We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always excellent”
Review of Pupen Seafood

Pupen Seafood
Ranked #1 of 456 Restaurants in Chonburi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Always excellent”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

I have been here many times - in fact almost every time I come down to Pattaya from Bangkok - and I have never been disappointed. This is where Thai people come for their seafood and they know why - because the food is simply excellent. I never had a bad meal here. It is not a fancy place by any stretch, but the food makes up for it! Love this place!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AsianMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    86
    36
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
86 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Reasonable food, poor choice, pity about the sewage”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Upon arrival we sat at the benches along the waterfront (there's no beach)... while we were ordering it was pretty obvious that there was either a broken drain under the road or raw sewage was being discharged into the sea... I grew up by the ocean and I can tell the difference between salt breeze and sewage... We asked to move into the main part of the restaurant away from the smell. At 7pm and they had run out of barbecued shrimp... hmm... the crab they served up were poor little things which needed to grow up before being served up and we got I think our 3rd or 4th choice of fish which was nothing special when it finally arrived - the service was terrible. I won't be going back to Jomtien which is basically a construction site.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank norrie19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
1,335 reviews
860 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 354 helpful votes
“Fair price for fresh seafood”
Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

Most customers here is Thais..so taste of true thai alot of flavored and fresh and price is so reasonable..love it here

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 0_Gyrfalcon_0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
113 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Where Thais go for their seafood”
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

At the very end of Jomtien Beach, the beach next and just south of Pattaya, you find Pupen Seafood Restaurant where Thais go in masses. You can either sit on a table next to the sea, but be warned it can be cold if windy... or sit inside the restaurant.

We enjoyed the service, three Thais and I, it was quick and friendly. Tom Yum Seafood, deep fried fish with roasted garlic, oysters, blue mussels, som tam, ice cream, tip tam krop, and from vendors parked outside on the road we picked up roti with banana and mango w/sticky rice. Oh, lots of cold beer too.

Huge parking area behind the restaurant. Come around 5-6 pm and easier to get a table.

Helpful?
1 Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great seaside restaurant”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Busy restaurant with good food and great prices. Used by both Thais and tourists. There is normally a rhoti stall outside and with the restaurants own great food and this it's a great place to eat.look out for the restaurant manager a great personality and the whole works best when he is there.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Burcheysnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pupen Seafood also viewed

Sattahip, Chonburi Province
Pattaya, Chonburi Province
 
Pattaya, Chonburi Province
Chonburi, Chonburi Province
 

Been to Pupen Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing