We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderfully welcoming & totally tranquil”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Khaolak Bhandari Resort and Spa
Ranked #17 of 66 Hotels in Khao Lak
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderfully welcoming & totally tranquil”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

We had a wonderful 8 night stay here at the beginning of June. The Thai style accommodation is gorgeous and we loved our chalet that looked over the beautifully kept gardens to the lovely pool. The rooms are spacious and spotless, with balconies to enjoy the sun. The air conditioning is good and most welcome in the high heat and humidity. There was absolute silence at night (apart from the frogs, a very nice sound!) and we slept very well. The breakfast buffet is great, with a huge choice - bacon & eggs, exotic fruits, curries and rice, sweet pastries - all you could want. The service was exceptional and so friendly. The poolside bar and restaurant served delicious and very reasonable lunches - we would highly recommend the set meals - 2 Thai dishes and rice and cooked beautifully. Big Tree bar is nice for evening cocktails - we tried them all but loved 'Angels Lips' with Amaretto. We also treated ourselves to a Thai massage at Bhandari Spa which was amazing - we lay and listened to the rain whilst having our massages side by side, which was really special. Everyone at the hotel went out of their way to make our stay perfect - the waiting staff were charming, the gardeners all said hello, even the lovely security guard made sure we could cross the road to the beach safely each day and always had a smile and a wave for us. Outstanding service from a terrific team who made our holiday at Bhandari unforgettable.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank BexyB76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KhaolakBhandari, Assistant Managing Director at Khaolak Bhandari Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Sawasdee Kha
Warm greeting from Khaolak Bhandari Resort & Spa
Thank you very much for taking your time to share your recent experience at Khaolak Bhandari. It was a pleasure to welcome you here. I am really happy to hear that you enjoyed your holiday with us in every way and also we are happier to be a part of your unforgettable stay at Bhandari ka :)
Thank you once again for choosing us on your recent holiday and Bhandari team is always looking forward to welcome you back again in the near futhure ka

With my best regards,
Praire
Assistant Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    205
    53
    9
    0
See reviews for
137
336
29
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

My wife and I stayed there in May for 2 weeks and had a very relaxing holiday, the staff were efficient and friendly when spoken to,however English was not one of their strengths, it does not matter so much in most cases, but you would expect better at reception.

However, this resort is in an ideal position and has a fantastic pool, with a short walk to the ocean and about 10 minutes to the shopping centre and resturants.

The breakfast buffet was very good and varied.

Overall a good resort, in a good position and very good value for the money.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David1804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KhaolakBhandari, Assistant Managing Director at Khaolak Bhandari Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Sawasdee Kha
Warm greeting from Khaolak Bhandari Resort & Spa
Thank you very much for sharing your review on tripadvisor. I am happy to hear that you had a relaxing holiday at Bhandari. Also for your comment about English speaking staff, our team has noted to do more English training in this year ka.

Thank you very much for choosing us on your recent holiday and we are looking forward to welcome you back again on your next visit to Khao Lak

With my best regards,
Praire
Assistant Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

Stayed here for 10nts in May in a bungalow which was spacious and clean. Some reviewers have complained of the noise of air conditioning but it really didnt affect us and we slept very well every night. The gardens were beautiful and all credit to the gardeners who worked in the heat and humidity and always had a smile and friendly word. The breakfast was varied and plentiful. The pool and pool bar were great and the meals served there were tasty and not expensive. The big tree bar is a must for evening cocktails and night caps with a meal in the restaurant serving very well presented and delicious food. We tried various restaurants in Khao Lak but none came close to the quality of the Bhandari restaurant and their was very little price difference. Every member of staff were courteous, very attentive and seemed to anticipate what you wanted before you knew yourself. A special thank you to Charlie who assisted and was our intepreter on our cooking course. All in all Bhandari is a fabulous resort with fabulous staff and we hope to see you all again in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KhaolakBhandari, Assistant Managing Director at Khaolak Bhandari Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Sawasdee Kha
Warm greeting from Khaolak Bhandari Resort and Spa
Thank you very much for your lovely review on tripadvisor. I am glad to hear that you had a great time staying at Bhandari in every way and all of my staffs would feel the same. Referring to your special compliment to Charlie during Thai cooking class , I am sure to pass your words to him in personal ka.

Thank you very much for choosing us on your recent holiday and we are looking forward to welcome you back again on your next visit in Khao Lak

With my best regards,
Praire
Assistant Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

Spent 2 nights here, very nice room (villa) good pool, near beach and 5 minute walk to town. Staff friendly and helpful, breakfast very good.
Only negative is oh so quiet ! Mostly Europeans and no one friendly, I am an experienced traveller and love talking to people and sharing stories, found it wasn't possible here. Not the fault of the resort and if you want peace and solitude it is for you.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KhaolakBhandari, Assistant Managing Director at Khaolak Bhandari Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Chris,

Sawasdee Kha
Warm greeting from Khaolak Bhandari Resort & Spa
Thank you very much for sharing your review on tripadvisor. I am glad to hear that you our resort room, location including our staff service.

Thank you for staying with us on your recent holiday and we are looking forward to welcome you back again in the near future

With my best regards,
Praire
Assistant Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalong, Thailand
Level Contributor
267 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

We were greeted by a man named Sammy ( I hope that I remember his name correctly) he was just lovely and so friendly. He was the reason that I decided that our family should stay here. We arrived late in the afternoon and opted for just one room. The bed was large but with two adults and two children but it was squishy , I should have booked two connecting rooms. Service was great , breakfast yummy and dinner was lovely . Such a lovely resort , beautiful gardens . Thank you so much

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Fiona F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KhaolakBhandari, Assistant Managing Director at Khaolak Bhandari Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Dear Valued guest,

Sawasdee Kha
Warm greeting from Khaolak Bhandari Resort & Spa
Thank you very much for your review on tripadvisor. I am glad to hear that your had a lovely holiday with us here. As you mentioned about the man greeted you, his name is Sandy and I will pass your compliment to him for you. Thank you very much for choosing Bhandari on your recent holiday and we are looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.

With my best regards,
Praire
Assistant Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

Gardens were beautiful.
Rooms had character (nice huge beds).
Dangerous pool entrance (although the kids called it fun).
Staff were very friendly.
Happy Hour at bar was fun.
Milkshakes were brilliant!
Other guests seem to be a little put out by children playing as they were on the older side.
Walking distance to quite a few food stalls, reataurants, bars, suoermarkets.
I ignored other reviews saying this but the mossies are seriously feral come sunset.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilefc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KhaolakBhandari, Assistant Managing Director at Khaolak Bhandari Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Valued guest,

Sawasdee Kha
Warm greeting from Khaolak Bhandari Resort & Spa
Thank you very much for your review on tripadvisor. Thank you very much for choosing us on your recent holidays and your further comment about pool entrance I have noted to our team to check and improve for better.

We are looking forward to welcome you back in Khaolak Bhandari again on your next visit to Khao Lak

With my best regards,
Praire
Assistant Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

We stayed at The Khaolak Bhandari resort at the end of February into the first week of March and I think I can honestly say that this is probably one of the best Hotels we have stayed at in our 30 years of travelling the world. We had room 314, initially disappointed because generally we like first floor rooms, but after just a few hours we realised that the peace and quiet of the corner position looking out over the Relaxation Pavillion and Lily Pond was actually superb!
Our stay just got better and better as the days went by, breakfast in the restaurant was excellent, plenty of everything and a very good selection to suit all tastes, even proper bacon for us British who, despite being abroad, do enjoy our Bacon & Eggs!
Staff at the Hotel were without exception, brilliant, always happy to help, always smiling and with a very good command of English, rooms were cleaned / serviced twice a day and were immaculately clean, veranda's or balconies are spacious and comfortable. Gardens in The Bhandari Resort are immaculately groomed and maintained adding a really enjoyable feeling to walking around the Hotel. The Hotel has an excellent pool with plenty of sunbeds and a Poolside Bar that serves very good food at lunchtime at very reasonable prices.
The Big Tree Restaurant sited at the entrance to the Hotel grounds offers truly excellent food at reasonable prices, perfect if you don't want to walk to the main street, the bar is comfortable and the staff, as everywhere else in this Hotel, are extremely courteous, friendly and helpful.
Venturing out of the Hotel, turning left and then left again will lead to the main street with a huge variety of restaurants, shops and supermarkets, we tried somewhere different most nights, but felt drawn back to a couple in particular, MoJo's (Roast Duck in Orange Sauce - Fabulous!) again service was excellent and although it is not really fair to single out any staff, Kook Kai was our server and was really lovely, she also serves in one of our other favourites Khaolak Seafood, the third favourite, Sala Restaurant, sometimes service can be a bit slow, but the food was excellent. Throughout our stay we only had one poor meal at one of the main street restaurants, sadly I can't remember the name of it to warn others, but it sported plastic chequered table cloths and plastic patio type chairs, that should have been a hint really!
Our other let down was Indigo Restaurant, nicely situated on the beach but with prices starting at around 1500TBH (£30) per person for a main course, there are other hostelries on the beach front like Nangthong Beach Resort where prices are much more sensible. At Indigo be prepared to pay £70 - £80 per couple with drinks.
We took a couple of trips, one to the Phi Phi Islands with our tour operator and one to The Similan Islands with a local tour operator and of the two the local operator was without question the better run and operated, they leave earlier in the morning and tend to miss the huge volume of tour boats at the popular beaches where Thomson leave later, take 90 minutes to get to the Marina in Phuket and consequently arrive at the various Islands at the same time as every other boat resulting in overcrowding and limited space in which to swim because of the number of boats taking up mooring space on a relatively small beach. Having said that, the actual locations are beautiful, with white sand and crystal clear water. Our other criticism of the Thomson run Phi Phi Islands trip was the number of stops and getting on and off the boat, often into water and via a thin rung ladder, quite difficult if you have any health issues.
Our trip the the Similan Islands was a really well run experience, we went with Khao Lak Land Discovery, and would recommend this operator they are really well organised.
We also visited the Orchid & Butterfly Farm, bit of a waste of time really, very few Orchids in bloom and only about 5 or 6 different types of butterfly, perhaps this improves later in the year, I don't really know but wouldn't bother again.
Our holiday in Khaolak was without question one of the best we have ever had, certainly made all the better by our fabulous Hotel, The Bhandari Resort, when we go back to Thailand we will certainly be staying there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank bootesey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KhaolakBhandari, Assistant Managing Director at Khaolak Bhandari Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Valued guest,

Sawasdee Kha
Warm greeting from Khaolak Bhandari Resort & Spa
Thank you very much for your review on tripadvisor and I am really enjoy reading through this. Also I am really happy to know that you had a great time in bhandari in every way. We are always looking forward to welcome you back again in Bhandari family ka :)

With my best regards,
Praire
Assistant Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Khao Lak hotels
0.8 mi away
Moracea by Khao Lak Resort
0.2 mi away
The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani
1.4 mi away
Chongfah Beach Resort
Chongfah Beach Resort
#1 of 66 in Khao Lak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
MANATHAI Khao Lak
MANATHAI Khao Lak
#11 of 66 in Khao Lak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Waters Khao Lak by Katathani
5.3 mi away
Apsara Beachfront Resort and Villa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khaolak Bhandari Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khaolak Bhandari Resort and Spa

Property: Khaolak Bhandari Resort and Spa
Address: 26/25 Moo 7, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Khao Lak
#6 Family Hotel in Khao Lak
#14 Spa Hotel in Khao Lak
#16 Luxury Hotel in Khao Lak
#17 Romantic Hotel in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Khaolak Bhandari Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Khaolak Bhandari Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Khaolak Bhandari Hotel Khao Lak
Khaolak Bhandari Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing