a rental car so was no problem
We looked around a few selected places at Khlong sok and decided to try one more, the Cliff & River before deciding on on a place to stay. We were very glad we did. For about the same price for a family room/cabin this was a step up in quality from all the places we saw in Khlong Sok and the property was gorgeous. Our cabin had a great terrace over looking the cliff and surrounds with a crystal clear view of the sky and stars at night. Staff very friendly particularly in arranging an independent trip to the dam and over night stay on raft houses (absolutely a must do! Don't book group tours, so easy to do it on your own ) so we made it our base for a few days. Food at the restaurant is very good.

Room Tip: We were a couple and seven y o son. There are duplex family rooms which look great but we got a simp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Allen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bkk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We booked the resort for 3 nights. The resort looks beautiful and when we arrived we wanted to book a tour to the lake. This tour only could be made when there where enough people to go with. Because this place is 11 km from the town you're totaly dipendent of the people of thecresort to help you. We asked for some help to book at an other organisation. The service was very bad, we could hire a motor bike for 300 bath to go to the town or they could ride us for 500 bath. We had to push to let them make a phone call to an other organisation but they didn't want to.
We tried to lower the price of 5.800 bath for a privat boot (1 or 2 people) but the manager of the place told that we should pay more because we wanted to go with 3 adults and a child. We were so disappointed because on our travel trough Thailand we didn't experienced this kind of service before.
The food and the service in the restaurant was ok.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stekelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

This place have the most amazing view right out from our room balcony. We stayed 2 nights and really love this place. The resort not too far from Khao Sok National Park, as we came with rental car so it was not a problem for us to move around. There were many restaurant with good foods near Khao sok National Park and also cheaper guided tour there compare to the hotel.
The resort have very good and resonable price traditionalThai massage.

Room Tip: room near swimming have better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnnKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket
Level Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2012

We loved this resort. The location is perfect, close to Koh Sok National Park HQ and the dam with a river running right by it. Just under 200km drive from Phuket and easy to find.Very well integrated into the environment. We stayed in the garden bungalow which are on the lower level near the restaurant but further from the small swimming pool. The higher up bungalows nearer to reception and the pool have a better view of the cliff but are further from the restaurant. The resort offers kayaking or tubing trips. They drive you about 5 minutes from the resort to the start point and you wind your way down the river for about 90 minutes and finish right back at the resort. I would highly recommend tubing or kayaking or both, it's absolutely idyllic. Make sure you get up at sunrise to see the mist over the cliff. The bungalows are not 5 star but feel very natural while still having enough comfort. The rooms are really quiet at night.

Room Tip: Most of the garden bungalows are stand alone but there are a few that are twinned and have one long...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThailandLiveaboards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Nestled in the jungle at the edge of Khao Sok National Park, this resort will give you an experience you won't soon forget.

While the resort is close to the highway, once you get onto the property you see that it is really built to be fully integrated into the natural environment. At the entrance is a mainly outdoor lobby area, with friendly and young staff that really want you to enjoy yourselves.

From the lobby, everything else is down steep hills with flower gardens all around. The first level down is the cliff rooms. We had one of these, a wooden chalet on the side of a steep cliff, with a balcony overlooking the valley below. Facing all the rooms is a towering cliff, perhaps 200 metres high, overlooking the entire resort. The view is stunning, and in the morning, with the mist still in the valley, it feels like you are in another dimension.

The toilet and shower are not what you would get in a five star hotel, but they are good enough, and in keeping with the personality of the place. The room itself is very clean. Our only serious complaint was that the bed, a mattress on a wooden platform, was very hard and therefore quite uncomfortable. Wooden platforms are fine, but then you have to use a mattress that has some quality. (If I go back to this resort, which I probably will, I will have to make arrangements to have a better bed. It was that bad.)

At the same level as the cliff rooms is the pool, small but with jacuzzi jets, so quite a lot of fun.

Further down in the valley is the river, and a series of chalets along the river. These do not have the great view, and they have a little bit more in the way of mosquitos, but they are still integrated into the jungle, which is the main thing. Many families were in this area, and they were obviously having a great time.

Also on this level is the restaurant, a big outdoor area by the river. The food is similar to Thai street food, which is pretty good, but they are in no danger of getting any Michelin rosettes. The breakfast is pretty basic.

There is not a lot to do in the resort itself, but that is not why it's there. There are many treks into the park, whether by foot, by boat, or by ATV. This resort is the gateway to the jungle in Khao Sok National Park.

Except for the bed, this resort was one of those places that you stumble upon on your travels, and then tell friends not to miss. Very good value for the money, genuinely friendly staff, and memories (of flowers, scenery, or the towering cliff) that will stay with you.

Room Tip: The chalets on the side of the cliff give a great morning view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jshepherd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2012

Cliff & River lived up to it's (well deserved) reputation. We stayed on 2 separate occasions & were delighted on each. The staff are great, the setting and the views are stunning & the food is excellent. A little touch of paradise. We stayed in 'C' bungalows each time & the balcony is where our focus was instantly drawn. Lounging about watching the 'Dusky Langurs' swinging through the trees on the massive cliff opposite was just amazing. Cliff & River is where you can completely relax in the most beautiful setting - on your balcony, in the pool or around the gardens.... & you have dinner to look forward to! Highly recommended. Only note is that when we were there they did not accept cards, so remember to take cash. Something that we didn't realize but the staff quickly helped us resolve that little problem with no fuss at all.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beast0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surat Thani
6.0 mi away
Morning Mist Resort
Morning Mist Resort
#6 of 10 in Khao Sok National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
6.2 mi away
Khao Sok Las Orquideas Resort
Khao Sok Las Orquideas Resort
#3 of 10 in Khao Sok National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
5.5 mi away
Khao Sok Silver Cliff Resort
Khao Sok Silver Cliff Resort
#4 of 10 in Khao Sok National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Khaosok Boutique Camps
Khaosok Boutique Camps
#2 of 21 in Khao Sok National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
6.2 mi away
Khao Sok Tree House Resort
Khao Sok Tree House Resort
#11 of 50 in Surat Thani
3.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
4.9 mi away
Khao Sok Riverside Cottages
Khao Sok Riverside Cottages
#5 of 21 in Khao Sok National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cliff & River Jungle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliff & River Jungle Resort

Property: The Cliff & River Jungle Resort
Address: Khao Sok National Park, Surat Thani, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Surat Thani
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 94 Specialty Lodging in Surat Thani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cliff & River Jungle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your The Cliff & River Jungle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliff & River Jungle Hotel Surat Thani
The Cliff And River Jungle Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing