We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful setting to chill out in.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Haadson Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Haadson Resort
Ranked #35 of 66 Hotels in Khao Lak
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting to chill out in.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2010

Would back up all the other positive comments about this resort. We stayed here at the end of a 3 week trip to Thailand for 4 days, and just chilled out by the pool and walked along the beach. Room was great, breakfast was excellent, and evening meals were OK. They arranged for us to have dinner on the beach one night under the stars... a really nice touch.
Resort is beautifully kept, full of lush vegetation and little walkways to meander around.
Would say this place is great, if you are happy to get away from it all and just relax.. it is a very quiet place.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilipCheshireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    66
    12
    6
    1
See reviews for
54
140
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2010

We have stayed at Haadson numerous times over the past 2 1/2 years and each time there is some little something that seems to make our stay even better than before. This trip we were pleased to see that the onsite Spa is open. I treated myself to a salt scrub and massage - I was a new person in a matter of two hours. The facility is lovely, the prices are very fair and the service was great. The room was a bit cool but that can be quickly fixed. I'll go again before I have to return home

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travels_with_MandB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2010

This was our 2nd trip to Haadson, so we sort of knew what kind of experience we were in for, and we weren't disappointed. Two years on, the rooms are still lovely, the place still peaceful, the beach quiet, the sand soft and small touches mean that service has improved. And the new spa is a nice touch; it's a bit expensive compared to prices in Khao Lak but it's not run by Haadson so they don't have control over that - but the treatments are lovely and if you use the discount vouchers that are given when you arrive, it doesn't break the bank.

We took our two young children (ages 2 and 3) and they had a ball playing in the pool, swimming in the sea or chasing hermits crabs on the beach. It helps that the owners have small children as there were also toys and books around to keep them amused while they waited for their lunch/dinner to arrive. We also took some other members of our family with us and they loved the peace and quiet too.

Visitors should bear in mind that Haadson is a 15 min drive from Khao Lak centre so this really is not the sort of resort for those people wanting lots of night-life / entertainment. Even when fully booked over Christmas the place felt very quiet. There are a few local restaurants about, although we didn't check them out this time as it was just as easy, and not much more expensive, to eat at the resort. I'd disagree with the previous reviewer that it's not a 'resort'. It just not a place with 4 different restaurants, pool bars and kids clubs - if that's your thing, you need to book into one of the big chains closer to Khao Lak, or better still, in Phuket.

Haadson is a get away from it all kind of place - the staff are local and are trying really hard, the food is local and all tasted good to us (especially the Som Tam, yum yum!), the atmosphere is relaxed and nothing is too much trouble (as long as you ask nicely and remember you're on the beach in Thailand, not inner city Europe!).

We'd certainly recommend the resort, in fact we've sent a few friends already and they all loved it.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ettibob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2010

We arrived at the Haadson in the rain to a very dark, damp and smelly room. The resort itself is set in a lovely setting with a beautiful beach. However the town of Khao Lak took at least 20 mins by car. The haadson did have a shuttle bus at 2pm and 4 pm though if you needed to go into town for dinner the cost is 400THB. The pictures of the rooms on the Haadson website are somewhat deceptive..they are in fact very dark and basic. The smell of damp was very apparent. It is a very small hotel and certainly not a resort. The New Year Gala dinner was a complete waste of money at 4,000 THB per person for a buffet (ordinary) and the staff singing for us.....Overall i would not return to the Haadson, it is not value for money, has very dingy rooms and is too far out of town.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank grim1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaadsonRsvn, Management Representative at Haadson Resort, responded to this review, January 28, 2010
Thank you to TripAdvisor member "GRIM1066" for providing the above comments & review of Haadson.

The client and their family booked to stay with us over the recent New year holiday, 2 Villas for 11Nights during the Peak period from 28Dec.2009 to 08Jan.2010.

They arrived very late on the night of the 28th to unfortunately, terrible weather with rain & thunder.
Next morning, the clients complained to reception that the rooms and outside bath area was dirty, in addition to the rooms having a "bad smell".
Our GM personally handled their complaints;
She explained to the clients that the outdoor portion of the bathroom naturally received leaves & pine needles due to last night's storm. As a small resort, our Housekeeping staff are not present to clean the external bath at 22.30hrs, but would do so that morning as the clients had breakfast.
Our GM also apologized for the "smell", and in our best efforts, we managed to relocate the clients to two different Villas,
which was a very difficult task being the middle of the Peak season on 29th Dec.

After the clients were moved to their new rooms, reception staff and our GM rechecked with the clients, and no additional complaints were made.
The two original Villas that the clients stayed for one night, as well as the other Villas that they were relocated to, had previously been occupied by other guest without any complaints made.

When the clients informed reception that they wished to checkout early,
they failed to mention that their new rooms were still smelly, that they were highly upset at our location on Bangsak beach, and that they did not enjoy their time at our New Year eve party
- they explained that they wanted to move to a resort closer to Khaolak centre, as they liked to have dinner in Khoalak. When asked to pay for an early departure fee of 2Nights for checking out 5Nights early, or 10Nights as they booked 2 rooms (this CXL fee was stated in their booking condition dated 19Sept.09),
the clients got quite upset.
Again, our GM helped and reduced this Peak season cancellation charge.

It was only 10 days or so after their departure that they informed Haadson by email of their dissatisfaction of the rooms, the location and the NY party. The clients demanded a full refund for the cancellation charge as well as for the cost of the NY party. If such comments were made to management prior to their departure, we would have been more than happy to talk to the clients and see what additional measures could have been offered. When their request for a refund was denied, the clients posted the above review, which is in essence a condensed version of their earlier email.

As previously stated, we were unaware that the clients did not enjoy themselves during the New Year Party;
The clients are featured in some of the images from the party on both the haadsonhappening blog and Haadson resort website. Members of their family participated in both singing on stage as well as in one of the party games. They also stayed past midnight, where they released up to 5 or 6 lanterns on the beach,
more than the other guest who actually enjoyed the party.

We do try very hard to keep the theme & style of our NY party to fit with the general feeling & atmosphere of our resort
- guest who appreciate Haadson, greatly enjoyed themselves at the party, and importantly, our guest do enjoy being on Bangsak beach,
away from Khaolak centre.

Thankyou & Best Regards,
Management
Haadson Resort (Haadson Bangsak Co., Ltd)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2010

We found this place from other reviews on here and it looks like it is becoming less of a 'hidden gem'!

We had booked the Coconut room and were pleasantly surprised to be upgraded on arrival to a Island Villa. The rooms are spotlessly clean and have everything you need including the outdoor shower which is good fun!

This was exactly what we were looking for - relaxed, great food and friendly and helpful staff. The location is quiet and secluded, situated right next to a very long beach (ideal for sunset walks). The pool is a lovely place to chill out and the Thai massage is thoroughly recommended.

The resort is about 20 mins by road from the centre of Khao Lak and they offer a free shuttle service every afternoon. Taxis are about 300THB as an alternative.

The restaurant selection and service is very good and there
are also a handful of small Thai local restaurants very close to Haadson. We tried Bangsak Garden which was very good.

We stayed for 7 nights and then went out with Sea Dragon to Similan Islands for a liveaboard for 3 nights (excellent experience) and had one night back at Haadson before travelling on to Krabi. The hotel looked after all our gear whilst away and the welcome on the return was like coming home!!

Whilst we were there they put on a Thai Celebration with as a dress rehearsal for their New Year's Eve celebrations which was very good - we normally avoid these sorts of things because they are often a rip off but the price and the quality were superb.

Finally, the stand out thing about the Haadson is the genuine friendliness and warmth of their staff. We will go back at the earliest opportunity.........

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChilledMaidstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2010

We had a lovely week, 4 adults and 5 children ( age 12 - 9) over christmas and we had a fabulous holiday. We were in the lakeside villas and we had 4 between teh 9 of us, mini bar, air conditioning, outside seating and shower area - very good. I loved the low key nature of the place and the fact that it really didn't feel like a hotel but more of a family run place where the staff could not have been more helpful - first class and just what we wanted. It is away from all the husstle and busstle of the Phuket hotels which suited us and we either spent the day at the pool or beach ( which is c 3 miles with nothing/noboby else on it), and went on a great elephant safari and kyaking trip which was wonderful, and a day trip snorkelling to the Similan islands - both very worthwhile and great value for money. Only possible criticism is that for 12 year old boys there is pool or beach but no organised activities at all, but we had 5 kids together and they all had a ball. Food so wonderful we didn't eat anywhere else, enough to keep us satisfied for a week and good for kids too - wonderful cooked breakfasts and buffet. The Spa was fabulous, every second day was a treatment, great value but we did have a few language problems booking and explaining what we wanted - we all survived and I wish I was there now!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harviestoun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2010

We spent a week over Christmas with extended family and children ranging from 12 years to 8 year old. We stayed in the island bungalows which were lovely - air con, mini bar, tv, balcony, bathroom with outside shower, room service etc. The beach is huge and you have it all to yourselves approx 3 miles long from end to end I guess - small road between hotel and beach but dead end so no through traffic just people coming to resort and the odd fruit/ice cream seller so perfectly safe for kids to cross etc. Lovely pool and very nice spa onsite which we used most days. Food and cocktails are excellent and very reasonably priced - huge range from Thai to western including fresh fish caught that day. Lovely buffet breakfast too. We didn't venture elsewhere as it was excellent and catered for all our varied needs really well.
We did two day trips from the resort - one to the Similan islands(snorkelling) and one to Khao Sok National Park (elephant treking/canoeing) - both were excellent and we booked with KhaoLak Tours who were great though the hotel also recommends lots of other tour companies. Nothing to do other than beach, pool, daytrips as you are in a remote but beautiful location - 20 mins bus into town (hotel provides service each afternoon for free). We went one day to the Tsunami memorial site and the Tsunami museum which were worth a visit - this area was really badly hit in 2006 and needs your visits. Lots of signs everywhere saying Tsunami hazard zone and evacuation route this way - slightly offputting on arrival but it didn't bother us after that and it is good to know that they are prepared in the event that such a catastrophe would ever be unlikely to hit again.
We would definitely return to this hotel again whereas not sure we would rush back to Phuket which we went to last year.
The staff were so friendly and helpful even going out of their way to get cream for one of the children's ezcema which had flared up for us. If it was really busy I think the staff may struggle slightly at dinner as they weren't really organised - not sure which staff covering which tables or who makes cocktails etc but it was not an issue in the slightlest as we were so relaxed and everyone was so smiley if things took slightly longer to arrive it didn't matter and all excellent when received.
Highly recommend it to anyone - families, honeymooners etc and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GoodwoodSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Khao Lak hotels
2.0 mi away
MANATHAI Khao Lak
MANATHAI Khao Lak
#9 of 66 in Khao Lak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
5.1 mi away
Palm Galleria Resort
Palm Galleria Resort
#43 of 66 in Khao Lak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bangsak Village
Bangsak Village
#7 of 66 in Khao Lak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
SENTIDO Graceland Khao Lak Resort & Spa
4.2 mi away
Kantary Beach Hotel Villas & Suites Khao Lak
8.6 mi away
The Shambhala Khaolak Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haadson Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haadson Resort

Property: Haadson Resort
Address: 30/1 Moo 7 | Bangsak Beach, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Khao Lak
#26 Romantic Hotel in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Haadson Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Haadson is a modern Thai style retreat. Family managed and locally staffed, Haadson is simple, stylish & unpretentious with only 39 guest rooms & villas. We are situated on 19 acres of land with tropical casuarinas trees, a natural salt water lagoon, and direct access to Bangsak beach promenade. The resort's architecture compliments the natural environment & offers a truly unique setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Haadson Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haadson Resort Khao Lak
Haadson Hotel Khao Lak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing