We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Beautiful Setting - Great Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nang Thong Bay Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Khao Lak
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nang Thong Bay Resort
Ranked #31 of 64 Hotels in Khao Lak
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Beautiful Setting - Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

For my first time in Khao Lak I thought I would probably just stay 1 week then move to Cape Panwa however I stayed here for second week, just so relaxing. I was in 3rd floor apartment which was perfect for me. Breakfasts as mentioned previously aren't anything special but sitting on the waterfront enjoying the view certainly is and a wonderful way to start the day. I was picked up from airport by a lady driver who drove safely and I arrived at resort around midnight. Apartment was cleaned each day by friendly housekeeping ladies. I think the resort is a credit to management and their large team who are constantly working to maintain the grounds etc. No smelly creek while I was there, just a clean stream with fish swimming. No problem with sun lounges, there were plenty empty and sometimes I was the only one in the pool. Maybe us Aussies are fortunate that our winter doesn't coincide with Europes as the resort was lovely and quiet. Hope to return sooner rather than later.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jem03_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    84
    13
    4
    3
See reviews for
86
129
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

We really loved Khao Lak, and this hotel was wonderful given the price. Being low season, we didn't have a problem with lounge chairs by the beach, but there aren't that many, so I can see how it may be a challenge at busier times (re: other reviews). If it were me, I'd just remove towels belonging to inconsiderate people from unused benches, so don't see it as a big deal to be honest.

The canal in the resort is not an open sewer - it's a stream running fresh water from the nearby mountains and streets into the sea. It has no smell, is full of fish and wildlife, and is really quite pleasant actually, with bridges, etc and nice gardens around it.

The pool is brilliant - heaps of shade, plenty of chairs, really well looked after. They have a pool bar, however it was closed given it's the low season, which was a bit of a shame.

The restaurant is probably the poorest point of the hotel. The breakfast isn't included in the rates, and the price for breakfast is a little heavy for Khao Lak standards. Would typically pay about 1000THB for 2 adults and 3 kids. We ended up going to Green Beach which is next door (on the beach) and paid about half price. The breakfast was actually better here too. On another occasion the restaurant closed at 8.20 (was supposed to be open till 9pm) and so we were forced to go eat out, which was disappointing as it was our last night, and we hoped to each at the resort, by the beach. The beach front location of the restaurant however, is great!

We had a beach front bungalow (room 102, based on other reviewers recommendations - thanks!!), which was fantastic. Uninterrupted ocean views (room 101 also would be a good choice). It was probably too small for 5 of us - I'd have liked management to tell us it was a really small bungalow when we booked - however we'd probably still have booked it. The bungalows themselves are fairly small, but fine for 2 people, or even maybe 3 with a rollaway bed. Great air conditioning, brilliant private outdoor shower, and good king sized bed. Also a really nice little deck in front of each bungalow which is great for evening beers and gin rummy.

The ocean view first thing in the morning and late in the evening is incredible. The sunsets on this beach are great. The other rooms are also really close to the beach, and heaps bigger - so if you want more room, don't be put off by the rooms that are not on the beach front - they're literally only 15-20 metres further from the beach and also have nice views!

There is no room service, which didn't bother us. They do clean the rooms daily, and do a great job of this. The staff are also all really nice.

The beach itself is great. Plenty of reviews suggest it's not - I disagree. The water is warm and clear enough, there is absolutely no rubbish on the beach, you can walk for a few kilometres if that's your thing, with plenty of other beaches along the way. There are some rock formations in areas, however these created a great area to play for our kids who would catch hermit crabs and small fish for fun.

The grounds of the resort are really well maintained, with absolutely beautiful, lush gardens. From the other low cost resorts located in the area, this certainly looked like the nicest - some others nearby didn't have pools, and/or average gardens.

The location of this resort is a little remote compared to those up the beach. Where "The Sands" is, for example, is jam packed with other resorts, and closer to other restaurants - but we really liked where we were as it's a little more private, still with plenty of good options.

We found ourselves a great Tuk Tuk driver (Peed - 089 909 0383) who would come pick us up at any time within minutes, and was reasonably priced. This helped us get out and about easily, so the location was not a problem.

Our kids loved it, and were sad to leave. We thought they may get bored here, but they didn't at all. I would absolutely stay here again, and we're considering coming back next year already.

Room Tip: If you want beach front, go for 101 or 102, which are closest to the pool and have clear beach views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank zerodeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

We have stayed there twice. The location is great, just a short walk from the main village. The staff is accommodating and friendly. My complaint is not enough beach loungers or chairs. In fact they worn and scarce. If you are not German, good luck finding one even if you are first to claim your spot. We did at 6:30 am, went to breakfast, came back a little later to find our spot fully occupied by several older Germans. Not a reflection on the resort but they could add more lounges.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank park86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

Stayed here for 1 night whilst taking a short break from Koh Yao Island.
Rooms were nice & clean, check in was fine. Lovely grounds, nice beach area, food was nice. Just a short walk to a main street with shops, cash machine, 7/11. They have a complimentary golf buggy to take you up there if you needed it.
Pool area was nice.
The resort does have a large "stream" running through which doesn't have a fence around it & it's quite a drop down, so safety wise for children it may not be ideal.
Was good value for money in my opinion.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vadababy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

Good location, good service. Room was clean. The canal running through the resort was definitely hurting, as others have mentioned. They need to get that fixed. We stayed here a couple of nights while doing some diving during the day, and the price was excellent (800 BHT at the time).

Beach is not amazing, but it's nice, and a quick walk up or down the beach to better locations. The pool is large and very nice.

We were happy with our stay and felt like the value was excellent.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suzjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
84 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

Firstly the resort is well situated next to the town and the beach. The pool is small but absolutely aqdequate for cooling off. The villas are very modern very clean and the outdoor rain shower is a delight.
I had a garden villa nd it was very peaceful.
btw. no idea about the towel thing there was no one up early or no reservations or anything to comment on here, plenty of beds to choose from
This is really really good value for money in the area and would recommend it to al.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank holiday_OCD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

I stayed in a garden room (lovely location - private and peaceful) and overall thought the room and grounds were lovely, but the stench coming from the sewer (??) needs to be addressed. You can smell it when taking a shower, and elsewhere on the grounds. On a positive note I thought the location was ideal for easy access to town yet away from hustle, sunsets lovely, and staff attentive. The food could certainly be improved - average at best. The good outweighs the bad, and seemed fairly priced - a big plus.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theraiderchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Khao Lak hotels
0.1 mi away
Suwan Palm Resort
Suwan Palm Resort
#46 of 64 in Khao Lak
3.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.0 mi away
Khaolak Oriental Resort
Khaolak Oriental Resort
#23 of 64 in Khao Lak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Leaf Oceanside
The Leaf Oceanside
#2 of 4 in Khuk Khak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Khaolak Bhandari Resort and Spa
0.3 mi away
Baan Khaolak Beach Resort
Baan Khaolak Beach Resort
#48 of 64 in Khao Lak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sensimar Khaolak Beachfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nang Thong Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nang Thong Bay Resort

Property: Nang Thong Bay Resort
Address: Nang Thong Beach, Khao Lak, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Khao Lak
#21 Family Hotel in Khao Lak
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Khao Lak
#30 Romantic Hotel in Khao Lak
Number of rooms: 79
Also Known As:
Nang Thong Bay Hotel Khao Lak
Hotel Nang Thong Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing